We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star .... not sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just arrived to the hotel
very nice welcome and people .
very nice design .

but doubting it´s reasy to be a 5 stars because :
they give priority to seminar versus people . we had a bad surprise to get a room first level not far from the reception very noisy as they gave all the room to people attending a seminar
in the room , very beautiful (but noisy) in the bathroom no soap, no cotton , not enough towels , water tap not working , hairdryer not working

breakfast good but not the service they were moving table around us again to prepare seminar lunch !

swimîg pool very cold ,
not possible to order fresh orange juice


the evil is in the details

let see the next days

Minoal

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank minoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely regret that you feel not satisfied about your stay with us, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality. we assure that will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.
Thank you for having left your feedback.
Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location is possible, with gorgeous beaches nearby, you can walk to Praia de Guincho and eat at several wonderful restaurants on the way. The hotel is comfy, staff wonderful, the spa is a dream--would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your compliments to our staff and the details of our service.
We are happy that you enjoyed your location since our Hotel had a special location, near the beaches with a fantastic landscape..
Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, for another excellent experience.
Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Really couldn't believe how great this hotel turned out to be - just wow!
It is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location - if you want luxury this is the place for a little spoiling.
Although we only booked a garden view room we couldn't believe the quality of everything. Cream carpet, marble bathroom with seperate shower cubicle, bath with shower over, seperate toilet and bidet, huge bed, curtains operated from the bed - wi-fi inclued what more could you ask for?
The breakfast was the best spread we'd ever seen, there wasn't anything they hadn't thought of - well you might think that that's how it should be for a five star resort, but this hotel truely deserves it's 5 * ranking.
The pool area and 1st floor patio had amazing views.
It's a very short walk into Cascais which is a beautiful small town.
Can't fault anything - would love to come back again.

Room Tip: don't think there is a bad room at this hotel - if affordable go for the sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments so complete and excited! We loved it!
We always look for the small details to make big differences and our main objective is that the customer feels it. Your review transmit precisely what we want our guests to feel.
It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.
Thank you also for your detailed description of our services and facilities, but also our localization as well as the services closer. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests.
Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night with a group of friends during our trip through Portugal in May 2014. Excellent hotel- very clean and stylish. Staff was extraordinarely nice. Suites are spaciuos, some rooms have wonderful view towards the ocean. Spa is small, but very luxuriuos. Breakfast great- big selection of international and portuguese food, fresh juices, ect. We had dinner at the restaurant and food was very good. We will definitely come back to this hotel next time we are in Cascais.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkierSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.
It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely return and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.
Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

"We have died and gone to heaven!" At least that is what my wife and I thought when the receptionist escorted us to our upgraded Executive Room. The door opened onto a spacious hallway and into the very large bedroom (photo) with its 2.2 metre wide bed, festooned with cushions and pillows. Then there was the bathroom, a work of art in marble and mosaics (photo) with separate cubicle for toilet and bidet and another for the walk-in shower. The receptionist took the time to demonstrate the copious electrical switches, two of which opened and closed the net and main curtains. Then there was the large, private and well furnished balcony overlooking the terrace, swimming pool and on out to sea (photo).

Outside, the Villa Italia is pleasantly understated whilst, inside a major feature is acres of marble (photo). The hotel is cleaned and maintained to an immaculate standard. All staff pride themselves in their professionalism which is balanced with a genuine level of friendliness and an interest in each guest's well-being.

Breakfast was leisurely and of a high standard. One slight niggle - hot plates seem to be a rarity in the hotel and throughout Portugal. Generally, food and drink is quite expensive but commensurate with the justified rating as a 5 star Leading Hotel of the World.

The Achilles heel is the bar area which compared with the rest of the hotel is a hotchpotch of design and style which does not gel. To justify relatively high prices e.g. 10 - 17 Euros for a gin, the ambience and the service needs to improve.

There can be little point in saying much more of a hotel which is currently rated by 80% of reviewers as 'Excellent'.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford, it will be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilgrim_father_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review. It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and continue to exceed expectations. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted.
We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.
Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Gorgeous hotel. Great location. Lovely staff. Great food. Have to second a comment from an earlier reviewer......it can be very difficult to order anything from the terrace or bar area, as we found the areas were either understaffed, or the staff were multitasking, so there was poor service. It's a pity, as it takes away from the relaxing beautiful environment when have to constantly try to get someone's attention / make eye contact / go looking for someone, so can make an order. If can get this right this hotel, this hotel would be perfect !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepremier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in countless 5 star hotels all over the world and this hotel is hands down the best I have ever stayed in. It has the perfect balance of luxury, ambiance and service that I have experienced. The staff are so accommodating and helpful and by no means condescending which is a regular occurrence at this standard of hotel. We booked online very last minute so got a very good value rate, and we were allocated a standard room which was quite large with a fabulous marble tiled bathroom. The location is perfect....just a short stroll to the marina and centre of cascais. We just had breakfast but it was beyond amazing....my only problem with this hotel is that I did not have the opportunity to stay longer.....leading hotel of the world.....absolutely!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EmmaVIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
594 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.8 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £95 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing