We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Were a guest there with a company conference. Nice atmosphere and really nice and helpful staff. My room was without a nice view, however, I enjoyed the well furnished and equipped room. If you decide to stay in this hotel, I recommend to stay in a room with a seaview
The weather did not encourage swimming, but the pool looked lovely.
Wifi is included, it however, was a bit shaky from time to time.
Maybe the fault of my hosts, but the food selection at the lunch buffet was not so impressive
The conference room was nice and well laid out. All in all a very good experience

Room Tip: ask for seaview - the ocean is so beautiful there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great words.

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff.

Thank you for pointing the aspects that, in your opinion need to be improved.

We look forward for your next visit to Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind Regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks at this brilliant hotel. The staff were friendly and treated everyone like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble,the room was one of the most luxurious I've ever stayed in and the food was wonderful. I would also recommend the Spa. I had a 90 minute facial which was bliss.This is definitely a place to return to, especially for a special occasion.
However there are minor glitches.Service in the main dining room isn't yet up the standard of the breakfast room where everything runs like clockwork.There are issues with the number of sun parasols and sun beds resulting in the usual problems with guests reserving their places from the very early morning.This was only a problem for us during the last few days of our stay as when there are conferences on there are always free beds.I suppose that one solution could be the hotel laying on a shuttle bus to the the main beaches which are quite a walk away.
All in all I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaParker503796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments so complete, It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our staff treatment.

We always look for the small details to make big differences and our main objective is that the customer feels it. Your review transmit precisely what we want our guests to feel.

Thank you also for your description of our services and facilities.

We assure you that the situations pointed for you will be analyzed. Usually our team do everything to offer a great selection of food, suitable for all guests tastes.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.We hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This beautiful hotel gas it all ,had a lovely seascape room on third floor with comfy bed and lovely bathroom ,bathroom had steps down to it which whilst wouldn't suit everyone but we didn't mind ,small balcony overlooking sea and pool .tv was fine but really needs to be raised as difficult to see when in bed! Good breakfast and great choice chose to eat on terrace and staff were very accommodating .beautiful pool, and pool staff were so helpful with beds and brollies food and drink also very good standard and great service.Ate in restaurant and had a problem with timing however once again staff stepped up and sorted .Town is a ten minute walk with an abundance of bars restaurants and shops .would choose this hotel again as the service and friendly attitude makes it very special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very proud about your positive comment about our hotel. Our guests coments help us to improve our service every day.

We will take in consideration the points that you mentioned as a improvement points and we will do our best to improve them.

Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff and the quality of our breakfast service.

The comparison of our hotel as a “hotel heaven” is very special to us. Our daily goal is offer the best service and make all the efforts to our guest fell special and unique!

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just spent the most amazing 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. We had a deluxe garden room which was spacious, spotlessly clean and just perfect. The staff were at all times polite and helpful. I can thoroughly recommend making use of the Spa. I had the hot rock massage which was incredible. There were some who complained that the dinner service was slow, which was true to some extent. However, the service was impeccable and personally we were not worried about the speed of service as we were on holiday and not in any rush!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank APPPbeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our facilities, our staff and the spa treatments.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, in Grande Real Villa Italia & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Can't fault any part of our visit. The rooms, facilities etc are good but the staff are the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. They cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

Our team will be delighted with your classification as “the best in the world”. It’s amazing to see that you enjoy our availability and careful. We are speechless with your perfect compliment!

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Villa Italia & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place is magic! The customer service is the best I have ever experienced and we have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels all over the world. They are so friendly, attentive and will look after you. Nothing is too much trouble. Pool was lovely & cold which we preferred to cool off in as it reached over 30 degrees! I used the spa treatment - massage & facial - pure excellence! 15 min walk from the town centre that has plenty of restaurants to chose from. We had a sushi snack at the bar restaurant & a couple of drinks on the first night. This is where they could make a little improvement as the service was slow in coming, approx 15/20 minutes to get a beer :( But the view was lovely so we didn't mind! It is true that it is expensive although no more than any other 5 *. Maybe a happy hour would go down well to attract people to actually drink & snack in the bar as it was always nearly empty. Room was amazing (507) - pillows excellent, sheets excellent, everything perfect. The breakfast was delicious and so much choice which had everything from champagne to full fried, all choices of cooked egg or everything you could want if you wish for a healthy option! We arrived by train from Lisbon but on the return we took a taxi for convenience. Transfer time from hotel to Lisbon Airport was 30 min and cost 50 Euros with Cascais Taxi. We will be going back as soon as we can! PS thank you for the complimentary sparkling wine & fruit - lovely surprise!

Room Tip: 507 had a great balcony. No seaview but we didn't come to Cascais to sit in our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaThuile74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very important and appreciated, as it helps us achieving our aim of constantly improving our service according to our guests’ preferences and needs.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and services
corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. We are also really glad that you enjoyed our surprise and hope that it helped to make a special day even more memorable.

Thank you so much for your feedback.
The best compliment that our team can have is when our guests wants to return to Grande Real Villa Itália. We look forward to welcome you!

Yours sincerely,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just home from yet another wonderful stay at this superb hotel. My four friends and I had a fantastic four nights here and absolutely loved the hotel and the town of Cascais. Can't wait to return with my husband and sister in September.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judyconnelly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the qualification of our hotel as a “wonderful and superb”. Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

It’s very gratifying to see that you will return. We are excited to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £100 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing