We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful ten days at this magnificent hotel.
The attention to detail is next to none.
The staff are so attentive and helpful, it was a delight to be greeted each morning by big smiles and amazing service at breakfast, indeed the breakfast was outstanding.
Our sea view room was a joy to be in, I loved the balcony with deep cushioned sun beds to lie on while taking in the stunning view.
The Spa is to be highly recommended too, completely relaxing, wonderful facilities,brilliant service.
We loved the fact that the pool is a sea water one, so refreshing.
I would especially say a big thank you to Sandra for looking after us so we'll.
We will be back.
Theresa Farrell Mulreany.

Room Tip: Sea view best option.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Twiggy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
There are newer reviews for Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just home from staying nine nights at this fantastic hotel. The staff are amazing and make you feel very special, everyone is treated equally with courtesy and respect. We did not pay extra for a sea view room but were very happy with our side facing view which did encompass the sea, facing down into Cascais bay. (Room410). The room was extremely good, we had loungers on our balcony which was great for quiet relaxation and book reding. The room was serviced very well twice a day,. The only thing I would have liked would have been the and coffee making facilities in the room. We were also slightly disappointed to find that what had looked like an indoor pool in the pictures as actually a spa area at an extra charge of €20.
Breakfast was amazing with everything you could require, if it was not there, a simple request was enough for it to be made especially for you.
Cascais itself is a lovely place to stay, the hotel being a 10 minute stroll from the main bars etc.
We would definitely stay here again and more than happy to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank l_cook400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful suite, with vieuw on the sea and swimming pool.
Very nice and big bathroom,
Very friendly staff,
Breakfast near the pool
We recommend this hotel without any hesitation,
we will also going back.

Room Tip: Suites in the middle on the second floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912Geert62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I spent an excellent week on holiday here.It is a top class hotel in a quiet setting with uninterrupted views of the ocean.We had a top floor room in the main building with a sea view balcony.The room was well maintained and a good size.Overall,an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Go high and sea facing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trafalgar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your experience with us was a great stay!

Your opinion it is very special to us. Thank you for mention us as “Top class hotel”.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & Spa, we remain, with our best regards!

Sincerely,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, excellent accommodation, superb food and service. All the staff were friendly and helpful. WE were particularly impressed with Silvia Goncalves on reception and Antonio Gouveia, Debora Neves and Sofia Garrido in the restaurant.We can recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Michael and Katie,

Thank you very much for your pleasant comments!

It’s very special to know that your experience was great and you enjoyed our staff!
We will share your comment with our team.

Glad to know that you recommend our hotel, and, do not hesitate to contact us to assist you on your next trip to Cascais.

Sincerely,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A fabulous hotel resort.

The rooms were large and comfortable with plenty of storage, good A/C, views of the sea (even from our basic room), and a grand American-style bathroom with double sinks and fabulous shower.

Service on all levels was world-class; possibly as good as we've ever experienced. It isn't often that the gentleman who checked us in remembered our names and room number after not seeing us for two days.

Though we didn't take advantage of the resort's pool, it looked awfully inviting.

Tip...

Cascais is a tourist town. Getting a good meal there is probably hit or miss. As we were driving to the hotel, our taxi driver pointed out Mar Do Inferno; a terrific seafood restaurant about a ten/fifteen minute walk to the right when you leave the hotel. (Cascais is a fifteen minute walk to the left.) It was so good we went back a second and third night. The fish was so fresh it seemingly jumped out of the sea onto our plates.

So, what's the small exception?

The WiFi signal - at least in our room - was awful. Slow. Balky. Not available. Extremely frustrating that every time we wanted to use our phones or computer we had to go to the lobby.

Other than that, an extremely positive experience that we hope to enjoy again some time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank starkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel!

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our decoration and our hotel facilities in general.

We will take in consideration your comment about the wi-fi connection. We will pass the information to the management and do our utmost to improve immediately.

We are delighted to know that you wish to return to Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Best Regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Real Villa Italia, selecting to stay a third year following two wonderful holidays prior. Sadly, this time was not half as enjoyable. The hotel itself is still fantastic, but I'm afraid the quiet relaxing break we expected, was ruined by two large, very noisy corporate groups staying in the hotel. The first group arrived during the first weekend of our stay and were there for a good few days. Just when we hoped for a bit of peace and quiet, the second group arrived a day or so later. I'm not against anyone having fun but when you save up all year to enjoy a well earned relaxing holiday in an exclusive luxury hotel, you do not expect it to be ruined by large noisy groups on works conferences. I would have gone to the Ibiza if this was the type of holiday I had in mind. We even had to 'queue up' to get into the breakfast room one morning! The hotel should decide whom they are best to cater for during the Summer months, corporate groups or holiday makers looking for relaxation because in my opinion, the two do not go together. I did share my views with the reception staff who quite frankly did not appear to care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £101 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing