We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a great weekend break here with friends & their partners, fantastic hotel, lovely location overlooking the sea, staff are very friendly & efficient, pool is smallish, but good for a swim &/or lazing beside. Didnt eat here other than breakfast which was really good, huge choice. Large well appointed room & bath. Thouroughly recommend it

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    279
    65
    20
    4
See reviews for
395
970
39
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night long weekend at this hotel with our friends (4 couples in total with no children) and we had a superb time. We have stayed in Cascais before but on the outskirts, so had to taxi in and out of town, this is an excellent central location (close to marina, town centre, inferno beaches and and I think its worth every penny. Good clean and spacious rooms (sea view with good balconies), great pool bar and roof terrace bar, good sized pool and not too cold (need to police the towel situation better i.e. stop people (primarily Germans) reserving beds with towels, excellent breakfast and most of all for me, the staff - they were ALL truly exceptional and could not do enough for you. I must make a particular mention of Tania on Reception who was just superb from organising an amazing boat trip for us on the Sunday, booking good restaurants and sorting our boarding passes out at the 11th hour prior to check out!

Only couple of negatives for me was the intermittent WIFI which was disappointing, this is essential these days and the cost of using the Spa, £20 euros each seemed expensive to me for just using the wet room facilities, you would normally expect to this to be free of charge. However, these are unlikely to prevent us from returning, hope to see you again soon, we love this part of Portugal.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your compliments to our staff and the details of our service. Small details, big differences is our purpose! We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and who, will be delighted.

Regarding your wi-fi comment, we guarantee that the situation will be analyzed with our team and we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on TripAdvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, for another excellent experience at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

been there btw 18 to 21Jul. very good hotel but expensive. it is a spa but you have to appoint everything. the staff is friendly but avoid the room service (terrible). Nice breakfast. the location is not so well, no beach or attraction close. I have paid 315 euros per night by a very good room but for me doesn't made any difference,. I would prefer to stay in the center of town Cascais and would be by a half price.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliment regarding our hotel.

Your feedback is very important and appreciated, as it help us achieve our aim of constantly improving our service according to our guests preferences and needs.

We sincerely regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the stay at our Hotel. Usually our guests praise the quality and availability of our team but we will pass your comment to the Room Service department head in order to analyze the situation.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any information or assistance you might require.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.
Yours sincerely,

Diogo Fonseca e Silva,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If this is rated the second best hotel in Cascais I'd like to know which hotel is the best ?? We stayed for just three days and were treated to typical Portuguese hospitality at its best. Superb rooms, bars, restaurant - we tried them all, so should you. We had a really nice room but on the ground floor at the back, with no view, we didn't feel safe opening the door for fresh air - next time perhaps a view from an upper floor.

We missed noticing the late night snacks on offer so had a cheese toasty on the beach - ugh. Bloody marys and prosecco for breakfast and nice little touches wherever you looked. I thought the E20 pp charge for using the hot pool in the spa was a bit silly, so we didn't use it !! We wouldn't have minded on early morning dip before the sea mist cleared from the outdoor pool. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the sea on an upper floor in the main hotel. The Villa Oeste looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMLagoa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say , superb , staff fantasic v helpful, we had a deluxe room in the vila este overlooking the sea , fab. Our friends had a suite in the main hotel was huge . The breakfasts overlooking the pool was lovely , anything u wanted nothing was a problem.
can not recommended this hotel enough and cant wait to stay again.
It was my partners bday while away and we had a lovely bday cake presented at breakfast , lovely surprise . Book up and go !!! ♡♥

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cjknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I really like this hotel, the location is great, the staff are superb and the food is of the top most standard. You may be thinking why is he unhappy - well its quite simple - it really needs refurbishment.

The company which owns the hotel is focused on other hotels in the group and the Villa Italia is suffering. Worn out carpets, room furniture tat has seen better days.

This trip was the first where I felt that the upgrade was a downgrade. Its sad because I really a very fond of the hotel and will go back, but not before the rooms and the common parts have been refreshed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanWhiteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

We regret that we think that the Real Hotels Group is focused in other hotels. Our Hotels are equally important to us and we are surprised with your opinion.

We hope, for an opportunity to welcome you again at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For us this is the most charming, welcoming and unforgettable hotel during our explorations of Portugal. We enjoyed it so much that we keep returning and will surely continue to do so in the future. It is difficult to single out the best features of the hotel, they are all excellent. I mean the warm welcome from the professional staff at the reception, the soft luxury of the rooms, the tasteful colours of the room decoration and much more. All this makes you feel extremely comfortable and relaxed. Of course the picture will not be complete without mentioning the crystal clear sea water swimming pool matched with the attentive service of the pool staff. The breakfast deserves to bi specially singled out - rich, high quality, extremely divers buffet, nicely presented and professionally served. Perfect place to be and a place to strive to return to!

Room Tip: All rooms are very pleasant but those in Villa D'Ëste have no rivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deki2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 39 in Cascais
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing