We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Cascais at the end of a 10 day trip across Porto and Lisbon, this hotel is fantastic and we will definitely come back again.

Beautiful room, bathrooms, views and food. Great Location and staff are fantastic.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jvm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

just returned from short break at villa italia which was most enjoyable. overall the hotel is worthy of it's 5 star rating.stayed in superior retreat room which had the benefit of being a larger with a good size balcony and sun loungers / sea views. location of hotel is very good- 15 to 20 min stroll into centre of cascais although short cut can be taken thru beer garden/park almost opp. hotel entrance. breakfast choice and quality was excellent with most efficient and pleasant staff - Deborah in particular . the one evening we had dinner in hotel we were most disappointed with the portions of the meals and service particularly as the restaurant wasn't busy. it was little wonder that it was not any busier! also one member of staff serving us whilst not being rude, certainly lacked basic guest/customer skills. the pool area could do with more sun parasol's especially where children are concerned.. apart from the one ,all staff were very professionall '

Room Tip: superior retreat rooms and balconies are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Thank you again for the superbe and personal rendered service at your beautiful hotel. Villa Italia is the first place where we love to come back and are looking forward when leaving at the end of our holiday towards our next visit. It's the mixture of warm personalized service, beautiful materials around the hotel, the setting, the location and certainly the SPA. Very good treatments. But foremost it's the people that make the difference with other nice hotels; many names to mention but certainly a special thank you to Mr Diogo Fonseca e Silva and Mr João Roquete, compliments to the hotel and the people around the hotel in the different areas, all smiling and friendly at all times, from arrival to departure. We really felt treated with a personalized service.

Room Tip: Rooms are being updated and some have better location within the hotel then others. Do talk with rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-op-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is one of the best hotel with spa I've ever been ! Very friendly staff , nice people , excellent hotel ! You must see it , in Your best holidays !

Near to the ocean , in the wind and Sun , and also in the hard of the people !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mircea69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

For a one week trip we were looking for a good hotel in the vicinity of Lisbon. we have to congratulate ourselves for the decision for the Grande Real Villa Italia. One of the best hotels we ever experrienced woldwide. Whether to focus on the reception or the restaurant or the outstanding friendly staff or the sitaution located close to the Atlantic. Overwhelming the view from our room and the room itself. We had a room on the second floor and that is recommandable to have a breathtaking overview.
And it is only a 10 minutes walk to the center of Cascais where we found several little recommandable restaurants.
All in all we can recommend this hotel if one wants to relax in a luxury and even quite calm atmosphere. It is among the best hotels we have ever booked.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in the main building on the second or third floor give a breathtaking overview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our third visit to Cascais area, we have visited a different hotel every time but the Villa Italia been the best so far. It is service and a genuine warm and friendly attitude that wins me over and this place delivered this. Whilst I would not say the rooms were "in your face" luxurious, I thought they were spacious, very clean and stylishly decorated with attention to detail. We stayed in the separate villa Oeste in a seascape room which felt special, very handy for the pool, wonderful views and masses of wardrobe and drawer space. We were on the ground floor and would recommend higher room just to get an even better view of the sea. Only gripes (and very minor because I am trying to find fault) is that the towels could be bigger, one of the pool staff seemed out of step with service compared to the others, and I guess I find it a bit much to have to pay to use spa facilities, not had to do that before with five star hotels. One final thing, the location really is great, very quiet but easy walking distance to the town. All in all, if you want to go to that part of the Lisbon Coast, you wont do any better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Well, what can I say, fabulous hotel spotlessly clean with a great view out over the sea. The room was very large and comfortable. The staff were always very helpful and approachable and all seem to be able to speak an astonishing array of languages with great fluency. Putting my school French and German to shame! The food at the hotel is excellent.

It is a lovely 15 minute walk into town passing the marina on the way as well as several museums and art galleries. Lots of lovely resturants with great food and a great many local shops as well the usual tourist ones.

Ask the hotel to arrange the transfer from the airport and back as this turned out to be the cheapest option. The trip to the hotel in a Taxi we picked up from the queue at the airport was like a ride on the wall of death with speeds of 160 KPH on the motorway!! In complete contrast the return trip was made in complete calm with a very competant driver, in an immaculate Mercedes for €20 less and in a quicker time (go figure)

We will be back. Best Hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
594 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.8 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £95 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing