We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough! From the moment we stayed to the moment we left it was heaven! The hotel is absolutely stunning and beautiful and the staff are out of this world - by far and away the best staff I have ever experienced in a hotel.

When we arrived our room wasn't quite ready. No problem, we were offered an alternate room to use to shower and get changed in until our room was ready and were given complimentary drinks and nibbles in the bar whilst we waited also. This is how to look after your guests when there is a slight problem.

Also, it was my girlfriend's birthday whilst we were there. We never mentioned this to anyone, however on the morning of her birthday when we went down for breakfast (which is out of this world by the way and by far the best I have had in any hotel in the world) we were greeted with a birthday cake and candle and two glasses of Champagne courtesy of the hotel. Fantastic 5* service!

Everything about this hotel is 5*! The rooms are huge, clean, comfortable and very well decorated and maintained. As mentioned before the staff are fantastic and really make your stay wonderful.

Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the food in the restaurant as we did not eat in there as my girlfriend is a Vegetarian and it did not cater brilliantly for them - although I am quite sure they would have cooked her something to order if we had brought this up with the staff. If you are a vegetarian, please do not let this put you off though. We ate in Cascais town every night and there are lots of places for vegetarians to eat - we ate like Royalty even outside of the hotel!

I have stayed in many 5* hotels across Europe and I have to stay that this is my favourite. Cascais is a beautiful town to visit as a couple (I would not recommend it for families as there is not a lot for the kids to do) and if you want to stay in complete luxury then this is the hotel for you.

Absolutely wonderful - thank you to everyone who made our stay in the hotel so fantastic!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and a balcony because the view across the Bay of Cascais is stunning.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moledog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
There are newer reviews for Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Beautiful hotel with perfect location. Very high quality of service matching highest expectation for a five stars. Was travelling with a baby and they took every attention to accommodate all needs.
Rooms are large and comfy with good bed and very nice bath.
The very special thing about this hotel is the staff and the service.
We were lucky to book a spa world package which is the greatest value on earth and the spa is truly one of the nicest in Europe.

My only comment is that they should improve the room service menu which i found somewhat limited. Also we had 2 buffet themed evening at the hotel(bbq and italian) which i think were only average.
Dont get me wrong these are only minor points to reach perfection.

Enjoy

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeffoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for three nights prior to taking a cruise from Lisbon. Excellent hotel with high standards throughout in particular mainly local staff who operate in a highly professional way. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 201WilliamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I've spent a lot of time in hotels around the world and was really surprised at the quality of the room/hotel for the price we paid - really luxurious with amazing views! Granted, we stayed mid-week (as the weekend prices were quite high, about 3x price), but the room, food, service and views were fantastic! This is a bargain for a nice coastal European property! With easy access to Belem, Lisbon central and Sintra.

Let me share some transportation info that took me a little while to figure out:

There's a bus stop in front of the hotel (out by the water) that will take you to the central train/bus station for 1 Euro. We can walk into town fairly easily, but when we went to Sintra, we were tired coming home so took the local bus (route 427) - quite handy. The central bus station (under the shopping center behind the train station) will take you to Sintra in about 30 minutes for a really good price (route 417 for 4.10 Euros each way)!

You can take the train to Belem or Lisbon as well. Be wary of the express trains that bypass the Belem station if that's your stop (check the schedules posted in the Cascais station to see if your train is an express). If so, get off at Oeiras to catch a train that stops in Belem.

The restaurant at the hotel is very good. We ate a leisurely lunch on the patio (waiting for our room to be ready) and also ate dinner at the restaurant twice. The food is excellent. We were there for the BBQ night and that was less successful (buffet-style & a bit pricey, but the regular restaurant was closed).

The ocean view rooms have nice balconies where we would read and admire the ocean views. Walking to the city center is nice if you walk by the water for the views/beaches (or you can cut through the park to save a few minutes, but get a map as the streets are confusing). You can also easily walk to the Boca de Inferno and dine at the Mar do Inferno for fresh fish (packed with locals during lunch, so get there early - noonish).

I'd return to Portugal just for this hotel. It's superb!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view balcony - some have loungers in addition to a table for 2.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were well impressed with our service.

Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and continue to exceed expectations.

We will analyze your comment and do everything to improve our service every day
We hope to be able to welcome you again at Grande Real Villa Itália.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Attended several international meetings in this hotel, it's simply fantastic and at least half the price of other European locations.
Everything is simply GREAT
As a Portuguese never used it for leisure, but can guarantee is also GREAT

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. I've stayed here in a fantastic promotion for the 20 years of this group of Hotels "Real", of 20€ per night/person. I do not understand how the Hotel did this promotion, since every Hotel service is five stars! In a "normal" price, it is a bit expensive, but adequate to its quality.

Location: 1min from the sea promenade, that is delightful.
Hotel: the room where I stayed was amazing, the breakfast outstanding, the bar service fantastic, the restaurante very good. In general, the Hotel conditions are Excelent!
Staff: I have to highlight the staff. The staff of this Hotel is amazing, friendly, extremely polite and helpful. I never had a staff like this in any Hotel I stayed. Congratulations!
I totally recommend this Hotel! It's really a 5* star!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank André C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Cascais at the end of a 10 day trip across Porto and Lisbon, this hotel is fantastic and we will definitely come back again.

Beautiful room, bathrooms, views and food. Great Location and staff are fantastic.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jvm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £101 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing