We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay at a first class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Tadworth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay at a first class hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at Viva Marinha and with my wife and 2 young children and we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The fully equipped kitchen was an added bonus. We opted for the full board package and were impressed by the standard of the food and the ability to choose from the a la carte menu at both lunch and dinner. All of the staff were friendly and helpful but restaurant manager Paolo deserves special mention for the way he looked after us.

We used the free shuttle bus to visit Sintra on a couple of days (an absolute must see) and Cascais and because we booked a couple of days ahead we got exactly the times we wanted. Joao who drove us to Sintra was full of local information that helped us plan our days in Sintra.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Corner suites 105 and 005 have great corner views over the gardens and the pool and get sun in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    272
    90
    28
    8
See reviews for
247
279
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were searching for utopia when we found this place. We wanted the "community" of a hotel but with the facilities of a self catering apartment or villa. We didn't need a Kids Club, but ideally wanted some children to be at the hotel that ours could make friends with. We wanted to be out of town, but for it to be easily accessible. We got all of that at Vivamarinha.
We had a family suite - 1 double bedroom (huge bed), family bathroom (with shower in bath) kitchen separate to living room (good for keeping children away from cooking) balcony. Double sofa bed, 2 x TV, DVD on request (free).
Room overlooked the drive and reception, but in the distance the mountains - great view! All windows are double glazed so any arriving vehicles weren't a problem. Air con in bedroom and living area. Decor is high standard, as is kitchen equipment.
My children were absolutely fine without a playground or Kids Club - they get their enjoyment through making new friends. A play area away from the pool would be an improvement however. There was a children's entertainer on site at 11am and 5pm. In the morning she arranged treasure hunts and pool games, in the evening it was bowling, painting, games, anything you like really. It was just enough - I felt that my children (4 and 7) were safe all the time, they couldn't get out of the area and the entertainer took very good care of them. They also loved climbing on the rocks in the garden and investigating the undergrowth around the pool!
The pool was lovely - split into 2, half heated, half not - but in July there wasn't a huge difference between them and both were very pleasant. There was no deep section. There were pool rules - no inflatables, no diving, no glass, no picnicking, no bikes around the pool - but these were clearly flouted on a daily basis due to the number of children there. Generally they were well behaved but there's always an exception - they could possibly do with a Safety Supervisor in the pool area as an improvement - some parents really didn't care what their kids were doing!
There were always enough beds and more were brought in at the weekend when people using their apartments were there. There's a pool bar selling snacks and drinks. There's plenty of shade.
The pool didn't open early enough - I love to swim before everyone else gets there to get some lengths in, but couldn't.
We didn't use the gym or spa - mainly because we would have wanted to use them early morning and they didn't open until 9. The spa is small, but adequate (perhaps not 5 star) and the gym is fine, but could do with more cardio machines. I went for a run instead - now that was good! There are some fabulous properties to run past, all individual, there's a Horse riding centre behind the hotel and you're in the middle of a "forest" so it's relatively shaded.
We didn't need a hire car. There is a complimentary shuttle bus (which you book in advance) into Cascais, Sintra, or anywhere within reason if there's demand for it. You can also book this bus for airport transfers (charge applies). Otherwise taxi's are good value - about 5-7 Euro each way into Cascais.
We would have visited Lisbon, but our children just weren't up for it! It's very easy by train - and cheap.
A small problem was the lack of mini-market on site. All rooms have a self-catering option, but you have to leave the hotel to buy food/drink. An oversight I think and an earner for the hotel! There is a small but well stocked supermarket about 10 minutes walk away in Vila Bicuda (and cafe and playground) or for about 5 Euro you can get a taxi to Lidl (15 mins walk) to stock up.
We went for the buffet breakfast 3 times, but before 9am and there were no queues, but they built up closer to 10am. The buffet was good - cereal, cooked, pastries, fruit, cakes, juices, breads, meats, cheeses, everything really.
We ate three times in the restaurant - service is excellent, food is good. But the children's menu didn't change at all and is restricted. The BBQ was awful - the buffet salads, etc were wonderful, but the meat was terrible! - plain chicken drumsticks, plain ribs, steamed salmon and a local sausage - utterly tasteless!
The menu didn't change enough whilst we were there which was disappointing.
In summary, the accommodation was lovely, the staff were brilliant - they couldn't help you enough. Everywhere was clean, tidy and we had a very happy holiday. On the downside, there wasn't enough food choice, there was nowhere to buy provisions, there was no free Wifi (??!!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elspee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This review is a hard critique because I believe this hotel has far more potential than it offers. The standard of furnishing in the rooms is excellent. Out family apartment had a high spec lounge, separate dining area, two bedrooms each with separate bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen and a walk in wardrobe for good measure. The staff were always friendly and helpful but.....we deliberately did not go for the inclusive breakfast and I am glad. I walked past the queues pretty regularly. The restaurant needs to be bigger to cope with the number of people in the hotel. Not the sort of thing you would expect to see in a hotel cliaming 5 stars. Also the gym and spa. Lots of floorspace this time but not even a treadmill. An odd collection of cardio and weight machines with a limited supply of free weights. It did have sauna and turkish stream room but not all the hydro pool jets were working. If you want good health facilities there is a superb complex 5mins walk away but it will cost you 90euros for 7 days membership. Despite the great kitchen area in the apartment there is nothing on site to stock the cupboards. You have to drive to another resort which has a great bakery and small supermarket. This is lost revenue to the hotel and not difficult to but on site. The swimming pool gets crowed at the weekend but is ok during the week. The hotel should make more sunbeds available at known peak periods. Activites beyond the gym, spa and pool are limited. The grounds can easily accommodate a tennis court or children's play area. The pool area with its bar could host a few evening music nights but alas nothing like that was put on for guests. It is as if the hotel assumes you will sleep there and go elsewhere to entertain yourself.

Overall i loved the accomodation and staff but you need a car to entertain yourself. Will not stay here again but will come back to the area. There is just so much to see and do in Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dcpen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Rooms are great, staff amazing, breakfast OK, dinner menu limited.
We were looking for a base to explore and that we found. The downside, we found (and maybe because we were coming from somewhere very hot), was that the pool was very cold. If the outside temp was 26' and body temp is 28' this was alot colder, noticed some people shivering also, and some seemed nonplussed but for us we couldnt take it for more than 10 mins before the teeth started chattering. This being said plenty of other activities and nice beaches are available in the vicinity and the bikes available from reception was also good.
Generally recommend for families but dont go thinking its a lounge by the pool location (in all honestly dont think anywhere in this vicinity would be!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaniest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is based outside of Cascais which isn't a major problem as it is only about 7euros each way in a taxi, if you are unable to get onto the shuttle bus the hotel provide.

We had booked a double studio room but on arrival found this was overlooking the main driveway and entrance to the hotel. As I am a light sleeper I was concerned about the noise this may cause and also it wasn't the best view in the world. We asked reception if there were any other rooms available and the receptionist advised there was only a twin or an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. She very kindly offered to show us both these rooms and taking the additional cost into account we decided to take the one bedroom apartment.

The hotel is very nice, kept clean and tidy and the staff are pleasant and helpful. However, as a couple there are some drawbacks.

The Pool: There is only one pool, which is therefore, obviously, dominated by families with kids running around having a lot of fun. Unfortunately, as a couple without kids this wasn't great for us, so it would have been nice to have a smaller adult only pool.

The Restaurant: Again there is only one and it has limited capacity. This wasn't an issue for us as we didn't use it often, but on my way to join my husband at breakfast one morning, I heard one family (at the front of a queue of about 5 others) being told there was a wait of twenty minutes for a table. Not ideal with 2 hungry children under the age of 5 to deal with!

The Bar: Yet again just the one and it is located in the lobby area of the hotel in front of reception. So we really didn't feel comfortable drinking here especially with everyone's children chasing each other around the sofas set up in the middle.

All in all it is a nice hotel and I would recommend it to families but definitely not to couples wanting a relaxing, get away from it all break - unless you go when most children are back at school.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicknRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Pros: the hotel rooms are quite big and spacious with a modern design and feel. The garden is well-kept. The receptionists and housekeepers to a great job making your stay as comfortable as possible. The free shuttle service is also worth mentioning.

Cons: Do not book this hotel if you are a couple looking for a relaxing and calm holiday. The reason why is that this hotel is very kid-heavy, and both breakfast and pool relaxtion are severly curbed by kids screaming ALL the time. The pool is also in desperate need of some serious cleaning, rather disgusting to see all the yellow fat stuck to the inside of the pool. The hotel restaurant is wisely avoided, as the food and service level is nothing to write home about. The breakfast is a rather annoying experience. First, there is almost always a line for tables, and the waiters are very unattentive. Getting hold of a cup of coffe was almost mission impossible at some occasions. It is very provoking, and a bad start on your day, when you are told by several waiters that they will get you coffee, but nothing happens for 15 minutes. Very unprofessional and not even close to what you would expect at a 5-star resort. And the coffee is not that good either.... The gym is also not well-equipped (no tredmills or weights above 10 kg).

In sum: probably very good for families that in some way have gotten familiar with the constant screaming of children. Others: avoid (unless you really love the sound of childeren screaming and crying).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eiluj_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked a 2 bdrs suite which was excellent, actually beyond my expactations. Very comfortable, beautifully appointed and spacious for 3 adults and a child. The grounds are well kept. The swimming pool nice although very crowded. It seems like lots of families with kids come here. There was a renovation of one of the buildings. However, it did not disturb our stay at all. The spa and indoor swimming pool for adults only.
The reception staff very nice and professional.

Watch out for little wild rabbits which live in the garden. cute :--)

The hotel is well situated if you plan to discover the Lisbon coast area.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnieszkamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.5 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Property: Sheraton Cascais Resort
Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#9 Family Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing