We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Excellent rooms, big and well equiped kitchenet, lovely environment.
Restaurant and breakfast also very good but some variety could be introduced.
You need to have a car the hotel is faraway from almost everything but it is worthwhile to the peace and quietness you feel.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing recpetion can be noise and the "varanda" does not have privacy....do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria19642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

On arrival the hotel looks very modern and stylish. We were shown to our suite after leaving the car in the underground car park. So far so good. The room looks o.k. until you try to do simple tasks. The magement had left a few bottles of overpriced wine for us to enjoy. However no wine glasses. Fortunately there were 12 coffee cups and saucers for 2 of us. Opening a pop up cafe sprung to mind. So to the pool area. To say it was noisy is an understatement. We have never seen so many children since our grandaughters school play. There are many activities for children. Five a side football area,trampoline and bicycles. The staff take a fairly benign approach to bad behaviour. One child actualy rode a cycle through the front doors of reception and out of the rear towards the pool area. That barely raised an eyebrow amongst the three staff watching this spactacle. This is not a hotel for mature travellers seeking relaxation. Small wonder most of the positive reviews have been from families. Earlier postings had the alarm bells ringing but it was to late for us to change. Instead we spent a lot time and money driving to beaches and hiring loungers. When we were leaving I parked close to reception but not in front of it. a member of staff approached and asked if I was o. k. "Yes I am fine" "Perhaps you may wish to park over there sir " "Am I in the way?" " No sir I am just giving you an alternative should you wish to park elsewhere" Absolutely barking.

Room Tip: The hotels tactic seems to be one of placing you over the noisy arrival area so you will upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vetusursus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our stayed was 2-11 Sep 2013 early check out, Would like to say WELL DONE great staffs hard working doing the best especially at the breakfast buffet they served the customers without saying NO when you asked for things , have good teamwork and hard workers even crowded of customers still fulfill the service. Have no doubt why they are so busy :) Only the bed is not so good sleep :( also have NO facility for kids. Anyway pls keep it up and wish we can return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanwisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here just for three days at the start of our Portugal holiday so we could explore Lisbon. The hotel is absolutely fantastic and staff and very helpful. We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment that had everything you need for a family (we have 3 children). Very clean, modern and spacious. Pool is little far from the hotel (but it keeps it quiet in the evening away from the hotel) and they also need some more shade or parasols around the pool. But thats about all I could fault. Breakfast was really nice. We'd come back here again and stay longer as Cascais is a really nice area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCamberley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at Viva Marinha and with my wife and 2 young children and we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The fully equipped kitchen was an added bonus. We opted for the full board package and were impressed by the standard of the food and the ability to choose from the a la carte menu at both lunch and dinner. All of the staff were friendly and helpful but restaurant manager Paolo deserves special mention for the way he looked after us.

We used the free shuttle bus to visit Sintra on a couple of days (an absolute must see) and Cascais and because we booked a couple of days ahead we got exactly the times we wanted. Joao who drove us to Sintra was full of local information that helped us plan our days in Sintra.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Corner suites 105 and 005 have great corner views over the gardens and the pool and get sun in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were searching for utopia when we found this place. We wanted the "community" of a hotel but with the facilities of a self catering apartment or villa. We didn't need a Kids Club, but ideally wanted some children to be at the hotel that ours could make friends with. We wanted to be out of town, but for it to be easily accessible. We got all of that at Vivamarinha.
We had a family suite - 1 double bedroom (huge bed), family bathroom (with shower in bath) kitchen separate to living room (good for keeping children away from cooking) balcony. Double sofa bed, 2 x TV, DVD on request (free).
Room overlooked the drive and reception, but in the distance the mountains - great view! All windows are double glazed so any arriving vehicles weren't a problem. Air con in bedroom and living area. Decor is high standard, as is kitchen equipment.
My children were absolutely fine without a playground or Kids Club - they get their enjoyment through making new friends. A play area away from the pool would be an improvement however. There was a children's entertainer on site at 11am and 5pm. In the morning she arranged treasure hunts and pool games, in the evening it was bowling, painting, games, anything you like really. It was just enough - I felt that my children (4 and 7) were safe all the time, they couldn't get out of the area and the entertainer took very good care of them. They also loved climbing on the rocks in the garden and investigating the undergrowth around the pool!
The pool was lovely - split into 2, half heated, half not - but in July there wasn't a huge difference between them and both were very pleasant. There was no deep section. There were pool rules - no inflatables, no diving, no glass, no picnicking, no bikes around the pool - but these were clearly flouted on a daily basis due to the number of children there. Generally they were well behaved but there's always an exception - they could possibly do with a Safety Supervisor in the pool area as an improvement - some parents really didn't care what their kids were doing!
There were always enough beds and more were brought in at the weekend when people using their apartments were there. There's a pool bar selling snacks and drinks. There's plenty of shade.
The pool didn't open early enough - I love to swim before everyone else gets there to get some lengths in, but couldn't.
We didn't use the gym or spa - mainly because we would have wanted to use them early morning and they didn't open until 9. The spa is small, but adequate (perhaps not 5 star) and the gym is fine, but could do with more cardio machines. I went for a run instead - now that was good! There are some fabulous properties to run past, all individual, there's a Horse riding centre behind the hotel and you're in the middle of a "forest" so it's relatively shaded.
We didn't need a hire car. There is a complimentary shuttle bus (which you book in advance) into Cascais, Sintra, or anywhere within reason if there's demand for it. You can also book this bus for airport transfers (charge applies). Otherwise taxi's are good value - about 5-7 Euro each way into Cascais.
We would have visited Lisbon, but our children just weren't up for it! It's very easy by train - and cheap.
A small problem was the lack of mini-market on site. All rooms have a self-catering option, but you have to leave the hotel to buy food/drink. An oversight I think and an earner for the hotel! There is a small but well stocked supermarket about 10 minutes walk away in Vila Bicuda (and cafe and playground) or for about 5 Euro you can get a taxi to Lidl (15 mins walk) to stock up.
We went for the buffet breakfast 3 times, but before 9am and there were no queues, but they built up closer to 10am. The buffet was good - cereal, cooked, pastries, fruit, cakes, juices, breads, meats, cheeses, everything really.
We ate three times in the restaurant - service is excellent, food is good. But the children's menu didn't change at all and is restricted. The BBQ was awful - the buffet salads, etc were wonderful, but the meat was terrible! - plain chicken drumsticks, plain ribs, steamed salmon and a local sausage - utterly tasteless!
The menu didn't change enough whilst we were there which was disappointing.
In summary, the accommodation was lovely, the staff were brilliant - they couldn't help you enough. Everywhere was clean, tidy and we had a very happy holiday. On the downside, there wasn't enough food choice, there was nowhere to buy provisions, there was no free Wifi (??!!).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elspee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This review is a hard critique because I believe this hotel has far more potential than it offers. The standard of furnishing in the rooms is excellent. Out family apartment had a high spec lounge, separate dining area, two bedrooms each with separate bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen and a walk in wardrobe for good measure. The staff were always friendly and helpful but.....we deliberately did not go for the inclusive breakfast and I am glad. I walked past the queues pretty regularly. The restaurant needs to be bigger to cope with the number of people in the hotel. Not the sort of thing you would expect to see in a hotel cliaming 5 stars. Also the gym and spa. Lots of floorspace this time but not even a treadmill. An odd collection of cardio and weight machines with a limited supply of free weights. It did have sauna and turkish stream room but not all the hydro pool jets were working. If you want good health facilities there is a superb complex 5mins walk away but it will cost you 90euros for 7 days membership. Despite the great kitchen area in the apartment there is nothing on site to stock the cupboards. You have to drive to another resort which has a great bakery and small supermarket. This is lost revenue to the hotel and not difficult to but on site. The swimming pool gets crowed at the weekend but is ok during the week. The hotel should make more sunbeds available at known peak periods. Activites beyond the gym, spa and pool are limited. The grounds can easily accommodate a tennis court or children's play area. The pool area with its bar could host a few evening music nights but alas nothing like that was put on for guests. It is as if the hotel assumes you will sleep there and go elsewhere to entertain yourself.

Overall i loved the accomodation and staff but you need a car to entertain yourself. Will not stay here again but will come back to the area. There is just so much to see and do in Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank dcpen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £81 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing