We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meatheaven.”
Review of Quinta do Cortador

Quinta do Cortador
Reserve with
Quinta do Cortador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 563 Restaurants in Cascais
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“meatheaven.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Soulfood for meatlovers. excellent.
Familyrestaurant,you get a lot of meat for little money.i am a fan. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We'll meat again, I know where, I know when!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Great place for the carnivores of this world: plenty of assorted kinds of meat for reasonable prices. They call the kid (young goat) lamb on the menu, which is a pity for those who would like to try, or may be it is a ruse not to put you off, unless you don't like lamb either I suppose. If in doubt ask the waiter, some have good English, but all are nice and helpful.
The salad is great and they serve very nice potato crisps (= chips to Yanks). Just don't agonise over what wine to order: take the jarro (jug). It ain't local, in fact it can't be local, unless you mean "Portugal", but is first class for the price of a handout to a pauper, rather than a king's ransom. In fact all prices are in line with what a Portuguese diner would expect or be willing to pay. My only beef (no pun intended!) is the seeming inability of most restaurants in Portugal, this one included, to take the trouble of slicing a few fresh mushrooms for their sauce rather than using those slimy tinned specimen from Metro/Macro. Otherwise both thumbs up guys, I'll be back with a few burly trucker friends for trying the venison.
PS. Don't forget that if you don't wish to eat, what some seem to believe are freebee starters and nibbles, you simply send them back. This eliminates misunderstandings and thoughts, that we bloody foreigners seem to have, about sharp practice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookbookcharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Portuguese Family Steak House”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Excellent, reasonable price restaurant. Good for large groops. Servers are very friedly and willing
to help with special needs. Their specialty is meat, but they have many choices. Here you can
see a real portuguese steak house. Open for lunch and dinner. Closed on Mondays. They have
Veal, Lamb and Game in their reguar menu. I reccomend the house daily special menu, but you
do have a big choice of entrees.
Tel. 21 485 20 70 Fax 21 487 25 25

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very large steaks!!! Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very nice steaks, beef or venison. One steak will feed 2 or 3 perfectly!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GFdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go here for the roast venison!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I went to this restaurant with friends who had been before and had the roast venison so we didn't bother looking at the menu properly and went with the venison again! It was excellent. You get the venison as a roast on a big plate and serve and cut it yourself. They do offer to cut it but it is more fun to do it yourself. The meal also comes with rice, chips and salad. Very good value for money and delicious tender venison. The restaurant also has a garden area which would be great in summer. They do big banquets, parties etc and can cater for up to 2000 people!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUS_MAP_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quinta do Cortador also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Alcabideche, Lisbon District
 

Been to Quinta do Cortador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing