We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, picturesque, welcoming, and overall refreshing :)”
Review of Quinta Beira-Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta Beira-Mar
Ranked #4 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Susanna our host was extremely welcoming and informative about what the local area has to offer. Our room had beautiful views out to the sea with a balcony to catch the sun on and relax in the evenings. The private pool in the the back garden was perfect for keeping cool and to catch the rays on a sun lounger.

The local area has many fantastic beaches and restaurants, all a short walk away!

Breakfast was perfect with the added touch of home produced eggs cooked to perfection.

Overall we highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a reinvigorating holiday :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemfeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

When spent two nights in Quinta Beira-Mar in our visit to Portugal the summer of 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is situated a few minutes walk from the beach in a setting that is very idyllic and beautiful. We really felt we got a lot of bang for the buck here. The room was beautiful, very clean and had a very nice vibe to it. We had a balcony with a great view over the area and the owner was helpful and friendly. However she has a lot of animals: horses, goats, ducks and dogs. They are not intruding but if you are very scared of dogs (or horses for that matter) maybe this is not the place for you.

We can really really recommend this place, and if we visit this part of Portugal again, we know we will have a great stay at the Quinta.

And by the way, the Quinta is only 10-15 kilometres from Sintra, which is a cultural pearl in Portugal, so there is a lot of great things to visit in this area.

Room Tip: Stay here :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our third visit in four years. Why? Because this area is stunning, the beaches are amazing, you can walk to them. The restaurants are great and it is where the Portuguese go on holiday! The house has dogs, but this is posted by the owner and the owner cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is huge and the owner is always prepared to offer advice on what to do, Obidos this time - take a trip! Horse riding for my daughter was the highlight, yes there may be things to improve, but the welcome the kindness and the generosity is second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I spent a weeks holiday in this lovely house with my kids and loved it. The room was large and clean and the house is perfectly situated with a beautiful sea view and minutes from amazing beaches. There is plenty to do around Sintra [15 mins away] and there are fab restaurants too. Susanna the host is very friendly and welcoming and was great at recommending good walks and things to do. There are plenty of animals which the kids loved....

Room Tip: The ensuites are large rooms with good showers and it has a fridge which was useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I recently visited Quinta Beira-Mar with two friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The house is gorgeous and situated in the most stunning location. A two minute walk takes you down to the beach and a 20 minute walk across the beach takes you to the local town of Praia das Macas. There is loads to do in the local area and lots of fantastic restaurants, bars and interesting places to visit.
The house is absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful garden and swimming pool. Our hostess, Susanna, was completely charming and couldn't have been any more helpful and warmly hospitable. The animals are great and added a lovely, homey dimension to our stay.
I would highly recommend visiting this beautiful home in a splendid location!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs facing the sea have balconies and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is fab. Its location can't be beaten and it's position and views are stunning. The beaches have a rare quality and yet the weather is lovely too. Go to Sinatra this is amazing and also just walk to the beaches. The restaurants here get cheaper as the portuguese economy suffers. Susannah has mastered the art of leaving you to do your things yet helping if necessary she goes the extra mile every time and nothing be that a wash or advice is ever too much trouble. Yes there are dogs but our kids love them. This place is like a home from home and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked ourselves into Quinta Beira-Mar for 5 nights in July 2011 whilst we visited our friends who live in Colares. We chose to stay here because of the website which seemed friendly, had clear photos each of the rooms and the location was great, very close to 3 beaches: Praia Grande, Praia Pequena and the Praia das Macas.

We weren't disappointed. Our room, Chorao, was huge with its own bathroom and overlooked the garden. Breakfasts were a friendly affair with all guests gathered around a large table sharing where they have visited or were planning to visit over fresh rolls, a wide selection of cheeses, ham, preserves, cereals, juice, tea and endless coffee.

Susanna is a great hostess, friendly, generous and approachable but for us our stay there was completed by Josie and Baloo, the resident Newfoundlands and lifeguards for the lovely pool in the garden - perfect for cooling off on those extremely hot days.

We will definitely be staying here next time we visit our friends!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Ischia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colares hotels
0.3 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Sol
Sintra Sol
#8 of 9 in Colares
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pensao Sisudo
Pensao Sisudo
#3 of 13 in Colares
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Vigia
Quinta da Vigia
#9 of 13 in Colares
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
0.5 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#1 of 13 in Colares
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Beira-Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Beira-Mar

Address: Vivenda Morais Soares | Rua Da Vigia, No. 12, Colares, Colares 2705-346, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range: £56 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta-Beira-Mar is a spacious bed and breakfast situated on the beautiful Sintra coast-line, in UNESCO natural parkland, above the beach and with the Sintra mountains behind. Ideal for surfers, walkers or just a relaxing holiday we are two mins from Praia Pequena, 15 mins from Sintra and 45 mins from Lisbon.we are ideally situated for a relaxing holiday within easy reach of cultural and historic places of interest. The rooms have balconies and a sea/mountain view, there are extensive gardens with palm trees and a swimming pool, an outside BBQ and eating area, wifi internet and a huge breakfast with fresh eggs from the chickens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Quinta Beira-Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Beira-Mar Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing