We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
Ranked #2 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
Minsk, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Casalinho for 3 days on our trip through Portugal, and it was the most wonderful, welcoming, and comfortable place to be! What a great experience it was to stay at beautiful traditional house with such a friendly family. This is their home, not a hotel, and we were treated as friends, not customers. It felt like staying with Portuguese relatives we met for the first time.
House is located very near beautiful Praia Grande as well as Praia das Maçãs with restaurants and cafes. Sintra's center and castles easily reached by bus from just down the street.
We loved the way the house and our room were decorated in traditional style, bed was comfortable, room warm, shower hot, breakfast tasty.
We absolutely felt in love with this place and can't wait to come back again.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is my families 2nd time staying at the beautiful Casalinho de Santo Antonio and my husbands 8th time. It has a beautiful loving home feel to it, compliments to the amazing family who run it. We can't fault anything about this bed and breakfast house! These 2 weeks have been an incredible time for my family and I, it is with great pleasure and thanks that I would like to say that it is because of Isabel's and her families warmth and kindness with the addition of a fantastic home that ticks every box for a lovely holiday in Sintra Portugal!!! We can't wait to come back next year!!! The Winchesters

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I first stayed here in August 2010 at the recommendation of a friend. I, as a young man of just 20 years immediately felt right at home. Isabel , the owner has lived in this house her whole life and it shows. This a home, not just another hotel. I travel all year, to a minimum of 8 countries and each year I look forward to coming back here. It's like a garuntee, I know that I'll be safe, I'll be well looked after and I'll have family environment one craves when travelling non stop. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are clean, neat and cosy. Stevo the dog is an absolute legend and I sincerely recommend you meet him before he passes on! I highly recommend staying here for a full family experience of Portugal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripping
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am a bit lazy to post a comment, review, suggestion or critique, so I never post. However I know when to make an exception, and Casalinho de Santo Antonio is just this wonderful exception. An exceptional place!, both for the convenient location, close to the beach, and for the easy going and artistic atmosphere Isabel & family is able to imprint. Absolutely recomended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaquinvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

From the moment we entered this charming house, we felt welcomed. This a experience beyond five star hotel due to the originality and sincerity of the owner who makes you feel like a part her family.
We wish all hotel owners can learn from Isabel how to greet and host their guests.
Cannot imagine another place that serves a better self-made tomato jam for breakfast.
All thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Staying at Casalinho de Santo Antonio is like returning back to your child hood home.
It's a perfect little home a few hundred metres from a beautiful beach with loving owners. The home is set on a small acre with tranquil gardens and rolling lawns.
I met a few other people that stayed while I was there and they all are returning visitors that share my appreciation for the bed and breakfast.
I would recommend a stay at Casalinho de Santo Antonio to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Isabel and her family make you feel welcome and at home in this charming B&B. Breakfast is good, the rooms clean and comfortable. The location is convenient, walking distance to one of the best beaches in the area. With only 15 minutes to Sintra and perhaps 20 min to Cascais, there are great day outings to be done from here. But mostly, you will meet one of the some of the nicest Portuguese in the country.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gertjanhofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
0.4 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
371 reviews
8.1 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Pine Lodge
Star Pine Lodge
#2 of 12 in Colares
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casal Santa Virginia
Casal Santa Virginia
#1 of 1 in Azenhas do Mar
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceano
Hotel Oceano
#2 of 2 in Praia das Macas
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta Beira-Mar
Quinta Beira-Mar
#5 of 9 in Colares
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casalinho de Santo Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casalinho de Santo Antonio

Property: Casalinho de Santo Antonio
Address: Avenida Maestro Frederico de Freitas 19, Colares 2705-333, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house Casalinho of St. Antonio is a familiar spacious country villa with a large pleasant garden. The place where it is situated is an invitation to all of those that enjoy and appreciate the calmness, beauty and mystery associated to Sintra and its hills. It also complies with the requirement of the most demanding beach lovers and surfers. It's a house of typical Portuguese architecture distancing 35 km from Lisbon and 500 ms from Praia Grande. Adraga and Macas Beach are at 5 minutes distance. The nearest villa, Colares, is 2 Km away. In this villa you can find a health care centre, pharmacy and small shops. There is a wide range of activities and public places on the outskirts (from 7 to 10 km away): - Golf in Penha Longa - Cultural visits and shows in Sintra - Sophisticated shops in Cascais. It will be forever in your memory the seafood restaurants, the traditional ones, the bicycles rides, the hiking, the magnificent landscapes or just the unique sunset. The rooms have private bathroom and en-suite and central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casalinho de Santo Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalinho De Santo Antonio Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing