We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful friendship”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
Ranked #2 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful friendship”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We first met Isabel and her family in 2007 and from the first moment we felt like we had come home. Isabel is the most warm-hearted and helpful person and her bed-and-breakfast is an experience not to be missed. Over the past 7 years we have stayed at her quinta in all seasons and we enjoyed winter evenings at the fireplace as much as summer evenings in the garden with the setting sun reflecting off Sintra palace.

The quinta (best translated as 'estate') consists of the main house with 4 guest rooms and several cottage style houses, with a grand view of the Sintra mountain range (a UNESCO world heritage site). Praia Grande is located at 1000 metres for surfing, bodyboarding and the authentic Portuguese beach experience. A 15 minute drive will get you to tourist hotspots like Sintra, Guincho beach or Cascais.

Isabel takes great pride in the confort and well-being of her guests and she can be counted on to help you with any needs that you may have.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinier Van De V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent two nights here on our way to Porto from Lisbon, can highly recommend. The host Isabel was very friendly and helpful, our son fell in love with her puppy Bolt and still mentions him. Had the best two sleeps in Portugal. Very close to nice beaches, and a very scenic drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolkersdorf im Weinviertel, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We felt very comfortable and welcomed at Isabel´s nice B&B. You can see and feel that she puts a lot of love in what shes doing. The whole family gave us a lot of useful advices where to go and made us feel like home.

The location is very good: There is a beautiful beach in walking distance and great restaurants. Sintra is not far away and there are a lot of other possibilties for stunning daytrips.

Perfect stay for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gefi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Don't expect anything fancy, yet it is a wonderful place to stay at. What makes it just that is the welcoming family home with such an authentic and quiet atmosphere that makes you feel so at ease. I was traveling alone and felt really lucky I could sit and enjoy a wonderful homecooked meal at the kitchen table with Isabel and her mother. Looking forward to go back again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaLavendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Isabel made our visit to Sintra and the surrounding areas perfect. She gave us directions and one day drove us around to show the landscapes and market. We had green wine and a great meal at Buzio's, sardines prepared nicely in the bar up the street and before we left we bought chorizo and other meats and cheeses at the market. The famous pastry/coffee shop in Lisbon put smiles on our faces. We continued on to Spain and France, but felt the food was the best right here in Isabel's neighbourhood.

I would highly recommend staying at the Casalinho. The family made us feel at home and the hospitality was over the top. All questions were answered, travel help and an intro to the best taxi driver. We were very comfortable at Isabel's house! Thank you for our enjoyable visit to Portugal!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Isabel has created a little paradise for her guests: beautiful rooms, a huge and laid-back garden, a nice "living room" for the guests to hang out, lovely breakfast with handmade fresh orange juice, .. there was nothing more we could have hoped for!
The location is great:
- within walking distance from Praia das Macas & Praia Grande and its restaurants,
- the small tram going up to Sintra stops close to the B&B, going by car takes ~15 minutes
-> peaceful and quite but still close enough to sights, restaurants and beach fun
A big plus is Isabel herself, very caring and helpful - she truly made us feel at home! We were looking for a special dish to eat and she asked friends and called restaurant owners to find out where we can have that dish! She definitely made our stay special!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Cons:

-Hard to get to by public transport, neither taxi nor bus drivers in Sintra recognised the address of the place, we had to spend a lot of time searching for it. Better arrange a shuttle if coming from Lisbon aeroport (the owner can arrange for a good price)
-the b&b is located next to a busy road, which wasn't really an issue since the room was on a quite side, but a walk to the beach or nearest restaurant might become quite unpleasant.

Pros-
- very welcoming and pleasant family, they even grow fruits and vegs in their own garden which would be actually nice to have for breakfast but unfortunately was not provided, although we had a great variety of fresh jams on the table everyday!
- rooms are very cosy and well designed, although sheets (thin&bumpy)had not been refreshed for some time...
- free wifi, although only worked on the ground floor, but wasn't really an issue for us.

Overall, a good stay for the price we payed. I expected the hotel to be more secluded to be honest, off the busy road, but I guess for those coming by car - should be quite convenient.

P.S We've noticed everybody on forum (even at the b&b) keeps recommending Buzio (or Buzos) restaurant as ''the best" in the area, but be aware that there are a couple of other restaurants right on the same street (next to the beach Macas) that offer equally if not better food for a more reasonable price and have a much better ambient and vibe on top of that!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinsyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
0.4 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta Beira-Mar
Quinta Beira-Mar
#4 of 9 in Colares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#1 of 12 in Colares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Sol
Sintra Sol
#8 of 9 in Colares
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casal Santa Virginia
Casal Santa Virginia
#1 of 1 in Azenhas do Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casalinho de Santo Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casalinho de Santo Antonio

Property: Casalinho de Santo Antonio
Address: Avenida Maestro Frederico de Freitas 19, Colares 2705-333, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house Casalinho of St. Antonio is a familiar spacious country villa with a large pleasant garden. The place where it is situated is an invitation to all of those that enjoy and appreciate the calmness, beauty and mystery associated to Sintra and its hills. It also complies with the requirement of the most demanding beach lovers and surfers. It's a house of typical Portuguese architecture distancing 35 km from Lisbon and 500 ms from Praia Grande. Adraga and Macas Beach are at 5 minutes distance. The nearest villa, Colares, is 2 Km away. In this villa you can find a health care centre, pharmacy and small shops. There is a wide range of activities and public places on the outskirts (from 7 to 10 km away): - Golf in Penha Longa - Cultural visits and shows in Sintra - Sophisticated shops in Cascais. It will be forever in your memory the seafood restaurants, the traditional ones, the bicycles rides, the hiking, the magnificent landscapes or just the unique sunset. The rooms have private bathroom and en-suite and central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casalinho de Santo Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalinho De Santo Antonio Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing