We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Colina Flora
Ranked #1 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed every minute in this eco-friendly guest house, beautifully situated in a natural reserve surrounded by trees and hills with views of the nearby coast. The situation is ideal for visits to the surf beaches or the quieter waters of Caiscias, and the local places of interest in Sintra Park - don't miss the convent at Capuchos. The bus stop down the lane is very handy if you don't have a car for trips to the beach or Sintra.
The house is lovely; the room we stayed in, Marigold, has a large verandah with a fireplace which was very cosy in the evening for having a drink.
The hosts, Aaste and James, are magnificent. They go out of their way to help, providing all sorts of information on local walks, places to visit, restaurants and events. Breakfast is wonderful with fresh local produce and we had a superb dinner cooked by Aaste. James is very helpful with transport, he collected and delivered us from the airport and was always willing to take us to local towns or beaches so we did not need to hire a car.
A gem of a place and a very relaxing holiday - and they have a lovely little dog, Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frommydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
148
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virgina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hilltop retreat surpassed our expectations. The drive up to the inn from the ocean front highway was breathtaking. This was our first trans Atlantic vacation with a 21 month old, and we appreciated the care the inn keepers took in making it as smooth as possible by accomodating our dietary, sleeping, and safety requests. Other than the well appointed decor ( we stayed in two rooms: the Lilly and Camellia and adored the views from the Camellia and the shower with a skylight in the Lilly) and beautifully maintained grounds, the things that stand out the most are the attention to details that the inn keepers took. It was so lovely to have fresh squeezed OJ and home made granola for breakfast, a clean room to come to everyday, and the option for laundry service for a small fee. The inn keepers had lots of tips to ensure we got the most out of everyday we enjoyed in the area. We wish we had taken more advantage of the unbelievable home cooked meals the inn keepers can make upon request for dinner. Delicious! Bring some warm attire as the weather is not predicable, but most days were lovely by noon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxemburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went there this summer for 4 nights and it was fantastic ! James and Aasta and of course Lucca,the dog , give you the feeling that you are at home. James ´tips and self-made maps are very good. I had the Camellia room which is very amazing. You should absolutely have dinner there at least once, the vegetarian food is gorgeous !

I would recommend this guesthouse and the region, too. You have there wonderful beaches ( I recommend the Adraga Beach ), gorgeous palaces and a fantastic nature. Also it´s very close to Lisbon ( about 45 minutes )

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahmfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! It really is the best! The accommodation is set in a beautiful location close to many Sintra attractions, the hosts Aasta, James and Lucca give a wonderful warm welcome, with also plenty of local advice! The breakfasts are fantastic too, fresh produce changes slightly each day with eggs cooked to order as you like them! Oh and for the room!!! Absolutely gorgeous, clean and comfortable beds with nice linen, a truly wonderful break!! We hired a car also as it combined with accommodation was the same price as other places around the area, this allowed us lots of freedom to explore!! Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

A very different experience and a brilliant one. If you are seeking peace and quiet and in a location of great beauty and historical interest, this is the place for you.
Excellent hosts in James and Aasta, who go beyond the norm to make you feel at home. Excellent food, setting, and ambience.
This is a small country villa set in the hills of the historic Sintra region and only 45 minutes north of Lisbon. If you need to unwind and get away from the pace of modern life, Quinta Colina Flora will fulfill your needs.

Spectacular views, walks and beaches nearby.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Camelia room has spectacular 360 Degree views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked the holiday at short notice. James and Aasta were very accomodating with regard to the dates we had in mind. We discovered the business was fairly new. We were made to feel very welcome and we really felt James and Aasta were putting everything into making their venture a success. They were happy to share their local knowledge and to make recommendations as to where to go and places to see while we were with them.
The accomodation was lovely and the location was perfect for a quiet getaway but at the same time the area offered plenty to do with many historial sites of interest. Good weather, walking (with many steep inclines so good footwear recommended) and company. We are looking forward to the next visit!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsinandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Colina Flora is a fantastic base for exploring the beautiful Sintra Natural Park. The location is ideal for its proximity to Lisbon, Sintra, beautiful coastlines and beaches and fantastic cliff-side and forest hikes with rewarding gorgeous scenery and views! As a health care provider, one of the most important things for me is that the property is run in a healthy, green, responsible organic manner with no use of chemicals, organic breakfasts and even organic linens! The property has beautiful organic gardens, a pool and a quiet, small feel with hosts who are willing to provide excellent suggestions, assistance with transportation and make you feel at home. There are views of nearby small villages and beaches along a beautiful coast. We took many long and fantastic hikes both inland to historic and natural locations and along the cliffs by the sea which the owner James mapped out for us. For us, this was a perfect location for a great vacation...we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Italialuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
2.1 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.1 mi away
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
3.7 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Colina Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Colina Flora

Property: Quinta Colina Flora
Address: Caminho Alegre 5 | Pé da Serra, Colares 2705-255, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, "Green" country guesthouse with 5 lovely, individually styled en-suite rooms, peacefully located, Off the Beaten Track, in the beautiful rural Sintra Natural Park (paradise for walkers/cyclists), ocean views, 1.5 Km to the quaint village of Almocageme with its small shops, restaurants and cafes. 5 Minute drive to amazing Adraga beach, sight seeing, 16 minutes to Sintra and Cascais, 40 minutes to Lisbon, organic vegetarian/vegan breakfast, delicious vegetarian meals, special dietary requests accommodated, airport and beach shuttle service, swimming pool. Nearby surfing, golf, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, kyacking, snorkling, wine tours, mountain biking. Yoga, Chi Kung, art classes and therapeutic massage upon request, weekend wellness workshops, winter specials ("stay 7 nights pay for 6 from 1 November to 28 February"), walking vacation week specials and retreats. Guest kitchen for self-caters. We strive to take care of the planet by recycling, composting, organic gardening, organic ingredients for our meals, supporting local farmers, low energy appliances, hanging the laundry and going slowly!!! Vegetarian/vegan friendly!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Colina Flora Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing