We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Colina Flora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Colina Flora
Ranked #1 of 8 Colares B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I wanted a week walking in Portugal and Colina Flora was perfect. I was attracted by the idea of organic and local food and was not disappointed. The meals were all freshly prepared and the breakfasts were good with freshly made coffee and fruit juice. James and Aasta could not have done more to make us comfortable and it is this personal attention which makes all the difference.

The location is perfect to visit beaches, castles, stately homes, deserted monasteries and beautiful countryside. There is a five minute walk to the bus stop and the bus takes you to the historic town of Sintra or to Cascais. James very kindly provides the occasional shuttle trip to help out. We relied on public transport and found it all manageable. The terrain is steep so the walking is energetic if you wish but there are gentle strolls too. James provides maps and instructions to set you on your way.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to spend another week there. It was good value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
146
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a fantastic 4 night stay in September and wish it could have been longer. Colina Flora has a beautiful hilltop setting with fantastic sea views. You could quite easily spend the whole holiday without leaving the Quinta, enjoying the gardens, boule court, small pool and local walks. The breakfasts are brilliant, and so filling we frequently didn't eat again until evening. Aasta's evening meal was also really tasty and the basic self catering facilities are also handy for anyone needing a break from the huge restaurant portions.

We booked at the last minute and hadn't researched the area very well but James is very knowledgable about the local area and gave us some great recommendations for local walks and beaches.

It is easy to travel from Lisbon, Sintra, Caiscais and Caba de roca by train/bus and local resturants and beaches are within walking distance - or if you struggle with the hills, James and Aasta are always happy to give you a lift - so this is a fanstasic option for anyone who wants to enjoy a rural setting but isn't keen on hiring a car abroad.

We would recommend Colina Flora to anyone for a really personal and individual holiday. There was a lovely relaxed and informal atmosphere, and the way the site is set out with lots of different communal areas means you can equally enjoy either chatting to other guests or having your own space. Colina Flora has the atmosphere of staying at a friends home - if you prefer a formal hotel setting and get upset by things like washing hanging to dry this may not be the place for you. However, if you want great food and a great welcome you will really enjoy it here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Aasta and James have worked very hard to make this a very special place to stay. We got a last minute booking and stayed in Rose which was absolutely fine for us and very good value. It was very well equipped, the water and fruit in the room were very much appreciated as was the delicious breakfast - good proper coffee and juiced oranges just like at home. Aasta's granola was great too and I came away trying to work out how she made it. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Thought has gone into guests needs too, with a well equipped kitchen space, walking sticks, great guides to local walks in the beautiful woodland behind the house and a taxi service to local sites. We went on to stay at Quinto Rio Touro in Azoia which was awful and we longed to return to Colina Flora and the friendly villagers in Almocageme. The Sisido at the bottom of the village is a great local restaurant, the tireless waitress was patient with our basic Portugese and very friendly. A great seafood meal with 75cl house wine at 1.75 euro. Friends recommended the Adega too. We will be back for a long weekend to see the spring flowers. A huge thank you to Aasta and James

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolktraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ross, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

booked a double room pretentiously called the Rose. described as a cozy double yet totally unsuitable for two people. a double bed in a space about 10 ft by 8 ft. On website it promised gowns and fruit in the room which did not materialise. The en suite bathroom was ample in sixe but used toilet paper could not be flushed and had to be stored in a bin for collection each day. There was no room for chairs and no privacy .. two windows and a lot of passing activity to the clothes line and by other guests. The only way to ensure privacy was to put down black out shutters which made the room totally claustrophobic. We were offered the use of the hosts living room in the evening , but this was not our own space.as it had to be shared with them and didnt suit us . We had booked for 6 nights but only stayed for two because of the above. We were only given a refund for two nights.. The Colina Flora has beautiful grounds, a lovely pool and served a great breakfast . The hosts should learn to accept customers genuine concerns with better grace . The room provided was not suitable and we were not offered any alternative..

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastatorsen, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
We are very sorry about the reviewers displeasure. A vacation should be an enjoyable experience and we strive to offer a comfortable guesthouse.
We did advise before their arrival (as we do with all guests) both during a phone conversation and in an email that the room is a small - (a small cozy single, or a snug double) - single with a double bed, but that due to the bed size it can be used as a double. We even tell the guests how big the bed is:140 cm x 200 cm. The couple who stayed their the previous week, were happy with the room and have already booked to come back in the winter.
We ask for improvement suggestions, since we are new at innkeeping, And we will improve/change what is possible to improve. The reviewer told us that the room was too small for them. They did not mention their other displeasures. We regret that they did not tell us personally, we would have made every effort to fix the fixable. We are training a new housekeeper and she admits to having forgotten the fruit and the bathrobes. From now on the laundry will be hung so that it is not visible from the room (we are environmentally conscious, so we hang laundry to dry)
There was one chair in the room (and two chairs in the bathroom) we have already moved the furniture around to make it be more spacious and have added a second chair. Colina Flora only has 4 guest rooms and the others were booked, so we could not, regretfully, offer an alternative. We posted the refund question on the innkeepers forum we use for brainstorming/information/feedback and were advised by other very experienced innkeepers to refund 50%.
The living room is for every guest to use and we use it too,to be nearby until 10PM. This was the first guest to have an issue with this.
We will line the Rose rooms curtains for added privacy. We always thought the shutters were a good idea.
Each of our rooms is named after a flower. Since the Rose room is painted a lovely shade of red and in honor of my mother, whose name was Rose, we call it Rose.
The issue with the toilett tissue into the covered, lined, push pedal bins, was actually suggested by another guest to be more gentle on the country plumbing. We will not suggest this in the future.
This has been a learning experience and again, we are sorry these guests were displeased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We can only echo what the previous reviews have said - this is a great find. After a very impersonal 2 night stay in a chain hotel in busy Lisbon, Colina Flora was the exact opposite. The hosts are super friendly and knowledgeable and really made our stay unique. James gave us some great recommendations for places to visit and eat which were tailored perfectly to our needs. The place itself is beautiful, we had our 1 year old daughter with us so had the room with the terrace and fire so could put her to bed and still stay up ourselves. Would thoroughly recommend to all types of traveller, it is great vaule for money too.

Room Tip: If you have children opt for the MArigold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had booked a suite in a five-star beach hotel south of Lisbon for part two of our honeymoon, but three weeks prior to departure we decided we wanted something more personal. After a quick search we found this place and instantly fell inn love just by reading about it. When we arrived there we knew we had made the right decision. If you have read the other reviews we can tell you that they are all true! Aasta and James took very good care of us and we felt very much at home. They knew everything that was going on in the area, and gave us good tips on where to go and what to see. Our almost two-year old daughter loved the garden, and became good friends with the family dog- Lucca.
We can safely reccomend this place since it is a perfect place for both families and couples and even if you are travelling alone you won't feel alone here!
A last thing to mention is the breakfast, Aastas homemade granola is one of the many things we will surely come back for.
We did not regret changing from the five-star hotel a second!

Love, Wilma, Wilhelm and Thale

PS: For families we would especially recommend the room with the fireplace outside. Its GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastatorsen, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thanks to all of our former guests for taking the time to write your reviews. We continue to strive to improve Colina Flora and create "a home away from home" for our guests to enjoy.. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Beautiful location in Sintra. Peace and serenity for body and spirit.
James and Aasta are very friendly hosts. They are always available for every request. Delicious breakfast strictly organic.
if you come to portugal you must see Sintra and you must have a stop at Colina Flora.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glolu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
2.2 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Casalinho de Santo Antonio
3.7 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Colina Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Colina Flora

Property: Quinta Colina Flora
Address: Caminho Alegre 5 | Pé da Serra, Colares 2705-255, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, "Green" country guesthouse with 5 lovely, individually styled en-suite rooms, peacefully located, Off the Beaten Track, in the beautiful rural Sintra Natural Park (paradise for walkers/cyclists), ocean views, 1.5 Km to the quaint village of Almocageme with its small shops, restaurants and cafes. 5 Minute drive to amazing Adraga beach, sight seeing, 16 minutes to Sintra and Cascais, 40 minutes to Lisbon, organic vegetarian/vegan breakfast, delicious vegetarian meals, special dietary requests accommodated, airport and beach shuttle service, swimming pool. Nearby surfing, golf, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, kyacking, snorkling, wine tours, mountain biking. Yoga, Chi Kung, art classes and therapeutic massage upon request, weekend wellness workshops, winter specials ("stay 7 nights pay for 6 from 1 November to 28 February"), walking vacation week specials and retreats. Guest kitchen for self-caters. We strive to take care of the planet by recycling, composting, organic gardening, organic ingredients for our meals, supporting local farmers, low energy appliances, hanging the laundry and going slowly!!! Vegetarian/vegan friendly!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Colina Flora Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing