We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful stay in a super friendly property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Colina Flora
Ranked #1 of 9 Colares B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a wonderful stay in a super friendly property”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

this place is absolutely a treat. we had a "small" room, which was the only one available and we thought it was just great. we ate at lots of amazing fish restaurants nearby and the sea was close by. sintra was incredibly beautiful, with castles and gardens. we took a rickshaw ride up the mountain and it was fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
thank-you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
155
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at "Colina Flora" country guesthouse for 2 nights and enjoyed the opportunity to explore the area without rushing between beautiful attractions.
The grounds of the guesthouse are big and beautiful. Our son enjoyed the pool at the end of a busy day and we liked the tranquility of the place. Overall experience was very good.
However there were a few small things that could have been improved. For example, It would be nice to have screens on the windows, so that we could have a fresh air in the cottage. We had to keep all widows closed because of the mosquitoes and bugs and as a result, the air in the cottage was somewhat humid and stuffy. Secondly, the Rose Cottage is located in a secluded spot of the property and we wanted to enjoy our private sitting area in front of the entrance. But a construction of another cottage made it unattractive and somewhat noisy. I wish we were advised about this construction in advance. For those who like to watch TV, I should mention that it is a little too small and there are only a few channels in English. These are the reasons why I removed 1 star.
Now I should mention all the great things that made our stay very pleasant. We liked the property and its location very much (big, quiet, close to many attractions like Monserrate Palace, Convent of the Capuchos, Serra da Estrela, etc.); breakfast was fresh and plentiful; fruits and cookies every day in our cottage were very much appreciated and James and his wife Aasta tried their best to make our stay memorable and comfortable. If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask James. He is very knowledgeable about many attractions, places to eat and trails to walk. I would only recommend to find GPS coordinates for all the places you wish to visit because it's easy to get lost in a milliard of different roads, streets and villages. I definitely recommend Colina Flora guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Manager at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello and thank-you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments/feed-back which helps us to improve Colina Flora for all of our guest´s comfort and enjoyment.

We are extremely sorry that you found the work on the nearby cottage, which is now completed, a disturbance. Due to the very wet and stormy winter, work was behind schedule.

Also sorry about the lack of mosquito screens, which have now been replaced. We wish that you would have requested mosquito screens. Rose does have screens which had been taken down for cleaning and had not yet been put back because we felt that mosquito season had not yet begun, obviously this was our error and the screens are now back on the windows.
We regret that the TV was too small for you. The lack of English channels is because Britain has launched a new satellite and now English television (except for a few news and sports channels) is not available in Southern Europe anymore except via the internet. So we are having internet installed in the cottages and will provide ubs cables so that guests can watch English programs by hooking their laptops to the TV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights with James, Aasta and Lucca their terrier. They were very kind and made us feel at home. The guest house is lovely. We loved the Rose room cottage. James recommended excellent restaurants for us. I only wish that we had stayed longer!
We will definitely return! The quinta is in a lovely area and the garden is glorious. We loved the quiet serenity of the guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marguerite_direktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Manager at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you and sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We completely loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts James and Aasta were so warm and welcoming, we really enjoyed talking with them. The setting for the BnB is beautiful and makes a great base for walking. There are a lot of interesting sites to visit in the area and we'll have to come back to see them all.

In my opinion, this is a perfect BnB. Everything was just perfect! From the fruit and wine in the rooms, the lovely relaxing pool and pool bar, a charming little pooch, and let me not forget to mention the FOOD! We were able to enjoy an evening meal (vegan) that would have put man a famous chef to shame. Really, it was delicious! And the breakfasts... What abundant variety of goodies!

We'll be back and will happily recommend it to all our friends in the meantime!

Room Tip: The rose room is a separate building. Big and spacious and comfortable with an outside table in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goandgoandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Manager at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you!! Our recipes are inspired by these three wonderful, mostly vegan, blogs: Green Kitchen Stories, The Jolly Beetroot, and My New Roots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Quinta Colina Flora. James and Aasta were the perfect host and hostess. They pointed us in the right direction for walks, dining and sightseeing. Being without a car, they made accommodations for us to be delivered and picked up from restaurants in the evening. The breakfast that was carefully laid out every morning had variety and was delicious. The convenient bus stop at the end of the hill gave us easy access to Sintra, Caba da Roca, Cascais , and train service to Lisbon. The atmosphere that is created is friendly, comfortable and relaxing. An excellent visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 868Suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you and sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've been on many a short break, both at home (UK) and abroad, but my stay at Quinta Colina Flora made this one of the very best. Of course the surroundings are superb with plenty to see and experience. The countryside and seascapes are wonderful and there are historical sites in abundance in the area. However, what made the stay at QCF so special for me was a combination of the peace and quiet, beautiful gardens and accommodation and excellent welcome by James, Aasta and their adorable dog. The hosts can't do enough for their guests, and their free shuttle service to local restaurants is very much appreciated. Aasta's fantastic culinary skills were also very much in evidence and appreciated at breakfast with the abundance of home cooked goodies and the most delicious muesli ever. A very big thank you to James, Aasta and Lucca the dog, for a very happy stay (30 Jan to 2 Feb) and a heartfelt recommendation to Trip Advisor readers to visit QCF; you won't regret it. (PS I have rated the fitness centre in error below - there is no fitness centre, so please will readers ignore and forgive this error).

Room Tip: My friend and I stayed in Rose Lodge, a converted barn separate to the main house. Spacious accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaniEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank-you!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This Guesthause is as Eco genuine, honest, enjoyable and wellcoming as all the photos view! And each visit surprise by something new, which further contributes to more and more superlatives for this cosy and friendly ECO Guesthause with flowers and a lovely poolgarden. This is for sure a little paradis the year around in the middle of Cabo da Roca and Sintra with lots and lots of lovely green mountain and seaside walks. It's rare to see so much beautiful scenery and concentrated beauty that exists around Colina Flora and this affects the whole visit and experience in a magical way.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank-you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
2.2 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
371 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
6.1 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
707 reviews
1.8 mi away
Convento de Sao Saturnino
6.6 mi away
Pergola House
Pergola House
#2 of 39 in Cascais
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Colina Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Colina Flora

Property: Quinta Colina Flora
Address: Caminho Alegre 5 | Pé da Serra, Colares 2705-255, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, "Green" country guesthouse with 5 lovely, individually styled en-suite rooms, peacefully located, Off the Beaten Track, in the beautiful rural Sintra Natural Park (paradise for walkers/cyclists), ocean views, 1.5 Km to the quaint village of Almocageme with its small shops, restaurants and cafes. 5 Minute drive to amazing Adraga beach, sight seeing, 16 minutes to Sintra and Cascais, 40 minutes to Lisbon, organic vegetarian/vegan breakfast, delicious vegetarian meals, special dietary requests accommodated, airport and beach shuttle service, swimming pool. Nearby surfing, golf, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, kyacking, snorkling, wine tours, mountain biking. Yoga, Chi Kung, art classes and therapeutic massage upon request, weekend wellness workshops, winter specials ("stay 7 nights pay for 6 from 1 November to 28 February"), walking vacation week specials and retreats. Guest kitchen for self-caters. We strive to take care of the planet by recycling, composting, organic gardening, organic ingredients for our meals, supporting local farmers, low energy appliances, hanging the laundry and going slowly!!! Vegetarian/vegan friendly!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Colina Flora Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing