We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Colina Flora
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Colares
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
250
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssintra national parkb bperfect hostslocal restaurantsmarigold roomlocal knowledgenatural parkcoastal walksperfect placeon footdelicious breakfastinn keeperscakesoutdoor kitchenhonesty barcould not have been moreguest kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent one of the most delightful weeks of our 60 years+ travel experience in this lovely place in mid-July 2014. Everything at every level is wonderful: the welcome and briefing by James, the warm and hospitable main house and the opulent provisions of the room. What marks this place out is the seemingly unending generosity of the owners, Aasta and James. The rooms are equipped with everything one could ever need, dressing gowns and slippers, tissues...its all there. The breakfasts are, again, generous and varied and tasty: there's granola, cereals, fruits, coffee, tea, juice, toast, rolls, cakes and local pastries, jam, cheese, eggs any way you like ( and we agree with Andrej that Aasta/James' scrambled is superb),conversation and friendliness. There's a delightful outdoor communal kitchen if you want to cook for yourself and plenty of interesting places to eat in the gardens and terraces, all of which have splendid views. The pool now has comfortable seats for everyone and a proliferation of beach towels. Nearby is an interesting local cafe/gallery. The nearest town, Almocageme, is totally unspoiled and has a good little supermarket, a weekly market ( there's another on the road further down on other days) and there are many, many good restaurants and cafes in the area. Sintra is easily reachable by bus ( the best way) and James is an exceedingly knowledgeable guide to what to see locally and what is on in the various cafes and other places. We went to an interesting experimental jazz concert at the local gallery. There is also a cheerful, happy Fado night in Almocageme on Fridays. If you don't have a car you will not be at a disadvantage: James will take you wherever you need to go, will find you at the airport and, as with everything at Colina Flora, there will be absolute attention to detail and to making sure you enjoy your time in this wonderful spot. We did!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It just depends on what you want. If you want peace, quiet and an individual patio overlooking the woods and, at a distance, the sea then opt for one of the two detached rooms. If you want spectacular view and evening sun then opt for a room in the main house. There are only 5 rooms, one of which is a single, in all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastaluccajames, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your comments and are grateful to you and all of our guests for their input which gives us the energy to keep improving!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my newly wed wife found the Colina Flora accidentally on the internet. We were already enchanted by the photos that were uploaded on their website. The photos dont even express half of the real beauty of Quinta Colina Flora and its surroundings. Also we were delighted with the treatment from the housekeepers James and Aasta, who put a really huge effort into making not only us but as I saw all the other guests feel very comfortable. And off course the breakfasts! I havent ate such good quality products for a long time, and the scrambled eggs they served I dare say were the best scrambled eggs I have ate in my life!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndrzejBohdanowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastaluccajames, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank-you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week at Colina Flora and enjoyed every day. We stayed in the Camelia room which was fabulous with an amazing view from the all-round windows! Aasta and James were most welcoming and James especially helpful with directions and ideas for visits, whilst aasta delivered tasty breakfasts daily. The Sintra area is beautiful, high up in the hills with beautiful palaces and gardens and fabulous beaches with crashing waves. Cascais is about a 15 minute drive away. A beautiful seaside town with gorgeous swimming beaches. The only negative thing was the swimming pool seating. We were looking forward to finishing our days off laying around the pool, reading and swimming. However there were only 2 usable seats for 10 people, so this was not possible most of the time. A little money spent on comfortable seating would have made our stay perfect. I would recommend Colina Flora for a wonderful holiday. Lots to do in the surrounding area, however if like us, you don't "hike" hire a car!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank eagle137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastaluccajames, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind and generous review. We especially appreciated your comment about poolside seating which was remedied the very next day after your departure by the purchase of six comfortable adjustable sun lounger chairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is a great spot. James and Aasta are wonderful hosts. They made delicious breakfasts (starting at 9am, which is perfect for sleeping in a bit), and were very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, providing lots of great tips for sites, hiking, and restaurants (my favorite was Adega -- Portuguese tapas). I spent lots of time hiking/walking the trails and small streets nearby - many which feel very off the beaten path as there are very few hikers in the area. Definitely worth doing if you like views, and the landscape is beautiful. Also, the Colina Flora itself is a wonderful place to relax. The views from the Camellia room are incredible - you can even watch the sunset from your room!

Room Tip: There are ocean views from both the Camellia and Lilly rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chmoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aastaluccajames, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank-you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

this place is absolutely a treat. we had a "small" room, which was the only one available and we thought it was just great. we ate at lots of amazing fish restaurants nearby and the sea was close by. sintra was incredibly beautiful, with castles and gardens. we took a rickshaw ride up the mountain and it was fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccadogColares, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

thank-you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews