We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Weird”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Colares
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Delightfully Weird”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We were visiting Sintra (not far away, at least as the crow flies -- rural roads in Portugal are a real adventure however) and picked the VIP Miramonte for its unbeatable price (32 euro/night). The place has the feel of a summer camp or a university dormitory, but we were there in December and it was practically deserted. (Oddly, there was one other couple in our building, and they were given the adjacent room.) The vast grounds of the hotel (which takes up several three-story buildings) is pretty and charming, and full of greenery. The only hotel facility we actually used besides our room was the ping-pong table, but that was only because we were busy touring Sintra and getting lost when the GPS would lose contact with the satellite. The room itself was not the quietest, but everything worked and it was all very clean and proper. The staff were helpful and polite with directions, maps and so forth. Parking could be a problem at peak season but for us in December it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    40
    21
    25
See reviews for
22
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Old Hotel in need of refurbishing. Apart of a nice garden, the rest was not nice! Old decor, staff not interested, bed very unconfortable (but clean room and bed) And food especially breakfast really bad!

  • Liked — garden
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colares hotels

Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

This is the 3rd time I have stopped at the Hotel. The Hotel is dated (especially the reception and bar area) and the Hotel staff are a little distant.

However, the rooms, swimming pool and especially the grounds fully make up for the above faults.

The rooms are very clean and have a lovely large 4 piece bathroom with plenty of hot water, modern air conditioning and TV.

The pool is massive and together with the gardens is well tended and looked after.

Be warned if you consider stopping during the middle of July as the Hotel have a contract with schools in Belgium and whilst the 30 or so kids are ok they do tend to spoil the ambiance and quietness that makes stopping here a relaxing time!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnMc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

The hotel is comfortable, but the food is only average and although plentiful there isn't much taste. The worst thing about staying there is that the cost of using the telephones in the bedrooms is absolutely extortionate. I was charged 77.75 euros for 38.06 minutes of calls. There is absolutely no warning about this until you receive your bill at the end of the holiday.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller200England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

Good value hotel in a quiet location. Short drive to various beach resorts and Sintra.

Staff are polite and very helpful and speak excellent English. The breakfast is extra but good value for money. The room was spotless and there was plenty of hot water at all times of the day.

On a negative note, the bed was very uncomfortable. We asked to change rooms but were informed that all the mattresses were new. I therefore asked for 6 pillows to sleep on and they were delivered promply. Funny thing is they have a pile of business cards on reception recommending a local osteopath!

Parking is very limited but as the hotel was quiet so we were OK. This could be a big problem in high season.

It was a four minutes drive to local restaurants at Praia de Macas and we recommend 'Buzios'.

Sintra was less than ten minutes by car and was wonderful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Polite staff
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own mattress
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank busymakingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

If you are arriving from Lisbon Airport take the train to Sintra from Roma or Entrecampos Stations the ticket machines are simple and the tickets cheap trains run every 15-20 minutes in 45 minutes you will be in Sintra Portela.Take the 441 bus ask for Miramonte hotel about 25 minutes also cheap.Rooms in the hotel are large and clean,cleaned every day with lots of hot water and fresh towels.The swimming pool is cleaned every morning,we didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on stewed rabbit and boiled potatoes.Excellent restaurant near Praia das Macas great food and the chef loves to show off his piri piri sauce. The service everywhere else was painfully slow and expensive. Dont eat the bread and butter or cheese they put on the table everywhere its not free.House wine is delicious and only 2.50 a carafe. Gardens at the hotel are beautifully maintained every day but the lounge is a disappointment.Beaches are a short walk away and you must take the tram to Sintra if you can Friday Saturday or Sunday from Praia das Machas.One taxi driver in Colares insisted on taking us on a tour of Sintra on our way to the station. Its fantasy Disney style!!!

Helpful?
9 Thank needingrecharged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2006

Old hotel, well located in the woods close to Sintra and the beach. Out of date but correct and clean rooms, without elevator (we lodged at the fourth floor). Few parking places around. Nice swimming pool and very nice garden. Two stars worth but actually not more than that.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Belgian_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
0.7 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel

Property: VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel
Address: Avenida do Atlantico 155, Colares 2705-287, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel benefits from its privileged geographical position since its just 10 km away from the romantic Village of Sintra (World Heritage), famous for its palaces and magnificent gardens. Surrounded by fresh air, evergreen pinewoods and the tranquility of the mountain, the VIP Inn Miramonte, with its 91 rooms is the ideal place for your peaceful holidays. The VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel benefits from its privileged geographical location. Since it is just 10 km from the romantic Village of Sintra (World Heritage), famous for its palaces and magnificent gardens. The "Praia das Macas" and the "Praia Grande" beaches are only 1 km away. The "Cascais" and "Estoril" villages are just 20 km from Sintra, and Lisbon the capital is only 35 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Miramonte
VIP Inn Miramonte Hotel Portugal/Colares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing