We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and really enjoyable experience”
Review of A Adega do Coelho

A Adega do Coelho
Ranked #21 of 26 Restaurants in Colares
Restaurant details
Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food and really enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had read about this place on trip advisor and turned up at 7.20 to find it in darkness and the gates shut. After peering through the fence for a couple of minutes a grumpy looking chap came out and barked "8!" We slunk off, wondering whether it was worth going back after such a grumpy welcome, and decided as there were no other places nearby we would wait it out. I am delighted we did. When we came back at 8, we were greeted with big smiles and led through a courtyard to an inside table in what appeared to be the back room of his house. It was a traditional portuguese setting and seemed to be run by a family consisting of an ancient guy in charge of the BBQ, the grumpy turned smily front of house son, and his wife in the kitchen. The menu was straightforward, various meat or fish cooked by grandad on the Bbq, served up with lovely handcut fries and copious amounts of salad from mum in the kitchen! The prices were great value (from €5 for half a chicken to €9 for a big chunky cod loin) and we all really enjoyed our meals along with a big jug of sangria to wash it down! It was a great end to our holiday and i would recommend it, although if you don't speak much Portuguese a phrasebook might come in handy as he doesn't speak much english and we had to rely on a little visit to the kitchen to find out what things were on the menu. All added to the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snaptravel-767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Portuguese Food run by Family”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stumbled across this place on a Sunday and it was buzzing with customers. Fortunately we arrived early as we had not booked. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and we sat outside in the courtyard where they were cooking food to order on the BBQ. Very reasonable in price and great food. A family affair with Grandma and Grandpa in charge of the BBQ.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FairyorPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Authentic Portuguese Food in Sintra, near the coast”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

You should visit this place if you are in Sintra, near the coast, and want to try authentic, unexpensive Portuguese food.
The family-owned business is running for several years, and if you don't book in advance for a table on weekends, the most common is to be full.
The grilled food is awesome (their speciality), the prices are very reasonable, ending paying a two-persons lunch for less than 25EUR.

During the summer, is very pleasant the outdoor seating, below the vineyard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best BBQ food......fresh, appetising and value for money.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

This typical Portuguese restaurant has been a family favourite for the last 30 years.
Sit outside under the shade of the huge vine - whilst the freshest fish, and best cuts of meat are cooked on a huge BBQ.
The portions are huge - so share a couple of dishes.
Try the chicken - frango, huge steak, and the tastiest sardines.
Jugged red wine is cheap and delicious.
Leave room for the best rice pudding - arroz doce - in the country....!
Erratic opening times lunchtime and evening - worth booking a table in the summer at weekends as it can be very busy.
We love taking friends and family to dine here as it is constantly good and so very typical of Portugal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iandoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colares, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Honest food”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

No frills, family own and run restaurant. Nice shady patio. Good fresh fish, tasty meat on the charcoal grill, good sangria, good prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Adega do Coelho also viewed

Colares, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Colares, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to A Adega do Coelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing