We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy guesthouse in excellent location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estalagem de Colares
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colares
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cosy guesthouse in excellent location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great short stay at this guesthouse - the location is perfect for public transport, being less than 10 minutes by bus from the beaches and all the attractions around Sintra. Our room was simple but very clean and quiet and the service we received was impeccable. The included breakfast was also one of the best we had in Portugal! Highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I've been here for 5 days this summer and i stayed exactly in the room of the main photo.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food great. i chose to have my breakfast at the bar room and have a nice talk to one members of the staff. On fridays they make a 'Al Fresco' Buffet dinner. Just great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Last Monday four of us went for dinner to wish a farewell to a special friend and wish him all the best in a new country. This was, for two of us, our fourth visit and we were not disappointed. The service, the food, the wine, the ambience was excellent. Cannot wait for another occasion to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeySintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Estalagem for one night this month (April) it is low season and rate was exceptionally reasonable for the best night's sleep, the best breakfast and the incredibly friendly staff. Dinner was all very good and reasonable. You can park your car in their lot across the street so is also convenient. The grounds are lovely and the outside would have been nice for breakfast except it was no quite warm enough. The breakfast was a huge fruit bowl, yogurt, cereal and toast. Colares is as few minutes drive from Sintra, but is much quieter (hence the excellent night's sleep).

Room Tip: We slept in the back area which was private and quiet. I would want to check the main building as mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we stayed for 7 nights and we really enyoyed our stay. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff. The room was great, simpel but clean and quiet. Also the location is very easy if you travel without a car. They immediatly suplied me with the bus hours. So we made easy trips to the beach,sintra and from there even to lissbon. we really enyoyed our stay !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _steven_912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra
Level Contributor
456 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

With a menu revolving around the pumpkin theme the halloween dinner was somewhat disappointing. The food was uninspiring except for the soup, with salted cod fish lasagna and a custard cream for dessert.
Too little to be remembered!

The service is nice and the premisses are very comfortable and cozy, with a bar to start your night and a large second floor saloon with a nice fireplace.

Some say that the friday's menu is what counts, but I have never tried it.

As far as I can say not worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Not having a car, the bus stop just outside the hotel was very useful for trips to the beach and Sintra. The room was clean and spacious with a good bathroom so we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frommydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colares
2.1 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
364 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
518 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vinha da Quinta
Vinha da Quinta
#13 of 15 in Sintra
5 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
636 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem de Colares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem de Colares

Property: Estalagem de Colares
Address: Avenida Amilcar Augusto Gil 142, Colares 2705-199, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLARESThe origins of Colares date back to immemorial times, even before the Foundation of Portugal. Some old chronicals refer a few legends, one of them being probably the true source of the village’s name: a german Countess used her own jewellery (Colares means necklaces)to buy this land, as she could not afford to pay for it with gold.THE INNThroughout the centuries, Colares became famous due to its vast plantations of fruit trees and mainly to the vineyards growing among pinetrees. In the early years of 1900, Domingos José Camarão selected this ancient village to open his small tavern, which nine decades later would become the Colares Inn. Today, we are proud in preserving its gourmet tradition along with a good service. With a cosy and confortable atmosphere, the Inn has a total of 13 rooms. One restaurant, a bar, a large sitting room, pleasant garden and private car parking are additional facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estalagem De Colares Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing