We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road (and rail).”
Review of Hotel Sao Mamede

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sao Mamede
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Middle of the road (and rail).”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We chose this hotel in haste as we'd had our booking cancelled from another hotel. It's adequate. Not a hotel to choose for a holiday, just overnight or if you're on business. It's situated between a very busy main road and the local railway line, which rumbles through from about 5.30 a.m. till 11.30 p.m. it certainly isn't a noise which will keep you awake, we did get used to it very easily, the road noise is more intrusive, but the double glazing keeps that at bay, apart from some noisy guests the only noise that was annoying was the wind rattling the doors. If it wasn't your door then you were in for a sleepless night. The breakfast room is pleasant, self service, adequate, the beveridge machine dispenses coffee, milk, chocolate, hot water (not hot enough for tea though), a separate machine for juice (orange and pineapple). Bread rolls, brioche (style) rolls, croissants, sliced cheese and ham, peach and strawberry jam and butter. Thats it! While you sit eating your breakfast you will hear an incessant bleeping from the kitchen, probably the timers on the ovens for the bread, it's interspersed by the bleeps from the coffee machine but you'd think that the staff would turn them off. The rooms, due to high throughput look a little shabby, but are clean and serviced with fresh towels every day. Plenty of hot water. The bar and lounge areas are pleasant, underused, the reception staff cover the bar too, which is a little cumbersome. The reception staff are, as everyone has said, very pleasant. If only there was some outside seating space and a pool, it would be perfect. The beach is a short walk away in either direction. The hotel is on a hill not good for wheelchairs as the camber is steep, immediately outside the hotel front door the owner parks his very large BMW and other family members or management use the car port adjacent to the front door, not very welcoming, but they own the place why should they care. As I mentioned, it's adequate.

Room Tip: Face towards Cascais for a brighter room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matron134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Mr. Matron134,

Good morning.
Thank you for had choosing Hotel São Mamede!
Hope to see you next time !

Regards,

Hotel São Mamede Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
21
52
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Have stayed at the Sao Mamede previously and we enjoyed our stay then as well as this time, the Receptionists were very pleasant and helpfull, the rooms are very good, the only downside was other that some Guests that came back early morning and indeed late at night had no thought for others trying to sleep banged doors and talking loud and of course the walls are thin with no soundproofing, breakfast was the same day in day out but was adequate. As for the booking agents, thats a different matter (Trivago,Clever hotels,Navelar,kernave etc) we had lots of problems with them (believe these are all one company) as we accidentally double booked, we had awful job getting our money back and had to have the help of the Credit card company in fact it got like that, that we were certain we were mixed up in a Scam, but alls well ends well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank traindriver11540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you for had choosing Hotel São Mamede again to your stay in Estoril.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the others Guests noise
Would you please indicate check-in, check-out and guest names to verify what happening with your booking. Did we understanding correctly, as the booking system duplicated your booking? What channel did you booked Hotel São Mamede ? We need this information to improve our service.
For next time, we suggest you to contact directly with the hotel (any hotel of the world), explain the situation and request then to solve the problem with the travel agency and credit company.
Hope to see you next time!

Our best Regards,

Hotel São Mamede Team.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EASTLAKE
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Close enough to walk easily to the beach, local tram into Lisbon, the Casino and many eateries, I liked the hotel and its friendly and helpful staff. The room is not luxury, but I wasn't expecting that or paying for that. It was clean and comfy which is fine by me. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbscram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Sir Jbscram,

Thank you for had choose São Mamede for your stay at Estoril Coast.
We appreciated your kind comment and hope to see you soon again!

Our best regards,

Hotel São Mamede Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have been here 1 week so far for business and there is nothing bad to say about this hotel. the last review don´t looked that great, but this hotel surprised me for a two star hotel.
The staff were really helpfull and nice, the location was perfect, the room was really clean and the bed was good, the room was a little bit small, but it was not a problem. Maybe the only thing that could be better is the breakfast, but the price we pay, we can not expect more. Great deal!

Room Tip: You can buy extra items to your breakfast and order on the frontdesk to leaves on the bar refrigerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DANY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
It is very important to us know that our hospitality passion is given fruits!
Hope see you on your next trip to Estoril!

Our best regards,
Hotel São Mamede Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Centrally located hotel in Estoril near station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms compact however very clean and have a large bathroom. Breakfast basic but what you expect for the price. I would return without doubt if i were to visit Estoril again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pob34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Sir Pob34,

Thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor!

Hope see you soon,

Our best regards,

Hotel São Mamede Estoril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

It was terrible, dirty, poor, lack of cleanliness in the room, etc. There are no Park, the breakfast was simple, but the worst were the dirty china.
The room was not clean at 4 p.m, because, they tell, they didn't have the key to enter!!!!!
The materials of the room were the more degrading!!!!

Room Tip: Go to Hotel Inglaterra, Estoril
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgraceporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Mrs. MGracePorto,

Thank you for your time and consideration to posted your review regarding São Mamede.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this instance.
To prevent re-occurrences we have set up a new verification procedure.
We understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met.
We look forward to receiving your further requests, and assure you that they will be filled correctly.

Our best regards,

Hotel São Mamede Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estoril hotels

Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was the last place we stayed as I led 18 university students through the gardens of Spain & Portugal. I've learned it always helps to end on a high note and this was it. The rooms are pretty average and compact like most European hotels. The bathroom has a window in the shower overlooking the coast which is pretty cool. A very easy 30 train ride into Lisbon. The person working the front desk while we were here was a hoot! She was so funny and friendly. We had a great farewell picnic on the breakers and caught a glorious Portugal sunset. Really nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor and which faces west to view the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Mr. landscape-designer,

Thank you for your kind comments on the performance of Hotel São Mamede.
As you may know, so few people take the time to
let a manufacturer know when they are satisfied with a
product.
It is very important to us know that our hospitality passion is given fruits!
Hope see you on your next trip to Estoril!

Our best regards,
Hotel São Mamede Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estoril hotels
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#3 of 17 in Estoril
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#12 of 17 in Estoril
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SANA Estoril Hotel
SANA Estoril Hotel
#13 of 17 in Estoril
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Mamede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Mamede

Property: Hotel Sao Mamede
Address: Avenida Marginal 7105, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sao Mamede 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing a charming Estoril view, this nice, central and cheap hotel in Estoril is ideally located, only a few steps away from Casino,Tamariz beach, Congress center, many bars and restaurant. It is also a short train ride to the tourist spots of Lisbon, the rooms are well-fitted and the hotel has good facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sao Mamede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing