We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The location is excellent, near the beach and the Casino and in walking distance from Cascais (a very nice city to visit - You can go by the see until reach Cascais)

This is the 4th Vila Gale hotel that we've been and in this one, the breakfast is the best of the four ... despite being very similar, the food taste better and the staff handled very well with a overcrowded room. (still, no fresh orange juice in a country loaded of oranges :/)

The room was clean and because we had the "sea view room", the view was very pretty :)
It could be a little bit more care with some maintenance (I've posted some pictures about it)

The bar by the swimming pool should have some kind of lounge music because it could "gather" some ppl by the pool despite the weather is not the best.

The wifi is free only in the public areas. I think it could be free for everyone because, for a Portuguese tourist it's easy to get free wifi (PT wifi, Fon Zon, etc) but for a foreign tourist it's not so accessible.

Overall a very nice stay and a hotel to recommend.
- wifi pros turistas

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril, we are pleased to know that you had a very nice stay with us because we try to do our best ervery day and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    191
    102
    25
    7
See reviews for
88
167
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. I was looking for a room for one person and this was definitely the biggest room I have ever stayed in. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is excellent, next to railway station, beach and casino. The breakfast had a huge selection of food including a fry and all that I tried was very good.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
288 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great hotel in a very convenient position in a few minutes from the promenade, close to beach & train. The staff were so good and friendly. They were all excellent.The bedroom was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Great choice at breakfast, even champagne is available. Down point : noise from the road. I would return and stay again at Vila Gale, if have to stay in Estoril

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiseleRoosLaDiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us friendly. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Pros: the hotel is in a very convenient position, in a few minutes from the promenade and the stations. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast, even champagne is available. Helpful staff, wi-fi free of charge in the lobby.
Cons: noise from the road, wi-fi on the rooms for additional charge.
This hotel is recommended for all visitors (except those who are very sensitive to noise).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us really helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

It is usual to stay in this hotel, but this time, there was a lot of noise with people get out of the rooms in the morning, a lot of noise. But the employees where lovely and kind, the breakfast excellent. And the place, lovely!

Room Tip: It was very noise! with people earlier get out from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgraceporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us lovely and Kind. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great hotel, food was fantastic with a great selection - the rice pudding was a marvel! could not resist it. The bedrooms were comfortable, but lacked enough drawer space for two people. The staff were really helpful and the manager was extremely efficient and pleasant. The only criticism is that there no gardens or areas outside the hotel to sit - only a pool area on the first floor. The location was excellent - just a short walk to bus station, train station and the park surrounding the casino. A short stroll passed the park gace way to an underpass to the promenade which ran all the way to Caiscais - about a twenty minute walk or longer if you stopped at the numerous bars and restaurants for a snack or a coffee!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril, we are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us really helpful. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
602 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

...gives as good an impression as can be obtained. All the staff encountered were pleasant and some went out of their way to assist. Whilst the range of food was not extensive, the quality was good...and before I forget, wi fi in the lobby area is free.

Exterior images of the hotel belie the interior. Those photographs of the outside elevations are not really appealing. My twin bedroom was a good size and kept immaculate by the cleaning staff; the large floor to ground window opened on to small patio area that was not meant to be accessed by guests. In terms of location, it is hard to better this hotel: so close to the railway station for visiting Lisbon and the adjacent bus stops for places like Sintra (a destination that really requires two or three days in its own right).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us pleasent . We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#7 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing