We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We wore in Porto and I need a hotel in Lisbon so a friend mine told me to go to travel agency a try to book a hotel.So we whent to this place and told the person working there what I was looking for and she recommended this hotel.When we whent to this hotel it was nice, hotel staff wore very good, speak good English and very dedicated people that if you need something wore there to help you.This hotel is a four star and it is.Room we wore was a very nice room we stay on the seventh floor and had a good view.There was a big plaza and the hotel wasent far away,we took a train number 15 E and took us to the big plaza. Also was close to the sea.I would recommend this hotel to any one if you go to Lisbon.The money we paid was well worth.

Room Tip: Make sure you do the home work before choose a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

My credit card was charged twice.
I booked the hotel at their site in March 2013. And was charged at booking time.
We stayed from May 29 till June 4. And I was charged at checking out.

Now the hotel dose not answer my letters.

Never believe them. They are just fraudsters!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank RRustamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Mr. Rustamm Ibragimov,

We regret all the comments you made about our Vila Galé Estoril Hotel.

We were really surprised with your review because we were careful to attend all your requests (Sea View, double bed and a non smoking room).

We would also like to clarify that until today we never received any letter from you.

This situation was deeply analysed and we guarantte that we only charge you the value of your reservation once, during your checked out.

The information of your credit card details given at booking time was only to guarantee your reservation, we never charge in advance.

Please check your credit card reports because we are sure that we didn't over charge you twice.

Feel free to send any comment to my email adress: spalhota@vilagale.com

Best regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I spent 5 nights here on a business trip, and the location is lovely, near the Castello San Jorge, the water, restaurants, and even a casino. But the hotel is older, and packed with tour groups from the UK and elsewhere. I felt out of place NOT being part of the tour group, because at the breakfast buffet it was 90% tour folks. The breakfast buffet is better than the dinner buffet, which you can skip because it was VERY mediocre, and below par for Portugal food. Breakfast has meats, eggs, cereal, juices, fruit salad, cheese, breads, pastry and coffee/tea.
The room was old, and the mattress was hard. The room safe had no lock, and the closet was small, there were no dresser drawers to put things away in. You used the closet shelves, which happens in older hotels in Europe.
The help at the front desk was okay...they looked a bit unenthusiastic most of the time I had to ask them questions. For $68€ a night, it was affordable, but I don't think I'd stay here again. I had business seminar at the Hotel Inglaterra about a 5 minute walk up the street, and I'd definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Face west for the sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honurider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.

We were surprised by your comments about our breakfast and dinner, certainly you experienced it in a very busy period, while reposition was being made.

We believe that the positive points that you noted, namely the location may lead you to stay again at Vila Galé Estoril.

Best regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Good location in Estoril near the beach and train station, nice walk to Cascais along the promenade about a 25 minute stroll away. Only the rooms on floor 8 have balcony's, no tea or coffee facilities in room, fridge was handy,the single beds were ok. Pool was not very inviting as it was not heated nor was the area around it very appealing, the annoying jazz music didn't help the ambience. The hotel bar closes at midnight and has no entertainment,however the barman was excellent. Breakfast was pretty standard, eggs cold meats, cheese, etc. Estoril is very quiet with few bars and restaurant's the casino had various dining options from cheap buffet to pricey Chinese. Cascais has more options for eating drinking and entertainment a cab to the hotel from Cascais was about 5 euro. Cant help thinking villa gale Cascais would have been a better option, if you want a livelier resort

Room Tip: request balcony otherwise you will have no outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just got back from a 4 day break at this lovely hotel. Requested and got a lovely balcony room.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice, even bubbly if you wanted to make a bucks fizz for brekky.
Staff are very helpful and the place is kept spick and span.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea-view and ask if you can have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We were very glad to know that you had Lovely 4 day break in our hotel and that you did enjoy our Breakfast.

I would also like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us very helpful.

We hope to welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Friendly reception and efficient check-in. We had requested a quiet room at the back of the hotel and this was provided. However only twin bedded rooms were available, no doubles. The room was clean but suffered from a lack of storage space. A chest of drawers or bedside cupboards would have been useful. The shower was ineffective - very little water emerging from the shower head and variations in temperature whilst in use.
The food was reasonable but bland. Roast meats including sliced pork almost every night, and a very limited range of vegetables. The chips were the processed type served in burger bars. Rice was provided on 3 nights - why not provide a curry, or chili con carne as an option on these nights? Also how do restaurants justify charging Euro 2.50 for a 50 cl. bottle of water. It should be no more than 1 euro for a bottle this size.
The seating area in reception is in a dark corner, and there is no guest friendly place in the hotel to sit and mingle with other guests during the day. We went to the Piccadilly Circus cafe just outside to the right of the hotel for our coffees and snacks as did many other hotel guests. Efficient friendly service and good prices.
Estoril doesn't seem to have a town centre or if it does we didn't find it! We did however walk along the seafront promenade to Cascais on several occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of small cafes along the way and plenty of interesting things to see in the centre of Cascais.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Estoril.

We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day. We can also assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed.

We hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards

Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

travelled with friends, we had very pleasant stay at vila gale, estoril, the location was perfect, across the road fro m the beach, the staff were excellent and so helpful especially Alfonzo in reception, and the barman, the buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, would recommend this hotel for value, location, and the staff, hopefully will go back at some stage

Room Tip: we stayed in room 614 with lovely sea view on the 6th floor very spacious room, and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian1234265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, thank you for all the good critcs.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for finding us excellent and helpful. We try to do our best ervery day, and exceed the expectations of every guest.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril on your next trip to Portugal.

Best Regards
Sara Palhota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#3 of 17 in Estoril
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.7 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: £60 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing