We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the location too”
Review of Vila Gale Estoril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Estoril
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shame about the location too”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 days following a tour of the pousadas of Portugal. I guess anything was going to be a bit of a disappointment after that experience. First of all the location, only a few metres from a junction on the main (and busy) road from Cascais to Lisbon. There is no garden and even if there were it would be noisy, as is the pool which overlooks the road junction.
The food is pretty indifferent too.
On a practical note, particularly for those less athletic, there are no grab handles nor rubber mats in the bathroom. Also, access to the pool is only via 2 flights of (quite steep) stairs.
Estoril unlike Cascais, doesn't seem to have very much to offer, unless one is into gambling at the Casino, and if I were returning I'd be much more inclined to stay in Cascais which has many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to know about your review but we always take every opportunity to improve.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.


Best Regards,
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    210
    111
    28
    8
See reviews for
99
182
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
221 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our third time in Estoril and second time staying in the Vila Gale (both times in early September). It is a great location - 5 mins from the train station and Tamariz beach and about a 25 minute walk along the seafront to Caiscais (depending on how fast you go and whether or not you stop to enjoy a drink and the view on the way). Staff are very friendly and helpful and remembered us from the year before which was nice. The breakfast buffet is very good - wide range of breads, hot food, fruit etc and a special 'light' corner with low-fat cheese, yoghurts etc. Very good value. The rooftop pool area is quiet and makes a nice change from the more lively Tamariz beach. It has a lovely view down the coast. Our room was a decent size, also with a lovely view down the coast. We don't often go back to the same place but I'm sure we'll be back here again!

P.s. one bit of advice - you need to get a lock for the safe from the reception so ask for this when you check in to save time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you very much for all of your comments about our hotel.

We hope that you can keep your promise and visit us again.

It will be an honor to welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It is situated 100 m far from railway station. The interior design is a little pathetic and not modern. This hotel i would call intened to be luxary, but it's not. Anyway the staff is freindly. The hotel is absolutely not suited for families with children. There is no fun exept the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

Our staff is grateful for the comments made about them.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermoy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cannot praise it enough.staff are so pleasant/helpful.feels like a family run establishment. Breakfast bar has everything you need. ..not to mention Champagne also.Shower in our room a bit dated BUT it doesn't matter really.attention to detail&service is outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards
Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Returned from Estoril last week. Stayed at this hotel, it was alright. The pool was a bit small and there wasn't many beds but otherwise everything was ok. The buffet for breakfast was good,but there wasn't much variety. The dinner buffet was excellent, we ate in there 4 times and everytime there was a range of different foods.
The room was a reasonable size, and the view was good, however the balcony doors didn't open fully..There wasn't much space for clothes either..3 draws and about 6 hangers wasn't enough.
The service was decent. They helped you out whenever you needed something.
The location is great as well..5minutes away from the station and 5 minutes away from the beach! Couldn't ask for more. It is also near to 'Estoril Casino'! About 30 minute drive from Lisbon airport.
There was only one bad thing..the noise from the beach on Friday&Saturday night..was woken up at 3am thanks to the music, but you just had to ignore it. Thank god it was only twice.
Would return. I suggest you check this place out at least once.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with all the good comments about our hotel. We only regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.

Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Estoril Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Best regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Nice convenient hotel definitely worth a visit nothing that I could complain about except to increase the size of the swimming pool I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone the food offered at the restaurant is second to none.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank converse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel.

It is rewarding to the whole team the recognition of our daily effort in order to provide a good experience to our guests and encourages us to improve continuously.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Estoril

Best regards

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just returned from the hotel. We had very pleasant. Great location - 5 minutes from the train station (30 minutes from Lisbon) right in front of the ocean - Tamariz Beach. Very friendly staff, ready to help at any time. Good breakfast. As well as you can dine in the hotel restaurant (22 euros) is very tasty. It is possible to book a shuttle to the airport at any time of day. There is a closed parking area (fee required 7.5 euros per day). 20 minutes walk along the ocean - Cascais, where many shops and restaurants. Estoril and Cascais are very beautiful and perfectly clean . Being in hotel we had combined a beach holiday and travel to Lisbon and the country (rented car). Our room was on the third floor overlooking the ocean. The room is big with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom, air conditioning. Rooms are cleaned every day. Near the Casino. Unfortunately right now there is no show in the Casino. If we go back to Portugal we will stay at the Vila Gale Estoril. Many thanks to all the staff at for a wonderful holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms above the second floor overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the time you take posting your great comments about Vila Galé Estoril. We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

We are very glad for being able to provide you a "perfect Stay in a nice hotel" and that you did really appreciate our Breakfast and Dinner.

Our staff is grateful for the comments made about them.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Estoril or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.

Best Regards,

Sara Palhota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Estoril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Estoril

Property: Vila Gale Estoril
Address: Av. Marginal | Apartado 49, Estoril, Cascais 2766-901, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#3 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Estoril 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Estoril over the beautiful sandy Tamariz beach and only 200 meters away from the Casino and Estoril Congress Center. In the proximity you'll find numerous shopping facilities and entertainment venues. Connect to the public transport network may be found within 100 m of the hotel. Cascais is situated 5 km away and the airport nearest airport is 25 km from the hotel. The hotel has a total of 126 rooms spread over 8 floors, among them 50 room with ocean view. The hotel services include wheelchair access ways, lifts, 24 hour reception service, hotel safe and free internet wi-fi in the public areas. Among the public areas you can find two restaurants, a bar and a game room. This hotel has multipurpose rooms fit for any types of events and meetings with access to multimedia devices and wireless internet connection. For additional fees, guests may take advantage of laundry services as well as garage parking. The tastefully furnished rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, guests will find a swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use of the Health Club composed of a gym, Jacuzzi and steam room (for an additional fee) and a Spa where you can count with massages and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course can be found approximately 3 km away. The restaurant offers buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner although lunch and dinner may be selected a la carte or from a set menu. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Estoril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Gale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing