We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel In the Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Shanti Niketan
Ranked #3 of 11 Estoril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Jewel In the Crown”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed two days at this splendid Casa. Everything about it was just right. The location is excellent, close to the train station, the beach walkway to Cascais and best of all for us, 10 minutes walk to the stadium of Estoril Praia football club.

The owner and her assistants are lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We arrived early in the day and not only was our room ready but they also opened the breakfast room for us. Breakfasts were ample, with fresh fruit, cereals, bread and Portuguese cheese and meats. There is a minibar and kettle and supplies in the room. The room we had was large, with two terraces overlooking beautiful Estoril and the bed was very comfortable. The washroom was well appointed.

We hope to return often, to visit Sofia, Fatima and staff. This is a beautiful house in an excellent location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It's already some weeks ago we spent a week in Casa Shanti Niketan and won't forget this lovely house and charming ladies. it's location is perfect; good connections to Lisbon and Cascais, some minutes to the beach, easily accessible by car.
We very much enjoyed the breakfasts and chatting with Senhora Sofia. We can't but agree with the others, this is like home where you want to return.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Sofia, owner, Bethina, and staff were most attentive and the B&B truly felt like a home. Breakfasts were excellent. Our superior room was magnificent and very good value for money. Location was ideal with short walk to train station to visit Lisbon 30 mins away. Also walked to Cascais along promenade and fairly close to Sintra. Highly recommend this accommodation!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My partner & I stayed here for 6 nights (beg Sept. 2013) & loved it & would without a shadow of a doubt stay here again. The staff & owner were lovely, very friendly & helpful & really made us feel at home. Good sized rooms - great breakfast every morning. It was a mere 5 min walk to the beach, a lovely 20min walk along the promenade to bustling Cascais & only a 10min walk to the heart of Estoril.

A BIG thank you to ALL the staff at Casa Shanti Niketan for making our stay such a memorable one! Muito obrigada!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaPerpetuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have returned from a wonderful few days at Casa Shanti Niketan. The last time I wrote an outstanding B&B review, it has resulted in me never being able to get a vacancy again! This should be the same, so please leave a chance for us to visit again! Sophia took us into her home as family, and we are exceptionally grateful to her for making us feel so at home, and for being so generous to us. Fatima, of her own will, made a gorgeous birthday cake for the birthday boys in our group. The bed linen was excellent.

The location is excellent - get the metro from Lisbon airport to Cais de Sodre (one stop and then onto the train line to Cascais; all stations in Lisbon have lifts). I strongly suggest getting off at Estoril rather than Monte Estoril. It is much easier to walk to the B&B from there. The esplanade from Estoril to Cascais along the seafront is excellent and can be walked safely even after evening dinner in Cascais. A slow stroll takes about half an hour. We ate in great restaurants in Estoril, Monte Estoril and Cascais.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at this b & b for 6 nights . The owner and her staff were excellent and could not do enough to make sure we were happy. We used the transport recommended by the booking site to get from the airport and back to the airport from the b & b ... first class.
Accommodation itself was very clean and a new bathroom made it very comfortable stay.
Continental breakfast and fresh homemade cakes every day !!
Convenient location with the superb train line just 5 minutes walk away.
We certainly will be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyR439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great place to stay with a very friendly atmosphere. Very friendly host. Service was great! Rooms are very nice.
Perfect for visiting Lisbon and combining this with surfing or just going to the beaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.3 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#5 of 17 in Estoril
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.5 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Shanti Niketan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Shanti Niketan

Property: Casa Shanti Niketan
Address: Avenida das Acacias 108 | Monte Estoril, Estoril, Cascais 2765-389, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Shanti Niketan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA SHANTINIKETAN-Bed & Breakfast in Monte Estoril CASA SHANTINIKETAN provides an informal, family and relaxing atmosphere - as a home should be! A peaceful haven in Monte Estoril, with 7 homely rooms, away from the hustle and bustle of city life and close to the Estoril Beach and the train station to Lisbon and Cascais. You are most welcome to stay with us in Estoril - a few steps from the beach and the Casino, and only 20 minutes by train or car from Lisbon - a beautiful city with a lot of history, museums, entertainment etc. Or a perfect spot for a vacation off the beaten track! The house was named "Shantiniketan", an abode of peace and joy, inspired by the work of Indian poet / philosopher Rabindranath Tagore - Nobel Prize for Literature 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Shanti Niketan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing