We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in some respects”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were disappointed in the room, It was clean and comfortable but small and looked out onto the air conditioning vent, which was noisy. There was no sitting area inside the room and no balcony. The breakfast was good although the hot food was rather cool but the evening meal was at best disappointing. The sun beds were in poor condition and many of them were broken. The pool area was nice, as were the public areas in the hotel. Overall, we recognise that the hotel looks good and has pleasant staff but the food was dull and the broken sun beds and the small room detracted from our enjoyment. We would return.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 101
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessielilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Inglaterra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Had to book a hotel at short notice as my flight was cancelled and the hotel I was booked in was full and couldn't extend my stay. I contacted the Inglaterra who had vacancy and I am glad they did. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. the hotel itself and the grounds very nice.
Breakfast was good, with a good selection of hot and cold food.
All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few quid and get a suite..
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dollos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Such an incredible value (we got it for $60 a night by booking far in advance, and during the 'off season'). Beautiful, clean, cozy rooms. Extremely well decorated, wonderful lighting, comfortable furniture. The shower leaks a bit (and by a bit, I mean the bathroom floods), but this is our ONLY complaint. Great breakfast buffet with champagne, selection of warm and cold foods, fresh fruits. Very nice dining space and pool. Great location in Estoril (near the casino), very walkable to the beach and to the center of Cascais (only 10 mins, and along an extremely scenic route). Nice staff, The best deal on a hotel I've gotten in a VERY long time. If you can get it for less than its full rate, you MUST stay here. A favorite that I will absolutely return to. Not to mention Cascais is an all time favorite vacation spot!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Came here for the GP Moto and stayed here for 3 nights. We had a good sized room which was lovely but the bathroom could do with some new decoration. Staff very all very pleasent and helpful especially at reception. We had breakfast in the hotel which was the usual continental selection and was very nice. There is a small business centre and a swimming pool. The hotel is situated at the top of a slightly steep hill and about 10 minutes walk from the train station. Estoril itself is very quiet and there are not many shops or restaurants the main focus is the Casino but you can get the bus or train through to Cascais or you can walk along the promenade

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAINEYMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hotel was really nice and good value. There is a small but nice pool (just about large enough to swim rather than dip in). Although the hotel was fully booked judging by breakfast, most of the guests appeared to be there on business/at conferences and so it was pretty quiet during the day and you didn't need to compete with anyone for a lounger!

Rooms were tastefully decorated and a decent size. They were kept very clean. The food in the restaurant and bar was well-cooked and we had a decent breakfast there each morning but wouldn't choose to eat our evening meals there as it was more pricey and less atmospheric than some of the other local options.

The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. The only difficulty arose because the receptionists were quite young and inexperienced (see below)

Estoril is located at a reasonable distance to be able to travel to Lisbon for sightseeing/evening meals by a clean straightforward train journey. There is a very large casino so it does attract quite a lot of men but not so much that women would feel uncomfortable and the place feels safe to walk around at night. Around the casino are a few restaurants which are fine albeit a bit pricey (it was actually cheaper to eat in Lisbon) but there is a really nice fish restaurant down by the sea. Cascades is a nice walk along the promenade although if you're not fit you could catch the train.

The only problem arose on our last couple of days when a coach of British rugby players arrived and stayed in our hotel. This led to loud, drunken behaviour at breakfast on our last day followed by a large group sitting by the pool. One of the older members went and defecated all over the women's toilet floor then showed off to his friends about it. They were loud and lairy, farted and belched loudly, swore excessively, spoke disparagingly of women, boasted of their sexual conquests - somewhat implausibly and gratuitously and it was impossible to ignore them. Although we made a complaint, the staff seemed unable to do anything other than send a poor cleaner off to clean up after the man. We escaped down to the beach where we encountered them stripping off and catcalling at women. Hopefully your trip here would lack such excitement.just check they don't have any such parties before you book.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

For business travellers, this hotel has a very good quality versus price rate. You can walk everywhere:the Congress centre is 5 minutes away , the beaches are 15 minutes away, you have restaurants and shops very near. During the night it is very quiet and sleep quality is ensured. Breakfast is very good.I was given an upgrade so I do not know about other rooms but suite 209 has a wonderful view and everything you need for a pleasure or business stay. Estoril is 20 minutes away from Lisbon and 30 minutes away from the airport. The only minor point was for the heating system that needs maintenance (noisy and not really efficient) but as I only stayed one night, I did not complain so maybe they could fix it easily.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Well renovated end of 1800 house. High ceiling rooms -I was at the ground floor, with nice large terrace. Each room is different. Very nice breakfast. The pool is small: just to refresh, not to swim; but the pool area is quite nice. Furnitures are pleasant -they did a good job.
The only defect is the noise -being an old house, floors and doors are not sound proof and the chats in the entrance hall might be heard on the whole ground floor.

Room Tip: ask for a view or a terrace, according to your preference. Each room is different.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
477 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Rua do Porto 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-271, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: £69 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and charismatic Hotel Inglaterra is located in the centre of famous Estoril walking distance to the rail station, casino and beach. The building of great architectonic beauty is a palace dating back to the start the 20th century with a personalized decoration in perfect balance of classic and contemporaneous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Estoril
Best Western Estoril
Estoril Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing