We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance of the past”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel has a new and old part. I was residing in the old part. Rooms are clean and ok. However, they are missing the ameneties of a four star hotel. You have to pay for the safe, the internet is not really functioning properly and the breakfast doesn't offer too much variation for the price you have to pay. However, they have a very beautiful new pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autobus_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Estoril is no doubts a charming place near Lisboa :) And Inglaterra is in very good location - near Centro do Congressos, casino and 5 minutes to railway station. 24-hour access to swimming pool. The staff is friendly. But some small drawbacks exist: the buffet breakfast was the same for all 6 days (no vegetables or different products); Internet Wi-Fi was slow, and on the -1 floor one should look for it at all corners of a room. In addition, it is really uncomfortable to run to the lobby every day for a new Wi-Fi password; bathrobes were old and nipped into holes. Thanx for fresh apples in lobby, and hope, the hotel management will find energy for improvement!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaterynaBatsenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for one week. Staff really not interested. Breakfast room too small for size of Hotel. Restaurant or bar never seemed to be open. Bathroom in our suite was tiny, your knees were touching the hand basin when using the toilet. Decor pretty shabby. I could go on, very disappointing. Only good thing was location.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful hotel near the beach with friendly front desk staff. This was our second visit (also came July 2012) and this time we stayed 4 days. Since our last visit the hotel and pool area had been beautifully renovated (there are now18 news rooms).
First we had a room in the 'old' section on the 5th floor, it is very classic and cozy, simply put a decent room, but with an out of date bathroom and the airco was not working and with temperatures well above 30 C (100F) it was much needed.
So after three trips down to the front desk, and 2 check-ups later, we got moved to a room in the new section which was great!! New, mordern bathrooms, a balcony and airco!
Breakfast is decent (and included), but not a wide selection - 3 types of breads, yoghurt, some fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs and jam and cheese - could be more elaborate. It is served until 10.30am and by 10.15ish they start clearing the tables but on the website it says 'Breakfast service guaranteed' so I’m not sure how they go about that. My tip would be to extend breakfast until at least 11am.
We enjoyed the pool and lounge area and I also got a massage (well priced!) but the gym is absolutely useless, only broken down and out of order equipment, hope it will be the next project the hotel tackles! Also the drinks and food by the pool are expensive (€4 for a small beer).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were fortunate to arrive when they opened 12 new rooms and had on of them. These rooms are well appointed however I understand that rooms in the older part of the hotel maybe be small and require some refurbishment. The staff were helpful and accommodate all our needs. The hotel is well positioned and an easy walk to the promenade. Breakfast was very adequate however the one dinner we had in the hotel was disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to secure a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Inglaterra's location, once you've decided to stay in Estoril, is great: a short walk from the beach and train station, but on a relatively quiet street. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you're too lazy to walk down to the beach there's a pool and an outside area which are nice and well-maintained. The hotel itself, however, has seen its best day and is in need of investment. In the beginning we were put up in a room on the ground floor that smelled of mildew, but we complained and were given a room on another floor immediately. The room was ok, but all the equipment in it was used up, shabby, out-of-time. Old bed, wallpaper that has seen its best days a decade ago, an old TV set... The room was rather clean, though.
Another real mishap was the breakfast. It was monotonous, without much variety and not very healthy. One day we were served fruit juice that went bad.
I did like Estoril, it's close enough to Lisbon for an evening out in the city and far enough to be a quiet and stress-free resort town. But if I were to stay in the area I'd look hard for another hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floors facing Rua Porto, it's quieter and will probably not smell of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funtli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed for just one night in February 2013 while travelling throughout Portugal. It was a very wet and windy period, but the staff gave a great upgrade quickly and the breakfast was fine. We chose not to eat at the restaurant in the evening. It was a low period so on street parking was easy. The hotel is going through significant extension and refurbishment - that made the staff more sensitive to the upgrade idea.

Room Tip: Staff will negotiate at the desk without embarrassment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
600 reviews
1.8 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Rua do Porto 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-271, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: £47 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and charismatic Hotel Inglaterra is located in the centre of famous Estoril walking distance to the rail station, casino and beach. The building of great architectonic beauty is a palace dating back to the start the 20th century with a personalized decoration in perfect balance of classic and contemporaneous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Estoril
Best Western Estoril
Estoril Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing