We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very nice stay and most excellent kind staff and Management. Just a few meters from Casino and the beach, although, it's in a steep hill.. The breakfast is ok, but dont expect much. The rooms are nice, clean as possible considering it's an old Hotel. The carpeting (even though we were in a upper room, was a bit old and stained. Things that didn't bother us since all the rest was very good. Parking can be in the street (free), and although a safe area just dont leave any values in and you'll be fine. We would go again. For kids, there is a BIG play area. They love it. The pool is very nice and pretty view to the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher that level 3 for a better view. Anything under that and you have building view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is on good place and staff was helpfully. We stayed in a new part of this hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had good breakfasts. Password for WIFI isn't a problem. Two TV are in the room - first TV is in a bedroom and second TV in a bathroom.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ludmila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel seems to be a converted old mansion, and may give a gloomy feeling to some. The rooms are a bit noisy and poorly insulated for sound, but they were spacious and very clean. We usually bypass hotel breakfasts even when included in the price because they are mostly awful, but this was not the case; breakfast was good, plenty of options to our taste (yoghurt, fruit, eggs, etc.). The best part was the staff: very helpful and friendly, and accommodating to our change of plans due to unexpected circumstances. That alone would make us consider a return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed in the old part of the hotel very comfortable was staying with a friend and we had plenty of space within the room. The breakfast was very good. The staff could not do enough for us . The facilities within the hotel were good the pool looked very inviting but wasn't brave enough to try due to the cold weather- end of October. The only down side had evening meal in the hotel one night very expensive for what we had. Would definitely return to this hotel again if in the area.
Estoril has a real good transport link only 30mintues to Lisbon by train and a beautiful trip by the sea. Also has a good bus link.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were much looking forward to our visit to Estoril and Hotel Inglaterra but were a bit let down. The building itself is beautiful, old style with lots of personality and has a great location close to the casino and center, and walking distance to the trains, beach and main road.

However the hotel does not quite live up to to its ambitions. We agree with previous comments about breakfast that it was very basic for the category, no vegetables, and too small room for the hotel, maybe due to the recent addition of a new building. This new building also has a rooftop pool which looks great on first sight but seems cheaply done and the ladders were actually dangerous, one had to be removed while we were there. Also we have to mention that some of the towels were smelly, like they hadn´t been washed, only dried which is unacceptable.

Cleaning was almost nonexistent, we complained to the manager and she gave us a free dinner as compensation but the restaurant was another disappointment. There was not much choice and from what we ordered the recommended local rice dish was reheated and dry, not what you expect from a supposed 4 star.

The room we had was below the reception level with garden access, next to the playground which is great if you have kids and it also protected us a bit from the heat. The room itself was large and comfortable but a bit worn. This hotel has lots of potential but needs some investment in the old part, and most important new management with more attention to detail and an understanding of what clients expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed for 7 nights bed and breakfast. Bedroom - firm comfortable beds, air conditioning, tv and balcony to front. Quiet and comfortable, everything worked.
Bathroom - high spec fitting, solid and clean.
Breakfast - wide choice available self service, eat what you want with no restriction from staff. Always helpful and flexible.
Other facilities available.
Corridors quiet and well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Found this hotel after being disappointed by another one close by.
This is trying to be like a boutique hotel with lovely common areas and a new pool and new rooms in a new extension.
We booked our room on a walk in so were just pleased to get anything at the last minute.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel as the new rooms were not finished.
Our room had a queen size 5 ft bed which was very comfortable and good ac/heating.
An old type tv but lots of tv channels.
Decor was clean and fresh.
Small bathroom that had a tub/shower combo and a hose type hair dryer which was amazingly powerful.
Wardrobe was small though OK for our weekend needs.
Breakfast was adequate for me but I think it could get monotonous if staying there for a while.
I would stay here again if I could not get a room in one of my usual choice hotels in Estoril/Cascais. The staff were very also very nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.1 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 40 in Cascais
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 18 in Estoril
491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Rua do Porto 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-271, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: £70 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and charismatic Hotel Inglaterra is located in the centre of famous Estoril walking distance to the rail station, casino and beach. The building of great architectonic beauty is a palace dating back to the start the 20th century with a personalized decoration in perfect balance of classic and contemporaneous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Estoril
Best Western Estoril
Estoril Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing