We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

very comfortable and friendly hotel in a very nice part of Estoril, short stroll to beach and train station, friendly barman who was very informative about Lisbon, a sea view room would have been nice but unfortunately none available .

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and I would imagine the rooms above the 4th floor dining area would be a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin197580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    122
    108
    50
    20
See reviews for
60
157
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was a honeymoon we booked on a budget, and our expectations were exceeded by a country mile. We booked online, direct with the hotel, and during the booking process I was asked what sort of a trip it was. I responded with the fact it was our honeymoon, and when we arrived we were greeted warmly, and informed that we had been given a 'Honeymoon Package' The bed was dressed with rose petals in a heart, fluffy white slippers, and chocolates. There was a vase with red roses, the bath was dressed with similar petals and lxury bath salts, shampoos and shower gels, and there was a bootle of well chilled Cava delivered to the room when we asked for it. The room itself was excellent, with just one exception, it was a twin aspect room, the main double doors onto the balcony had a view across the Tagus estuary round to Cascais, with the window framing a view towards Lisbon. Both windows were dressed with both a voile curtain, and very effective double lined curtains, keeping the sun out of the room early in the morning. There was adequate wardrobe and drawer space, a well stocked mini bar, all furnished and decorated in good taste. The bed was a little too firm for us, but we enjoyed a good quality of sleep. The maid was quick, efficient and unobtrusive, the room was serviced every day with fresh linen and towels, and the standards of cleanliness superb. I looked under the bed, not a sign of dust, let alone somebody else's socks, and I checked under the 'pop up' plug in the handbasin, not a sign of hair or scum. We had noticed that the carpet was slightly damp on our arrival, it had been thoroughly vacuumed with a wet and dry cleaner, and was spotless. Our only negative comments would be that, although well cared for and maintained, the decorations were beginning to look a wee bit shabby, and there was no socket available for a laptop or phone charger, without unplugging one of the standard and table lamps.
The staff were first class, helpful, polite, friendly, and willing to go out of their way to ensure everybody had a hassle free stay. From reception, bar and restaurant staff, and housekeeping there was not one person who did not engage in a positive way, even though there were language barriers. Breakfast was a cut above the usual continental style buffet, with a wide and varied selection of bread, croissant, cereal, fruit, hot and cold drinks, and always two hot dishes, scrambled eggs with bacon or sausages, and always, even at the end of service, enough to satisfy any appetite.
There was sufficient car parking within the hotel complex, and on the road outside, and from the airport, finding the hotel couldn't be easier, down to the roundabout, turn left, down the dual carriageway to the Tagus, the road swings to the right, and after half an hour or so, the hotel is on your right. One word of caution,. don't park under one of the palms, we left our hire car there for a couple of days, and it turne into guano central!
If you don't have a hire car, the station is only three or four minutes walk away, there is an excellent tourist information office a little further on, across the casino gardens, and there are frequent and economical buses. There are, however, very few supermarket type shops, we went to Cascais and used the Jumbo store just across the road from the station, which has two hours free parking.
Our on-line booking cost us seventy euros per night, for a room on an upper florr with a sea view, the tariff for walk-in guests started from one hundred and ninety euros per night., and we could not find one of the on-line booking services which even approached our on line direct price. All in all, a great hotel and amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a sea view. All rooms noisy with balcony doors open, but very effec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We picked the Sana Estoril due to it's proximity to the beach and to the train station. It is a solid 3 star hotel. Very easy check-in and the front desk was very helpful and friendly (we were able to store our bags for the afternoon on our last day) Room was basic but clean, although our shower seemed to spray in every which direction. The beds were a little firmer than I like, but it was okay for 2 nights.

We had booked an ocean view room, however our view was rather limited as we were on the 1st floor. I was originally a little concerned b/c our room was on the front of the hotel facing the busy road, but with the patio door closed, we couldn't hear anything. The one downside was that our room was right across from the elevator, so the hall noise was a little loud in the mornings. The other downside and I see it common in hotels in Europe, is the lack of outlets to charge things - we found one and ended up unplugging the TV to use a 2nd.

The breakfast in the mornings up on the 4th floor were fairly simple but adequate as others have noted. It wasn't fancy but it did give a good start to the day.

This is a good hotel if you are just needing a place to crash while in Estoril/Cascais - and for the price, we couldn't have asked for much more.

Room Tip: If you want a true ocean view, ask for a room up higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cognac, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Fantastic location,overlooking Tamariz Beach. Staff extremely polite and helpful. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony and sea view...stunning. If you can get floor 4 or 5 the balconies look better. Breakfast room has stunning views over Estoril,it was a joy to eat there. Breakfast good,plenty of choice,from fresh fruits and youghurts to eggs,toast,rolls,juices,teas and coffee.
Easy access to railway staion to Lisbon or to Cascais,although the esplanade walk to Cascais is wonerful. A few good restaurants in Estoril but the best are definitely in Cascais,where it is more lively with shops,bars and live music.Would definitely go back there.
A special thank you to Manuel on the front desk who greeted us perfectly and helped us to find a good local restaurant the first night when we were tired !!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and a balcony..its worth it for the magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel was nice and clean, and the staff was very accomodating. The breakfastø buffet was nothing special but offered e.g. Scrambled eggs, bread, fresh fruit, cheese etc. Overall very recommendable! I'd stay there again.
Sorry to have to rate room service and spa, hence the services were not offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

- good breakfast, breakfast room with beautiful sea view
- friendly and helpful staff
- close to the esplanade and Estoril train station

- takes about 40 min to go to Cascais for the restaraunts and shops
- there was only one socket in the room, was not convenient to charge mobiles and laptops
- located just above the main road, so night sleep with open balcony doors might be a trouble
- when we arrived the bath-tub in our room didn't seem clean. However, the room maids performed additional cleaning immediately

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Kiev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had requested romantic package to celebrate a special occasion and it included: welcome drink, sea view, vip treatment, double room with king size bed, aromatic bath and late check out depending on the availability.
Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome from the reception staff. Mr. Malaquias was very professional and later Mr. Manel, who helped us making a reservation in a restaurant.
A gentleman in the bar was also very kind offering us serveral possibilities to drink in the same category of the Port wine. So, we really enjoy the friendliness of the staff.

About the room, it was clean, well prepared and with a very nice view.
One issue to improve: should exist a door knob (do not disturb) to avoid some bad situations. In the morning someone from the Housekeeping was openning the door without asking for permission to do it. I needed to "scream" to let her know that we were inside. At least, this person should knock the door.
Besides, it is also difficult to get into the bathroom because the door doesnt open properly.

However, in general I suggest this Hotel. We had breakfast in the room without an extra fee, which was a great surprise.

It is a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Di0gOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing