We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, close to Lisbon!”
Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, close to Lisbon!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location just across from the ocean and just 1/2 hour from central Lisbon. The rooms are small but clean. Beds are comfortable enough to provide a good nights sleep after a day of walking along the boardwalk or central Lisbon. Breakfast on the top floor is not to be missed, the view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    132
    117
    56
    25
See reviews for
65
168
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Over all stay was good. even if we probably had the smallest room in the hotel.. was a ok price. the walk to cascais on the promenade is great but is can feel long at night.. so get a taxi of a night. the hotel has good access to the train station.. the staff was very welcoming and helpful on reception.. and the restaurant area where breakfast is served is clean and the view is amazing. if i would stay again i would get a room with a balcony!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We came back last week from our trip to Portugal and I can say we had a bitter-sweet experience when it comes to this hotel.
They gave us a twin room. It seems outrageous to me to give a couple a room with two sepparate beds. The room was spacious and beautiful, but the two beds were far from each other and seemed impossible to be put together.
My husband went to the reception desk and asked them politely to change our room and the lady there said she couldn't do it that day, although our booking specified we wanted a double bed. When I turned up at the reception desk, so angry, they solved the problem in an instant.
We got a room with a double bed, at the last floor. But this one was much smaller, the bathroom was extremely small, the door opened right into the toilet seat. The room did not have a balcony, but still had a gorgeous ocean view. I supposed it was less than we paid for, but at least we had a double bed.
This was the only thing that uspet us during our 8 nights' stay.
The breakfast was delicious, althought not so diversified. We practically had the same things every morning, but I can't complain about it, really. We were also surprised to find they even change the bed sheets and towels every single day.
And we were happy to find two people in the hotel staff that were from our country. They were so kind and helpful, just loved them!
The hotel is not exactly very close to Tamariz beach. You need to walk about 7 minutes, go towards the stadion and cross the railroad throught the tunnel. It probably takes about 10 at return, because you have to go up the street. And yet, I think it it one of the closest hotels to the ocean.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and oceanview don't have double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

very comfortable and friendly hotel in a very nice part of Estoril, short stroll to beach and train station, friendly barman who was very informative about Lisbon, a sea view room would have been nice but unfortunately none available .

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and I would imagine the rooms above the 4th floor dining area would be a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin197580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was a honeymoon we booked on a budget, and our expectations were exceeded by a country mile. We booked online, direct with the hotel, and during the booking process I was asked what sort of a trip it was. I responded with the fact it was our honeymoon, and when we arrived we were greeted warmly, and informed that we had been given a 'Honeymoon Package' The bed was dressed with rose petals in a heart, fluffy white slippers, and chocolates. There was a vase with red roses, the bath was dressed with similar petals and lxury bath salts, shampoos and shower gels, and there was a bootle of well chilled Cava delivered to the room when we asked for it. The room itself was excellent, with just one exception, it was a twin aspect room, the main double doors onto the balcony had a view across the Tagus estuary round to Cascais, with the window framing a view towards Lisbon. Both windows were dressed with both a voile curtain, and very effective double lined curtains, keeping the sun out of the room early in the morning. There was adequate wardrobe and drawer space, a well stocked mini bar, all furnished and decorated in good taste. The bed was a little too firm for us, but we enjoyed a good quality of sleep. The maid was quick, efficient and unobtrusive, the room was serviced every day with fresh linen and towels, and the standards of cleanliness superb. I looked under the bed, not a sign of dust, let alone somebody else's socks, and I checked under the 'pop up' plug in the handbasin, not a sign of hair or scum. We had noticed that the carpet was slightly damp on our arrival, it had been thoroughly vacuumed with a wet and dry cleaner, and was spotless. Our only negative comments would be that, although well cared for and maintained, the decorations were beginning to look a wee bit shabby, and there was no socket available for a laptop or phone charger, without unplugging one of the standard and table lamps.
The staff were first class, helpful, polite, friendly, and willing to go out of their way to ensure everybody had a hassle free stay. From reception, bar and restaurant staff, and housekeeping there was not one person who did not engage in a positive way, even though there were language barriers. Breakfast was a cut above the usual continental style buffet, with a wide and varied selection of bread, croissant, cereal, fruit, hot and cold drinks, and always two hot dishes, scrambled eggs with bacon or sausages, and always, even at the end of service, enough to satisfy any appetite.
There was sufficient car parking within the hotel complex, and on the road outside, and from the airport, finding the hotel couldn't be easier, down to the roundabout, turn left, down the dual carriageway to the Tagus, the road swings to the right, and after half an hour or so, the hotel is on your right. One word of caution,. don't park under one of the palms, we left our hire car there for a couple of days, and it turne into guano central!
If you don't have a hire car, the station is only three or four minutes walk away, there is an excellent tourist information office a little further on, across the casino gardens, and there are frequent and economical buses. There are, however, very few supermarket type shops, we went to Cascais and used the Jumbo store just across the road from the station, which has two hours free parking.
Our on-line booking cost us seventy euros per night, for a room on an upper florr with a sea view, the tariff for walk-in guests started from one hundred and ninety euros per night., and we could not find one of the on-line booking services which even approached our on line direct price. All in all, a great hotel and amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a sea view. All rooms noisy with balcony doors open, but very effec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We picked the Sana Estoril due to it's proximity to the beach and to the train station. It is a solid 3 star hotel. Very easy check-in and the front desk was very helpful and friendly (we were able to store our bags for the afternoon on our last day) Room was basic but clean, although our shower seemed to spray in every which direction. The beds were a little firmer than I like, but it was okay for 2 nights.

We had booked an ocean view room, however our view was rather limited as we were on the 1st floor. I was originally a little concerned b/c our room was on the front of the hotel facing the busy road, but with the patio door closed, we couldn't hear anything. The one downside was that our room was right across from the elevator, so the hall noise was a little loud in the mornings. The other downside and I see it common in hotels in Europe, is the lack of outlets to charge things - we found one and ended up unplugging the TV to use a 2nd.

The breakfast in the mornings up on the 4th floor were fairly simple but adequate as others have noted. It wasn't fancy but it did give a good start to the day.

This is a good hotel if you are just needing a place to crash while in Estoril/Cascais - and for the price, we couldn't have asked for much more.

Room Tip: If you want a true ocean view, ask for a room up higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cognac, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Fantastic location,overlooking Tamariz Beach. Staff extremely polite and helpful. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony and sea view...stunning. If you can get floor 4 or 5 the balconies look better. Breakfast room has stunning views over Estoril,it was a joy to eat there. Breakfast good,plenty of choice,from fresh fruits and youghurts to eggs,toast,rolls,juices,teas and coffee.
Easy access to railway staion to Lisbon or to Cascais,although the esplanade walk to Cascais is wonerful. A few good restaurants in Estoril but the best are definitely in Cascais,where it is more lively with shops,bars and live music.Would definitely go back there.
A special thank you to Manuel on the front desk who greeted us perfectly and helped us to find a good local restaurant the first night when we were tired !!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and a balcony..its worth it for the magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sao Mamede
Hotel Sao Mamede
#10 of 17 in Estoril
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing