We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in 7-10th May 2014 - 3 nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SANA Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SANA Estoril Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Co Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stayed in 7-10th May 2014 - 3 nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you get the train from Cais de Sodre get off at Estoril station. Go out the gate turn left up a steep hill for 5mins and hotel is directly in front of you across a busy road. There really is only the Casion and beaches in Estoril to be honest no supermarkets at all and one Telepizza next door to the hotel which you need as no food in the hotel after breakfast unless you want a sandwich. On arrival to the hotel receptionist was pleasant, you will get a piece of paper with Wifi codes on it and its free so dont pay extra for free wifi room like I did. The connection is woeful though. On entering corridor from the lift on the 5th Room (504) floor its very dark and the doors to do not fit the surrounds and with the winds in Portugal all year round you hear the whistling wind all day and night because of this. The rooms are not sound proofed at all so you can hear the taps and anyone even peeing in the adjoining rooms very noisy during shower times etc. The room was small but it had a balcony with table and chairs and another window so it was bright with a view of beach and the pool. There was pubic hair on the toilet and hair on the bathroom floor. It takes about 10mins for hot water to come in so turn showere/sink taps on beforehand to heat up. Shower head is down on bath and would not stay up to shower very inconvenient. The tiles are all cracked also as in my pictures. The main room issue is there is no sockets, the only one you can use is for a lamp which is at the far end of the room and on the floor so again not suitable for any laptop work etc. Ii wouldnt stay in Estoril again as its so boring stay in Cascais is 2 more train stops away and a fab town with everything in it. This hotel for the price I paid was not worth it, its very oldfashioned and really needs modernsiing for todays standards.

Room Tip: Room 504 Double bed overlooking pool and beach, very high up. Very small room suitable for one, less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    121
    107
    50
    20
See reviews for
59
155
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A great hotel to base yourself when in Estoril. Spitting distance from the sea front and beach, and walking distance from a number of good restaurants and cafés, catering to several different cuisines. The hotel is exceptionally clean, and quiet, and the staff are friendly, very helpful and knowledgable, especially about the local area. The continental breakfast is excellent, and the breakfast room overlooks the ocean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kilkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our time in Estoril and the Lisbon area. The hotel was fine, very clean. It is a budget hotel, so basic in decoration and furniture. The breakfasts are sufficient, but little choice. We recommend the hotel for its convenience near the railway station, restaurants and general location. Views from sea facing rooms are great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redhill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of April when the weather was sunny and warm. The staff were very efficient and helpful and the public rooms, although dated, were well equipped and cared for. We had a room on the 6th floor with a wonderful view over the water. The room was a decent size with a firm king size bed and plenty of storage for clothes and efficient air conditioning. The bathroom was very small with an antiquated shower over the bath, which worked very efficiently, so appearances can be deceptive. A huge fault was the fact that the bathroom door was blocked by the toilet positioned behind it and so only opened to give 12inches access. Funny at first but tedious after four days trying to squeeze between the door and the basin. All fittings were tired but clean. The hotel was full but the simple and fresh breakfast was easy to enjoy in the large airy dining room. The staff made sure everything was stocked up during the breakfast session. We had one communal meal which was dreadful so eating there is not recommended on that one example. Several people were very unhappy with their rooms which were small and dark so be sure to choose one high up with a sea view for an extra cost though. There is a very busy road and a railway line between the hotel and the sea but a taxi to Cais Cais costs only 5 euros where there are many restaurants and pedestrian areas leading to a small beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing the sea have good views but noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedhillJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed at a room in the 6th floor, facing the ocean. The view was absolutely spectacular, seeing the ocean and the river Tagus mixing, watching the waves rolling in the beaches in Estoril, a mere 10 minute walk to the Estoril Centre of Congresses and the Casino Estoril.

The room was small, the bathroom was small, but extremely clean. The bed was wide and comfortable.

The sunset view from the room was pure magic. And waking up at the first sun rays was excellent.

The breakfast was spartan, scrambled eggs and sausages, yoghurt and some fruit.

Very friendly staff, and free outdoor parking. We were told that breakfast in the room was served at no extra charge. Free wifi too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor. But if you need to get a good sleep, you may prefer a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with a friend. Good service, breakfast a little on the basic side. We had a twin room with ensuite and the room was very generously proportioned and spotlessly clean. Also the furnishings were good and not tatty. Beds comfortable and we slept so well. As this hotel is close to a train stop, you could stay here if you were visiting Lisbon, as it only takes 15mins to get into a central Lisbon location. Take the train in the opposite direction and you are in the picturesque small resort of Cascais, which has a beach, plus a few shops, cafes and many restaurants. Good value for money, especially in Winter, don't know what the summer rates are. I would stay again. Only one word of warning, the hotel is on a slight hill, so if you had any difficulties with hills you might find the short walk back to the hotel from the train station a little difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmclight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Sana Estoril in October for 4 nights. The weather wasn't all that great but we still enjoyed ourselves. This hotel is fab. The reception staff were very pleasant and I used them as my own personal tourist information centre and they were very helpful! Breakfast was very good, lots of choice but my husband was not impressed when the bacon dish was empty it was not refilled. This happened on 3 mornings. Our room was very nice and had a fab view over the bay. Very romantic. The hotel has a nice bar and on nice evenings it is possible to sit out and have a drink looking at the ocean. The pool was out of season so we didn't use it. The hotel is in a great position, near to the centre of Estoril and the train station. I love Estoril. This is the second time I have been and I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. Good views and the windows open too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#7 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Estoril Hotel

Property: SANA Estoril Hotel
Address: Avenida Marginal 7034 | Soc Hoteleira & Turistica, Estoril, Cascais 2765-270, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SANA Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located exactly in the centre of Estoril, SANA Estoril Hotel offers the ideal conditions for both leisure and business trips. Its privileged location on the Avenida Marginal, facing the beach, offers a fantastic view of the sea and the Coast of Estoril from the hotel. In the surrounding area there is also Estoril Casino and gardens, the Estoril Conference Centre, as well as numerous bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Just 20 minutes from Lisbon, from the SANA Estoril Hotel it is easy to navigate and get to know the whole Estoril Coast, which offers everything from good food to golf, nature, sea, culture, heritage and entertainment. With a warm and comfortable environment, SANA Estoril Hotel offers 97 rooms, accommodation with sea views, a swimming pool, terrace bar, panoramic breakfast room and a pleasant, totally renovated lounge. Two rooms also allow various kinds of meetings and events to be organised at SANA Estoril Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your SANA Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Estoril
Estoril Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing