We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for lovers of cakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastelaria Garrett

Pastelaria Garrett
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must for lovers of cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Tradition and style exude from this building. However the owners have not rested on their reputation and provide wonderful cakes and pastries. Not to be missed, and certainly a match for any establishment in London with a reputation for afternoon tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillS-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    155
    40
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming Pastelaria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This pastelaria is a gem. We only discovered it on our last morning as we needed sandwiches for our journey home. The choice of cakes and pastries was amazing in glass cabinets. You can stand at the counter and drink excellent coffee with your pastry. There is also a seating area. We ordered two sandwiches, a pastel nata and a savoury pastry. The cost was 8Euro and we were handed the most beautifu cardboard carrier bag, with their logo on the side and black cord/ribbon handles. The sandwiches were in separate boxes. I thought I had purchased some expensive jewellery, it was so lavish! Food and coffee excellent!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DracPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is just over the road from the Palacio Hotel and quickly became part of our afternoon schedule - take-out passion fruit or lemon cheesecakes and natas to be had with a cup of tea by the hotel pool. Every time the Palacio staff saw the PG bag they would always say "the best in Portugal". It is certainly hard to beat!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ginge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lofokat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfume on the salad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have many good experiences with this restaurant, but the last one was really unpleasant. The salad was apparently sprayed with perfume by the taste and smell of it. We first notified the waiter early on that the radishes had an unpleasant smell and bitter taste of perfume and he exchanged the radishes and we continued eating, with a little skepticism. Late on we found more ingredients with perfume and I sent the salad out. The waiter offered me a sandwich for compensation. But when the bill came, both the salad and the sandwich was there, and the manager told me that I had eaten too much of the salad to get any compensation- I also had to pay for the compensated sandwich! So, food was nasty, service really bad and the feeling that we were looked upon as "cheaters". I will not set foot in this place again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lofokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Very good bakery and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place is an icon in Estoril, we come here very often for breakfast, the omelette that they prepare is the best that you can ask for it, the service is fast and the waiters are very attentive, meanwhile the prices are a quite expensive. For lunch you also can have a ( Bitoque ) tipical portuguese dish , meat with a fried egg on top, excellent dish to order.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pastelaria Garrett also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pastelaria Garrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing