We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - just”
Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adequate - just”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A functional, somewhat 'tired' hotel in a very quiet residential area, 10 mins walk from the Casino and 15 mins from Tamariz Beach/Estoril station. I stayed four nights and it was adequate - just.

Staff were friendly enough even if without much initiative (an Iberian trait, me thinks). For instance a simple internet billing conundrum proved frustratingly difficult to resolve.

The public areas are generally in good condition but my room although clean, was clearly in need of some TLC. There was a whiff of damp with condensation present.

As it was unseasonably cool, leaving the balcony door open wasn't an option and there was no other window/vent. Paint flaking off the walls indicated this was a permanent issue... I peeked into a couple of other unoccupied rooms and they seemed on a par with mine.

I booked this place as part of a flight/hotel/car deal and in that respect I got good value; I also knew the local area which helped. But its stand-alone value is perhaps a little overrated. It is, after all, a large B&B.

Would I stay again? Yes but only if I had to; and I'd not consider it for a family stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    92
    119
    43
    21
See reviews for
53
144
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

It is a good 3 star hotel. Very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Was only on a B&B status, breakfast was adequate but no fruit except a few apples and and oranges. There is a snack bar and had a good cheese omelette and the hot chocolate is fine. Be warned, there is no alcohol at all and the nearest bar is about 10 minutes walk We found barman helpful, though he does seems to be doing it all by himself,..Staff were pleasant and the cleaning women did a very good job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the pool and garden, it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiddaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Having stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, we found this hotel to be very clean and adequatly comfortable, however, we were not very impressed with the very basic breakfast. The reception staff were all nice and helpful, however, the same could not be said for the barman. The fact that the bar did not serve alcohol didn't matter but after reading the very basic food menu we waited for more than 20 minutes for the barman to return to the bar. When we finally saw him again he was spinning a napkin on his finger above his head. He made no attempt to ask if we wanted anything. We gave up and found a wonderful restaurant nearby. I'd say for this rather basic hotel the price should be a little less.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Recently spent 8 nights at the lido hotel. Room was basic but clean, bed linen was immaculate and towels were clean and replaced daily. Pool area was fine with plenty of sun loungers though the 'snack bar' only sold alcohol free beer. Breakfast was basic and we found ourselves eating breakfast in a local cafe some mornings when we wanted to lie in. Hotel was in a residential area with several derelict houses nearby. 10 mins to tamariz beach and the railway station. Good location for cascais, train from estoril station to cascais cost €3 for a return ticket. Lots more bars and restaurants in Cascais compared to Estoril. Had lovely meals in the Jackpot Terrace restaurant opposite Estoril casino. Fridge in the room was not adequate for cooling drinks. Enjoyed a relaxing stay in Estoril,visiting SIntra, Cascais and spending days on the beach. Hotel was generally quiet although doors closing were rather noisy at night, our door was also rather stiff to close. Cleaners chatting loudly in the corridor outside our room in the mornings was annoying. We did experience loud neighbours above us at times. Overall we had a lovely holiday in Portugal and although there were some negatives our experience was mostly positive. We would visit Estoril again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curtis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hotel Lido is a fine hotel, with beautifully decorated modern rooms and an eye to detail. Just to be quirky and because my girlfriends favorite color is green we asked on special requests, we would like one of the rooms in green. When we arrived, the lady at the reception told us we have your green room ready for you. Little details. The breakfast is very nice, if you like coffee though use the percolated coffee and only use the machine for hot milk, trust me. The staff were nice, they speak English and Spanish, if Portuguese is not your first language. There is unlimited parking as the street outside is not controlled. The pool is fantastic. And so well kept, which leads me to say that everything about this hotel pushes it to 4 stars only for a few niggly bits but mainly it's location. If you have a car, well don't preoccupy. From the train station with suitcases it will take you walking up hill 20-25 mins, without 15-20. To get down with or without suitcases give or take 10 minutes. That would be the only negative thing I have to say about Hotel Lido. Apart from that great value for money, and besides the mountaineering every ascent and descent I kind of thoroughly enjoyed anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Valentine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Like the other reviews have said this hotel is cheap and cheerful. Its good value for what it is and is not pretending to be anything else. My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. We had a car with us and did plenty of exploring in the area so we simply used this hotel as a base as opposed to anything else. We lay by the pool when we arrived as it was late in the evening, it is fine but very noisy and no bar facility.You also need to have your own pool towels which we found disappointing. The room was clean, small and fairly basic, not the most comfortable bed! The breakfast was pretty lacking. A few different breads and cereals with scrambled egg. Every morning we came down for breakfast the egg was gone, and we were not late, understaffed and on the 2nd morning we had to have our breakfast standing up as all the tables were taken!
The hotel itself is located about a 5 min walk down to Estoril and the casino, so it is in a good location, but you would need a car to be going in to Cascais.
Friendly and efficient front desk staff. We paid €50/night so for this price it was good value and as much as we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We got a double room plus double sofa bed in a room next door for less than £60 for a night in August. Both rooms had balconies which overlooked the pool, gardens and had views out to sea.
The hotel is in a quiet residential street but it is a nice walk downhill to the casino and beach.
The breakfast is perfectly adequate (and was included) but the room gets very full and stuffy at peak time.
It has a good-sized pool, but I suspect you would want to use the bar and restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask for one which overlooks the back....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.2 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#3 of 17 in Estoril
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
SANA Estoril Hotel
SANA Estoril Hotel
#13 of 17 in Estoril
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sao Mamede
Hotel Sao Mamede
#10 of 17 in Estoril
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cidadela
Hotel Cidadela
#29 of 39 in Cascais
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Property: Hotel Lido
Address: Rua do Alentejo 12, Estoril, Cascais 2765-188, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1650 ft from the famous Estoril Casino, the Lido Hotel features an outdoor pool set within landscaped grounds. It offers spacious rooms with balconies, some offering coastline views. All air conditioned rooms feature parquet floors and a private bathroom with hairdryer. The beds have bedside lamps and there is also work desk in the room. Hotel Lido offers a 24-hour front desk desk and as well as a room service. Guests can soak up the sun on the grass-covered rooftop or enjoy a dip in the beautifully situated swimming pool. Estoril Train station, with direct services to Lisbon, is half a mile from the Lido and Tamariz Beach is only a 5-minute distance away. It provides secure private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing