We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, Poor, Poor”
Review of Hotel Smart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smart
Ranked #3 of 12 Estoril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

On a positive note it has a great location however there are several bad points to this property.Some health and safety issues, yogurt left unrefrigerated (temperature sensitive product) -clear disorganization during breakfast with guests having frequently to call staff for refills, extremely noise coffee machine ( horrible way to start the day) -in a hotel in Estoril having a staff member not speaking English, especially during the night shift working alone, is unacceptable -Rooms should have a fridge or at least the option to have a fridge, even if paying a daily charge, not having a fridge only reduces the already low value of staying in this hotel -while advertised in the page, the rule of closing the doors at 2 am can add stress to an holiday aimed to do exactly the opposite. Let's imagine that you re in Lisbon and at 1 am you decided to go back to the hotel, however you are stopped by the police in a routine stop operation. You will be later than 2 am...you try to call the hotel to inform and the person there does not speak any English!!!...you then are forced to sleep in the car...No thank you!!!! I had a second booking and I cancelled because I consider a waste of money to stay in this so called "hotel"

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PPin7o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Smart
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our last stop while in Portugal visiting the Cascais/Estoril area in July 2013. This was such a treasure - very charming, clean, with lovely manicured grounds and beautiful flowers and citrus trees and a nice pool. Pride of ownership is very evident here, owner has bird feeders everywhere which attracts lots of varieties of birds and their happy chirping. We stayed at Room 211 and wow, lovely high ceilings with loads of trim detail. Two large bright windows in the main area, you could fall asleep with the moon beaming in and during the day it was so bright. Also, the bathroom was very large and again another large window. Short walk to beach, boardwalk and restaurants. Breakfast was included and we found the staff very friendly. The only recommendation would be that the coffee/expresso machine be upgraded to something less noisy !! Excellent value ($60) and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsedreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location – a convenient 5-10 minute walk from Estoril Station, which has an efficient and cheap train service to Alges (the location of the Optimus Alive festival) and central Lisbon. There's not a lot to do in Estoril itself, but the beaches are nice and quite lively. The hotel and pool were immaculately clean and the garden was charming. Unfortunately we found the woman who runs the hotel to be extremely grumpy and unhelpful, but the rest of the staff were helpful when asked. Overall, a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paleogrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. And it deserves three stars by rating indeed. Rooms are very nice , well decorated.Beds are very comfortable to sleep, bathroom is not so big, but a very clean .
That's a family hotel, and all persons working there are very polite and ready to help . Breakfasts were very good. Three kinds of a local bread -white, dark bread like ciabata and croissans, big and tasty:) Boiled eggs, ham and cheesees . Three kinds of jam, honey, butter. fruits-apples, oranges and bananas. Coffee from coffeemachine was very good.-cappuchino[, americano, espresso, hot chocolate-quiet wide choice. Also location of the hotel is very good -only 10 min to the beach and to the railway station. 15- min walking to the Estoril Casino.and nightclub Jezebel.In Estoril there is starts promenad way to Cascais along the ocean -about 40 min walking. I can reccomend this hotel highly .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is very nice, it has everything you may need and we think it deserves 3 stars instead of only 2. Breakfast is very good and the lady who serves it is lovely and speaks perfect French. We didn't like the bed which was very hard and the fact you can hear everything that happens in the nearby rooms. The receptionists were not very friendly and didn't give us advice on restaurants and places to visit. Only the two younger ones speak some English, while the older man does not. All in all we had a nice stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Our room (202) had a sea view which was very nice
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Listed as hotel. Booked ahead by 3-4 weeks since it was the 1st night in the country. No hassles with booking.com. Free underground garage parking, people at desk until 2am, friendly staff, easy to get to/from Lisbon airport for first or last night stay, Easy to find with standard map. 2 blocks from main street in very quiet residential area. 2nd floor room had a distant view of ocean, was impeccably clean, and had large breakfast included, coffee from machine. Elevator to upstairs rooms. Free WiFi not tried. Total cost 45E in May. Could probably have booked same day.

Room Tip: Such a quiet neighborhood, there are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our first hotel for our stay in Portugal. Very charming, clean, beautiful ambience. Manicured grounds with beautiful flowers and citrus trees. Nice pool. Room (203) is large, but spartan furniture.Small balcony. No reading lights.Beds very hard, but we like that, some may not. Bathroom good size, large fluffy towels. Free underground parking is so nice...after having parking problems in the rest of Portugal. Also has elevator. Short walk to beach and boardwalk. Restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast included delicious breads, ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, yougert, cereals. Coffee was from a machine and a bit not to our taste. Staff friendly, but not well versed in how to answer tourist questions in the best way. Excellent value ($60) and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seawife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sao Mamede
Hotel Sao Mamede
#11 of 17 in Estoril
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smart

Address: Rua Maestro Lacerda 6 | nr Rua Viana 63, Estoril, Cascais 2765-239, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Estoril
Price Range: £33 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smart 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing