We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Watford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Room was a disappointment”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived early and our room was not ready, we decided to hang around and checked out the public areas of the hotel and we were most impressed. The terrace was very attractive with lovely furniture and some wooden structure used as sun shades. The swimming pool was clean and well kept. The lounge area was beautifully decorated with lovely sofas and light fittings to match, one can only imagine a lot time, money and effort has been spent on these areas. However we were given a room on the first floor which we were disappointed with. The room was on the small side, the carpet was old and stained, the bathroom and the room really in need of updating. We did request a room on the higher floors when we booked a long time ago but didn't materialised, most of the rooms have balconies but we didn't get one of those either! We would have given this hotel a higher rating if our room wasn't a disappointment. As they say don't judge the book by its cover. We would like to point out all the staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    212
    83
    22
    11
See reviews for
57
269
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel and feel very mislead. I was put on the first floor which I recommend you never stay on! The carpet has SO many stains, the fridge smells like sour milk, the linens and chairs look as so old. I would NEVER recommend you stay in this hotel! Trust me, if there is a chance you could get these rooms you will be greatly disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanDevoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We did booking before 6 month for 17 nights and we didn't disappointed. We lived in ocean-view room at 6 floor. Very good service room, cleaning, friendly staff. Nice location, pleasant square near hotel. My son loved to buy a cake for breakfast in "Zenith" cafe. Minuses - small room and monotonous breakfast menu.
But anyway I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlegGudovanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We opted for the romantic package and it was everything we asked for. Rose petals on the bed, in the bathroom and even in the bath! So romantic! We had a lovely welcome basket of fruit and biscuits. Our view (on the 6th floor) faced Cascais and the beach, which was breathtaking. Our room was fully functional, compact, clean and tidy. Staff were so helpful, especially when we booked in. A lovely lady informed us of the optional places to visit in the area, the best beaches and gave us maps and guides for the area too.
It's quite an ascending walk to the hotel if you arrive by train but the location is excellent.
If you want to explore the local area around the hotel then please do so! There are some wonderful restaurants in the backstreets north of the hotel (heading south leads to the promenade restaurants that are a tad samey). We had some of our best meals in the local town and not along the promenade leading to Cascais,
Cascais is a very picturesque place but has a pretty decent assortment of bars and restaurants. It's only a 10-15 minute walk away, depending on you pace, but it's a very nice walk along the coast line.
The pool at the hotel was very clean and maintained. But we preferred the beaches by far.
The beaches (plenty to choose from) were also very well looked after (you're looking at about 7 Euros per person for a sunbed and umbrella for the day) which we were happy to pay.
Bars and restaurants stand just behind the beach if you fancy a bite to eat or a drink.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here at the hotel. No complaints at all!!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooms. They have the best views by far which are quite beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsybetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have been visiting the Estoril coast since the early1970s when I first came as a child. It is pleasantly remarkably unchanged, and still retains an old world charm.

The Hotel is small around 40 rooms or so, but is quite personal, and inviting, with a local bakers and coffee shop attached to it, where they sell lovely cakes and the locals meet.
It is situated in a charming spot, opposite a tranquil garden, and near to several local restaurants and two friendly local bars, Ray's and Busby's owned by their respective owners for more than 50 years.
Monte Estoril is quite hilly and unsuitable for those with trouble walking, although the Hotel Saboia is ideally located on a relatively flat area, with the beach and the train line just 5 minutes walk.
It is an ideal base for exploring Lisbon, just a 30 minute train ride, and the World heritage site of Sintra, which can be reached by the local bus, outside Ray's Bar.

There is also Estoril's Casino the biggest in Europe which hosts impressive shows, and artists, along with several restaurants, and is about far more than gambling.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, although may not be possible in peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simondinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just returned from a great holiday. The hotel was wonderful ( yes, the carpet in our room could be renewed!). The room was fine - very comfortable bed and lots of storage, although had to be a bit inventive at times. Lovely balcony and sea view and, although I am a light sleeper, no noise at night. In a lovely residential area with some good restaurants nearby- Cozinha do Mar is up the hill from the mini market and has lovely fresh fish dishes and tertulia do monte, further along from the mini market is a lovely 'last night of the holidays' place to eat. The staff were AMAZING! They were so friendly and helpful and went that extra mile to answer our questions and provided information, timetables etc. The hotel is ideally situated near the little train station and 40 mins to Lisbon city centre. If you are visiting Belem, the train does not stop here. You have to go to Cais do Sodre and then come back or change at Oeiras. A lovely walk to Cascais along the promenade or to Estoril. Great buffet at the casino! The pool area was lovely and there is a really nice seating area just above too. The breakfast was plentiful and there was a little coffee shop in the hotel too. Round the corner there was a lovely supermarket/ delicatessen( an orange building) which sold a great variety of food and drink. The local bus for Sintra leaves just across the road from it too.We had a great, relaxing break and would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have sea views but from 3rd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 8 nights in the Saboia Estoril Hotel in late June. We had a 6th floor room with an excellent sea view. Cascais was visible to the right and the distant green-flashing lighthouse in the Tagus estuary could be seen to the left, at night.

All members of staff, managed by Alexandra, were extremely professional and friendly. Antonio deserves a special mention ... Antonio organised and served breakfast very competently, and despite being “run off his feet” he ensured that we had a great breakfast every day – cereals, various breads/pastries, cold ham and cheese as well as scrambled eggs with bacon and sausages. However, it was best to have breakfast before 8.45 to avoid overcrowding and the need to wait for food to be replenished. Thanks Antonio !

The rooms were smallish but adequate with very good en-suite facilities. The only omission was a full-length mirror in the sleeping section. The free wi-fi was perfect in our room (and even beside the pool) which we found to be a very useful facility.

The pool area was peaceful with comfortable recliners, and there was a higher-level patio area with cushioned sun-beds and chairs and tables. The hotel lounge was elegant, with a selection of books to read. There was also a small bar and a room with a computer and a printer – very useful for printing out our return Boarding Cards. The Zenith café (integral with the Saboia Hotel building) was superb for a tea or coffee along with a typical pastel de nata (about 1.5 euros each).

The Saboia’s location was ideal, being about 7 minutes walk from Monte Estoril station on the Lisbon-Cascais train line. Nearby here was a local park (sometimes with market stalls), a small supermarket, a nice jeweller's where we bought silver earrings and one or two restaurants. Also a “Pound Shop” and a cheap take-away - if you were desperately hungry ... as we were after our Sintra excursion !

We preferred to walk to Cascais to eat – about 15 minutes on foot. We liked the Flecha Azul (Blue Arrow) restaurant on Avenida Valbom, which leads down from Cascais station. Here you can enjoy the bread-and-fish-paste starter, 2 main courses, a [sealed] bottle of wine [5 euros], ... and still get some change out of 30 euros. For us, the Flecha Azul was autêntica cozinha Portuguesa … three brothers running the restaurant with the mum cooking huge and delicious portions. And the option to eat inside or out ... with sun and street-views.
We are not “penny-pinchers”, but on a self-planned holiday, evening meals at more than 30 euros for two makes you think that the old-fashioned “package with evening meal” (if still available cheaply!) or “self-catering” may be “better bets” in a time of recession.

You could, of course, try the highly-rated Tertulia do monte restaurant (avenida saboia Estoril) but you pay almost double for tasty but smallish portions, with house wine costing 10.5 euros … and not as potable as the Flecha Azul’s vinho tinto !

The Saboia was very handy for days-out. The bus to Sintra was 4.15 euros single – and the bus stop is only 75 meters from the hotel. The train to Lisbon from Cascais or Monte Estoril is 2.15 euros (adult), 1.15 euros (65+). With regards to Lisbon City Tours, we chose to do the Yellow Bus rather than the Red Bus tour of Lisbon – because the Yellow Bus is run by Carris and their 48-hour ticket can be used on all Lisbon trams and buses, which is a useful bonus.

Final notes … the management at the Saboia discovered that my wife was having her 60th while we were staying, so they left a nicely-chilled bottle of “Bubbly” in our room ... very much appreciated. And on leaving, Alexandra warned us about the greve geral (general strike) on 27th of June … our flight day. She was right! We were delayed 11 hours, and our suitcases were delivered to our address 5 days after arriving home [because no luggage was loaded onto the planes]. Fortunately, both our cases arrived intact, so no problem. Significantly, this strike went almost unreported in the English press.
Would we go to the Saboia again? – Most certainly we would– we can’t wait !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeePaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estoril Eden Hotel
Estoril Eden Hotel
#8 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboia Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboia Estoril Hotel

Property: Saboia Estoril Hotel
Address: Rua de Belmonte 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-398, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saboia Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saboia Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboia Hotel Estoril
Estoril Saboia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing