We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to start?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our second visit this year (stayed in June ) On the first occasion we had a room on the 3rd floor overlooked by the block of flats next door... forget privacy unless you keep the night curtain closed!!
This recent trip was much much better.603 on the top floor was well above the block of flats and had a magnificent view across the harbour towards Cascais and the Marina from the balcony.The bathroom was modern, if compact, as was wardrobe space....store suitcases on floor of wardrobe, there's plenty of room there. TV channels limited but choice being widened as we left (19th)..but who wants umpteen TV channels when on holiday?
The breakfast waiter, Antonio, was always busy, but took time to seat us at a table with ,proper chairs ( both arthritic!) Sometimes we had to wait a few minutes but he took time to make certain we got a suitable table. He brought a teapot of of boiling water for teabags and generally made us comfortable. Thanks for that Antonio!
Some guests had gargantuan appetites and hot food (bacon/scrambled eggs) disappeared almost as soon as put out. They were, I presume, unused to buffet breakfast etiquette..
Usual Portuguese offerings...bread rolls, some pastries,ham,cheese, jams... fresh fruit came and went like the hot food.!
Tip...go early.ie before 8am it is less of a bunfight.
Front of house staff were really helpful and the Manageress charming to all guests. There was an area power cut at 17,30 on Friday and she gave port to those who lingered in the lounge area rather that walk umpteen stairs to an unlit room (with a torch). Light was restored at 19,00 so lift became operational... we had wandered up to Ray's bar for a bottle of wine by candlelight..very Hernando's hideaway.Good fun all round...
The terrace area has a choice of seating ranging from 'armchairs' to recliners as well as loungers around the pool..popular with younger guests.It is well worth a visit,and it is only a short walk to either Estoril or Cascais, about 10 mins...Train to Lisboa from Monte Estoril station is a few minutes down the hill from the hotel(past taxi rank) and costs about 2,50 euros each way.
If you are looking for a hotel in this area the Saboia is a must, in our opinion

Room Tip: sea view rooms are more expensive, but attractive.. the rooms on 4th floor up are best, and quietes...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delilah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Saboia Estoril Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great find at a good price for a last minute booking. We used this as a base for visiting city centre (30 mins by train). Excellent location just 5 minutes from the rail station and promenade/beach. The hotel room was clean and well presented and they had a lovely outdoor area next to the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great service in a beautiful setting. We ordered the romantic package with champagne and roses in our room. We enjoyed morning breakfast and spending time poolside. It was an overall delightful experience and I would definitely go there again. We took a day trips to Lisbon and Sintra which were each about 30 mins away. Oh and our favorite bar in all of Portugal was right around the corner: Rays Bar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in this hotel. The service got better.
But it still misses the cleanness. The carpets are very dirty and smelly. But the kindness of the hotel staff is worth mentioning twice. They are really helpful and always ready to help you with anything.

Good location: not too far from the beach and Cascais.

Breakfast : not bad but still miss the good coffee. The seats are not comfortable and there is not much place for everybody.
Solution : get rid of the big uncomfortable seats and replace them by chairs.

Pool is really nice as well. A big plus if you don't like to go the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pistache0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were 5 couples staying at Saboia for 4 nights. The hotel is located in Monte Estoril, somewhere between Estoril and Cascais. It's an easy 5 min walk down to the beach, 10 min walk to Estoril centre and another 15 min walk to Cascais.

There are limited parking possibilities at the hotel, but a short walk down to the railway station. There are just a few restaurants in the neighborhood. They are rather small and intimate, and none deserves a Michelin star!

Our welcoming at the hotel was very pleasant and promising. There are 48 rooms altogether. The hotel says to have oceanview. I don't know where that might be, maybe a few rooms at the top floor. Our view was to a backyard were they kept the rubbish!

All our rooms were small - too small for two people. It is almost no place to place two suitcases, and not enough space to hang your clothes. Our bathroom had several broken tiles, but everything was working! The small fridge never got cold, because it did not get power when you took your card from the holder and left the room. The floor is covered with a dirty looking carpet.

There is no restaurant i the hotel, just a breakfast room and a sort of kafeteria. The breakfast room is to small when the hotel is fully booked. The tables are too small for 4. That means you often have to wait for a free table.

The staff, in particular the reception, is, as almost everywhere in Portugal, very friendly and serviceminded.

The hotel got a Certificate of Excellence i 2012, so obviously several people have a different opinion than I have.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconys. Try to get a room facing the pool and the sea. The higher you get, the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this Hotel is great - beautiful coffee shop attached, most pleasant staff. Some nice shops and restaurants close by. The staff in the Hotel were excellent especially the head waiter for breakfast - bringing me a beautiful teapot of HOT BOILED water each morning - with a smile! The breakfast menu could improve. More fruit and choice of cereal is needed. Main areas and pool area very impressive BUT our room on the 1st floor needs updating big time. I would go back to this hotel but only if our room had sea view, and hopefully breakfast menu will have improved. Bernadette Kiely Ireland

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view and balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 121carrig13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived early and our room was not ready, we decided to hang around and checked out the public areas of the hotel and we were most impressed. The terrace was very attractive with lovely furniture and some wooden structure used as sun shades. The swimming pool was clean and well kept. The lounge area was beautifully decorated with lovely sofas and light fittings to match, one can only imagine a lot time, money and effort has been spent on these areas. However we were given a room on the first floor which we were disappointed with. The room was on the small side, the carpet was old and stained, the bathroom and the room really in need of updating. We did request a room on the higher floors when we booked a long time ago but didn't materialised, most of the rooms have balconies but we didn't get one of those either! We would have given this hotel a higher rating if our room wasn't a disappointment. As they say don't judge the book by its cover. We would like to point out all the staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated and has a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#6 of 17 in Estoril
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Estoril Eden Hotel
Estoril Eden Hotel
#7 of 17 in Estoril
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboia Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboia Estoril Hotel

Address: Rua de Belmonte 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-398, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range: £43 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saboia Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Saboia Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboia Hotel Estoril
Estoril Saboia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing