We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A budget hotel, but with drawbacks.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saboia Estoril Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A budget hotel, but with drawbacks.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were looking for a reasonable hotel for a quick week away, but the price had its drawbacks, so decide what is important to you and pay accordingly.
Our room was 103-, when we saw the room, it was instant disappointment. All the rooms are really small, even the expensive ones- to put this into context, there was only about 2 and a half foot of space from the bed to the surrounding walls and this space had to accomodate 2 suitcases and hand luggage on the floor.
It also meant there was only room for one bedside locker and the space between the two single beds was about one foot- as mentioned in previous posts, the room was too small for 2 people.
The carpet was really stained- you could not miss it and this is not acceptable, whatever the price, - when we mentioned this, it was almost denial of the problem and we were advised that they would ask the chambermaid to re- hoover it- missing the point entirely.
The curtains and bedding had definately seen better days, old and shabby.
Now you may think , well, we will be out all day, do these things matter if the price is good?, but the room was a depressing place to return to after a lovely day out.
We tried to pay to upgrade from our first night, but advised that the hotel was full, so that was not an option.
We did get to see the good rooms- 5th and 6th floor- yes, fabulous views and renovated rooms, but still small, other customers in these rooms were complaining about this. They may not represent good value if you have paid top price- do your research.
On the positives- great location, for the train to Lisbon, beach, Cascais and bus to Sintra. Free internet, free security boxes.
Also note, there is no restaurant in the hotel, only for breakfast, otherwise you use the pastry shop on the ground floor, and no bar, although the receptionist will serve a limited selection of drinks.
So- poor room quality, no restaurant and no bar, meant no atmosphere , some staff great, others not so good. Would we stay here again- no

Room Tip: try for 5th and 6th floors- avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    204
    80
    21
    11
See reviews for
54
263
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very good position of the hotel for seeing the whole area. The distance to the railwaystation is 300m. There are many trains to Lisbon.Cascais and Estoril are within a 10-minute walk away and offer a range of restaurants and bars.
Breakfast is good, the staff is very helpfull en friendly. The room was eighter small. Price/quality is very good.

Room Tip: very good located hotel fot visiting Lisbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARC en LUT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel.
The position of the hotel is just perfect for seeing the whole area.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is very attractive in decoration ,both inside and out in the garden.
Our room was fine, and the view was lovely, although the rooms without a balcony are not as good and the windows are much smaller.
There are enough restaurants around, so you do not have to go into Cascais if you are too tired from walking around!
There are some lovely parks in the area.We also visited Lisbon twice and caught the bus to Sintra from just across the road.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd to6th floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Let's start with the positives: good staff, impressive public rooms and pool area, outstanding buffet breakfast, pleasant location, easy access to Cascais by foot or rail. The few negatives: the bedroom carpet had definitely seen better days, the bathroom door would not close properly, the blackout curtain did not fit and there were no tea/coffee-making facilities in the bedroom. Overall, though, we enjoyed our three night stay and at just 42 Euros a night it was fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room as you get sun on the balcony most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This place was a great find just 15mins walk along the coastal path to Cascais. Less than 5 mins walk from Monde de Estoril railway station. Great room, great breakfast and the staff were all very attentive. We wanted to stay a few more nights but they were already full.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oscarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This place was really a nice surprise. It has a nice modern style both in the rooms and especially in the lobby, it was clean and had everything we wanted, location was OK (15 minutes walk to the centre of Cascais) breakfast was OK, and we got a spectacular price for two nights. Nice extra is the "pastelaria"/bakershop/coffeeshop on the groundfloor that is open to the public and where a hotelguest simply walks in from the hotellobby. Great stuff and good atmosphere. Excellent service all-over. Tricky bit is the parking, the hotel has only 7 free spaces, there is quite some (paid) free space in the streets surrounding the hotel but there is never a guarantee.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (floors 5 and 6) have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and I have to say I was impress, the location was about a 10 minutes walk to Cascais, didn't even have to drive the whole time, great breakfast and after a long day it was good to just kick back in the room and watch English tv shows like National Geographic or the History or Discovery channels, service was great and a five minute walk to the beach area and free WI-FI was a plus to stay connected.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sockeye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#7 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboia Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboia Estoril Hotel

Property: Saboia Estoril Hotel
Address: Rua de Belmonte 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-398, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saboia Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saboia Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboia Hotel Estoril
Estoril Saboia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing