We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible dirty rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saboia Estoril Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrible dirty rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We were initially given a room without a balcony. Transferred to another room with balcony. View was terrible ..old rubbish and broken junk piled up . Room carpet and bedding was dirty and stained.
We found somewhere else to stay and checked out but were still charged for 3 nights !!
The reception , breakfast,lounge and pool areas are all lovely but what a letdown with dirty smelly rooms.Avoid at all costs !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kazjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    204
    80
    21
    11
See reviews for
54
263
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delemont, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Clean, good hotel, way over my expectations since it was actually quite cheap. Decent breakfast and a pretty pool. In all a not very special hotel but it is still very good. Close to the train station (uphill..) and a ten minutes walk from Cascais, 25 minutes with train to Lisbon and 5 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate her Birthday , we found the staff so friendly and the rooms small but very clean, the breakfast room where you have your continental breakfast we found the tables were slow to be cleared and we had to ask for things that were not replenished, some of the seating is lounge type and are not satisfactory, although the hotel is very clean and friendly it has one big draw back if you are a person with weak legs or heart troubles this hotel is not for you as from the nearest rail station Monte Estoril it is all up hill for 300 mtrs with steps as well, its a pity this hotel was not built lower down the hill, it is possible to take a taxi from Estoril station 900mts away for 6 euros, special mention must go to Patricia on reception she is a star and very helpful,

Room Tip: Upper floors 4-5-6 sea view have spectacular views, your fellow travelers seem to have no thought fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We've just had a brilliant week at this hotel and can't recommend it highly enough for excellent value, charming and helpful staff (with very good English), super location and clean, pleasant rooms. Yes, the latter may be smaller than some, but, hey, how large do you need them to be?! This was a return visit to the hotel after 4 years and it's just got better and better. The breakfast room is really smart now and the food and service there of a high standard. The pastries, like all in Portugal, are delicious! Unfortunately the pool wasn't yet warm enough to swim but sitting around it was very pleasant in the sun. Our only small criticism was the gym which only had 3 pieces of equipment, one of which didn't work - but this is probably not important for most holiday makers! The walk along the sea front is less than 10 minutes away and walking along the seafront to Cascais and stopping at one of the beach restaurants for fresh grilled sardines and vinho was one of our highlights. Trains into Lisbon are frequent and cheap, but beware, the ticket machine at Monte Estoril station doesn't always work, so a pleasant 10 minute walk to the next stop where there is a ticket office as well as a machine is sometimes necessary. The bus trip from just outside the hotel to Sintra is well worth it - €4.30 return for a 35 min journey. Hotel reception will give you the timetable. From Sintra Station you can pick up the 434 circular tourist bus to the historic centre and National Palace, Moorish Castle and Pena Palace. It's Hop On/Off for €5 all day.

We visited Monte's Bistro and Cozinha Do Mar restaurants both very close to the hotel and found them good. The latter has exceptional fresh fish, beautifully cooked and served. One of the waiters speaks good English too.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view room as high as possible with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SNJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were looking for a reasonable hotel for a quick week away, but the price had its drawbacks, so decide what is important to you and pay accordingly.
Our room was 103-, when we saw the room, it was instant disappointment. All the rooms are really small, even the expensive ones- to put this into context, there was only about 2 and a half foot of space from the bed to the surrounding walls and this space had to accomodate 2 suitcases and hand luggage on the floor.
It also meant there was only room for one bedside locker and the space between the two single beds was about one foot- as mentioned in previous posts, the room was too small for 2 people.
The carpet was really stained- you could not miss it and this is not acceptable, whatever the price, - when we mentioned this, it was almost denial of the problem and we were advised that they would ask the chambermaid to re- hoover it- missing the point entirely.
The curtains and bedding had definately seen better days, old and shabby.
Now you may think , well, we will be out all day, do these things matter if the price is good?, but the room was a depressing place to return to after a lovely day out.
We tried to pay to upgrade from our first night, but advised that the hotel was full, so that was not an option.
We did get to see the good rooms- 5th and 6th floor- yes, fabulous views and renovated rooms, but still small, other customers in these rooms were complaining about this. They may not represent good value if you have paid top price- do your research.
On the positives- great location, for the train to Lisbon, beach, Cascais and bus to Sintra. Free internet, free security boxes.
Also note, there is no restaurant in the hotel, only for breakfast, otherwise you use the pastry shop on the ground floor, and no bar, although the receptionist will serve a limited selection of drinks.
So- poor room quality, no restaurant and no bar, meant no atmosphere , some staff great, others not so good. Would we stay here again- no

Room Tip: try for 5th and 6th floors- avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very good position of the hotel for seeing the whole area. The distance to the railwaystation is 300m. There are many trains to Lisbon.Cascais and Estoril are within a 10-minute walk away and offer a range of restaurants and bars.
Breakfast is good, the staff is very helpfull en friendly. The room was eighter small. Price/quality is very good.

Room Tip: very good located hotel fot visiting Lisbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARC en LUT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel.
The position of the hotel is just perfect for seeing the whole area.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is very attractive in decoration ,both inside and out in the garden.
Our room was fine, and the view was lovely, although the rooms without a balcony are not as good and the windows are much smaller.
There are enough restaurants around, so you do not have to go into Cascais if you are too tired from walking around!
There are some lovely parks in the area.We also visited Lisbon twice and caught the bus to Sintra from just across the road.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd to6th floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.4 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboia Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboia Estoril Hotel

Property: Saboia Estoril Hotel
Address: Rua de Belmonte 1, Estoril, Cascais 2765-398, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saboia Estoril Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Saboia Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboia Hotel Estoril
Estoril Saboia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing