We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely spacious apartment, bit dated but in general good value”
Review of Clube Do Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clube Do Lago
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hugely spacious apartment, bit dated but in general good value”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one-bed 'suite' style apartment in Clube do Lago facing pool. Apartment was very spacious, v comfy kingsize bed, great balcony, kitchenette - all a bit dated & could do with an upgrade but once we got used to it we loved it as was so airy & spacious. if i was to be critical at all, shower was straight from the 80s.. shower curtain and only an attachment head. water pressure was good though and it did the job but really the bathroom could do with a full upgrade. It is a good walk in and out to Cascais but we welcomed this to walk off food! If you want somewhere family friendly with lots of space it's perfect. If you want somewhere really modern and in the heart of Cascais - Clube do Lago may not be for you..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcarroll07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    80
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
63
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a seven night stay in this hotel. We were very impressed with it's high standard. The whole place looks newly decorated and is sparkling clean. Our room was large and very spacious with a well equipped kitchenette and large comfortable twin beds. We also had a good size balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area was very pretty with plenty of pretty plants and a waterfall. There was never any trouble getting a sun bed no matter what time we went to the pool but there was a shortage of parasols. I think a few more wouldn't go amiss as fair skinned people cannot sit out in the sun without shade.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us great advice in planning our trips to Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon. There is a lovely tea room and bakery attached to the hotel where we relaxed a few afternoons with a coffee and cake. The area around the hotel seems to be a wealthy well kept area and is very quiet. There is a train station and bus stop quite near the hotel. We walked along the promenade to Cascais most nights where there are plenty of restaurants to suit every taste. The walk back is very tiring as it is uphill to the hotel but if you are fit it is no problem but there are plenty of taxis if you are feeling tired.

We did a bit of touring and spent a day in Lisbon which is only 30 minutes away by train and we also spent a day in Sintra which is 30 minutes away by bus.

We definitely would have no problem in recommending this hotel to family and friends and would hope to return ourselves sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great service and prompt staff. Spacious rooms with a nice kitchenette. Very clean. However, it is a bit dated. I've stayed there for the first time in 1995 when it was called Clube Mimosa. It seems that certain aspects of this hotel are stuck in time. The beds are very basic and noisy. Not very comfortable. Breakfast very basic also. Overall, just a decent place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from 10 nights staying at Clube Do Lago. The hotel itself is clean with good facilities but unfortunately the location lets it down. The rooms are nice and large and include a small kitchenette. The bathroom is reasonable with shower attachment, bath, WC & bidet.

The room was kept clean and the staff were, on the whole, friendly. The location is near the top of a hill and is a bit of a slog, especially after a day out sightseeing. The hotel is also positioned on a fairly busy intersection so if you are in an outside room there is a lot of road noise especially as the roads are cobbled.

The pavements around also have a lot of dog muck about which i don't think is down to bad dog owners but due to the dogs we saw in the evenings just wandering the streets.

There are a couple of nice restaurants around in Monte Estoril but not much else. For a bit more going on walk to Cascais along the beach which will take you about 20 mins and is a nice walk day or night.

A word of warning about the restaurants/cafes. Most of them automatically bring you bread and olives when you sit down. Average price for these is 2 euros p/p. If you do not want to pay for them tell them you do not want them when they bring them. It is also a good idea to ask how much they charge for a beer as prices vary greatly from one place to another. cheapest we paid in a restaurant was 2.30 euros for 0.5 L and 5 euros for 0.4L in a bar.

On the whole a nice stay and Lisbon is a great place to visit but allow at least 2/3 days. Also visit the Pena Palace and the Moorish castle in Sintra.

Would i recommend this hotel? Only if you have an inside room (facing the pool) and a car or you are reasonably fit for the walking.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chalexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzau, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent 7 days in this hotel from the 21 to the 28 of August.The area is beautiful , refined , clean , full of museums , theatres , restaurants and parks .We moved between Cascais and Estoril by walking along the beach .The beach is narrow ,sometimes with rocks but it is very clean , the water is clear but very cold .Everybody is jogging , walking or just enjoying a cup of coffee on the many terraces and restaurants situated along the beach .The hotel itself is very nice , clean , it has a small pool ouside , a small gym .I cannot say many things about the hotel because we didnt spend a lot of time there .We woke uo in the morning , had breakfast and then went ouside to discober the area .Breakfast here is nice , not too many things to say about it .One minus or observation is the fact that they don t serve real eggs , they serve egg powder scrambled eggs .Another one would be , I didn t mind , bt my husband did, is that the staff are not used to using the basic courteosy formulas , we usually said good morning or anything else .They just sit down at the desk, look busy or not , and ignore you even if it is a 4 star hotel and politeness is mandatory .Some of them are barely speaking English .The hotel is situated on a hill so there is a lot of walking to do , you don t need to go to the gym anymore .It is more difficult upon return because you have to walk up steep roads , very charming and picturesque but we didn t mind .If you are physically challenged , or cannot walk long distances , don t come here , choose a hotel closer to the beach ,The buildings are beautiful , in different architectural styles belonging to different centuries .I can fairly say that I did not see an ugly building while staying here .We took the train and went to Lisbon which is beautiful .There we took a touring bus which took us aroung the city and we visited the ocenarium .The ride with the train is 30 minutes and it costs 6 euros , I think.Overall the area is nice, charming and peaceful .If you come for the nightlife , this is not the place for you as it is very quiet .We had lunch and dinner at the restaurants on the beach and fish was the king for 7 days .The prices are pretty fair , 28 euros for a plate of grilled fish for 2 .If you go to restaurants or bar not close to the beach , I think the prices are cheaper .We found a tapas bar, Tapas do Monte and we ate there 2 evenings and the food was really nice , small plates with cheese , seafood , or veal , depending on what you chose , red wine , sparkling white wine , and I think we paid less but everything was nice and fresh .On the beach restaurants , I think seafood is overated , 5o euros and up to 70 euros if you chose lobster but it is up the individual taste .Overall the whole experience was exquisite , I loved Portugal and I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mirela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A great hotel for a great price. It takes about 15 min downhill to the Congress center, so it is not for anyone who does not like to walk. But than again neither is Portugal.
The rooms are actually apartments. They are clean andvery big with a living room, kitchen, sleeping room, bathroom and big balcony. They are a bit old but still look very good.
A very quiet street
The hotel staff is nice and helpfull.
The internet works only in the lobby.
The breakfast is ok, but not a big variety of food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kejt0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.4 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#3 of 17 in Estoril
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#4 of 17 in Estoril
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Estoril Eden Hotel
Estoril Eden Hotel
#7 of 17 in Estoril
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#8 of 17 in Estoril
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Do Lago

Property: Clube Do Lago
Address: Avenida do Lago, Estoril, Cascais 2765-420, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estoril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#4 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clube Do Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clube Do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Do Lago Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing