We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old days are over...adapt a bit (please)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old days are over...adapt a bit (please)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

One of the old gems - traditional 5 star with lots of style and old elevators - charming service with good food and and EXCELLENT bar - take some cocktails there, its really worth it. For the rest are the rooms as expected - the Junior Suite has a little living room - good and big enough to stay some days - everything is working fine, dont expect the latest tastes and designs and brandnew indoor entertainment but do expect a good classical hotel with a good service for a VERY attractive price.
Situation of the hotel is very good, polite staff and ok breakfast, the only point disappointing is the pool area which does not get a cleanup in the morning, nobody knows why... the chairs are just sometimes really dirty, cant say it different, pool service with food and drinks are ok again, why do have ashtrees to be there for 2 days and not getting replaced? why are they not taking a stretch housse to put on your chairs etc ?
some good questions.. would be EASY to adapt to international levels with just changing a few small things... !! just a little cleaning in the morning and putting away all the cups/glasses etc from the night and it would be tiptop !

for the rest - good and because of the price/quality really a place to go again....
top are the bartenders who can play with their cocktail skills - maybe because a few seem to be there for a very long time and i had the impression that some is working there since 40 years and more - charming !

Almost forgot : the Banyan Tree Spa service is a MUST do to - you get a 20 percent discount and the Service is outstanding !

Room Tip: must visit BAR for a cocktail must visit Banyan Tree Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    168
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
134
417
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed there this weekend and loved every aspect of it. Staff are courteous, rooms are comfortable, room cleaning twice a day when we were out with no disturbance. Breakfast is more than ample, varied and again staff is fantastic. Didn't realise before we came that most European royal families visited there over the years. We loved the reading areas with clock ticking..and the cute colonial style bar. Swimming pool area is lovely. There are two restaurants, the one in the front is superb, seriously the best Portuguese dining in high style, wine is well chosen, the waiters guess what you want before you ask. One thing was disappointing, the hairdryer affixed to the wall in the bathroom is below the hotel class. The spa is great but only 10 people from the hotel are allowed at any one time, so in high season you can expect to turned down and put on the waiting list. Overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just had a week there and we have had an excellent holiday. The whole place is so relaxing and perfect. It is very elegant and classy. Our room was tastefully decorated with a very nice marble bathroom and stocked with Molton Brown products. The bed was very comfortable. We went back to our room and found a very chocolate and the next days weather forecast, what a nice touch! Amazing views of the pool and the coast from our room.
The breakfasts are amazing, so much choice and everything freshly served.
We ate in Cascais, we found superb restaurants at good prices off trip adviser while we were there.
Palacio Estoril is very much a 5* hotel. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: choose a room with a pool view as rooms on the front of the hotel look onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Ann33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borås, Sverige
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The whole place is perfect. All functions is friendly and great, BUT they need to get a new chef in the restaurant. Overpriced food - really not what you could expect from a place like this. SHAME !!!!!!!!!!
Luckily the concierge seemed to know about this so he sent me to a nearby village Cascais, for a lovely meal in a fish restaurant - Baia do Peixe, Don't miss that place
They made my trip complete

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svante H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home after a really wonderful, relaxing, luxurious stay in this stunning hotel.

A big thank you to Unman for the upgrade to a Deluxe Palacio Suite which was out of this world!

The Hotel itself is magnificent with its timeless architecture and amazing attention to detail, you really feel you have gone back in time. Then you have the other end of the scale with the ultra modern Banyan Tree Spa which is connected to the hotel via a tunnel.

Banyan Tree has the best spa treatments and facilities I have ever seen, again would highly recommend.

Very surprised how reasonable the food was in the hotel, my husband had a 6 course dinner and I had a 5 course including 2 bottles of wine and this came to under £100.

We never like to go back to the same place twice, but I can honestly say we will be returning!

Thank you to everyone at the Palacio and Banyan Tree

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed during March 2014 for a few days. The hotel oozes class throughout. Staff were extremely helpful and very polite. Four Seasons restaurant was terrific and has left me wanting more. The room was tastefully decorated with marble bathroom, and stocked with Molton Brown products - "Very Nice".
Banyan Tree Spa very modern and comfortable. Excellent location, you can even walk to Cascais along the seafront promanade if you are feeling energetic. Will return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Fantastic location, distinguished mainly by absolutely excellent service. Swimming pool and beach at hand. The hotel restaurant is a very good options, but other restaurants are quite close to reach. Good food even at the bar. A paradise for golf lovers. Best place in Estoril.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.3 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing