We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is undoubtedly a superb hotel, harmonious, with lovely nooks and affable. The rooms are very spacious, balanced with everything we need to feel good. The breakfast room is lovely, overlooking the gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio54C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

There is a reason that this this hotel has 5 stars and that would be because they deserve them! A fabulous old place, this beauty is impeccably well maintained, every want and need has been thought of, service was promote and endless as well as friendly and helpful. Food and beverage all of superb quality! And a great jumping off place fro a variety of day trips! Yepper, back here in a red hot heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPC1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An amazing building in a fantastic location close to beaches, entertainment, nigh life and food. The classic styling and impeccable service of all the staff transport you back to the days where all that you needed was a tuxedo and cocktail to satisfy your needs. The hotel has well appointed lavishly sized rooms with excellent views of the private pool or beach. Staff are well trained and curious. Food is fantastic with an excellent selection of local produce.

If you are looking to visit Lisbon I highly recommend staying at the Palacio Estoril. Only a thirty minute train trip form Lisbon along the cost is worth it. The hotel is only a couple of minute by train and within walking distance of Cascais, a fantastic beach side town with fantastic shopping, beaches and surfing

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VisitTrenzalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a hotel with tradition and unfortunately one can see this a little bit too much. The rooms are ok with thick carpets and the furniture is very traditonal. The best at the breakfast was the Nespresso machine. The service is friendly. The fitness only opens at 8am - an absolute no go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As previous reviewers have stated, this is a classic hotel with a storied history. With that, you will have a "classic" experience as it pertains to the service and overall quality. We booked a junior suite which was nicely laid out with two ample sized rooms, great bathroom and balcony. The room was spotless and maintained that way throughout our stay. In fact, the housekeepers could not have been any nicer. The front desk staff was very pleasant and welcoming and the concierge was extremely helpful with our inquiries and eventual booking of a half-day/private driver journey to Sintra (which was great btw). The pool area was not at all crowded during our visit and was relaxing enough to catch a few winks during the afternoon. The one area of improvement was the pool lunch which we had one day....it was fairly pricey, (as expected), but the meal did not match up to the quality we experienced throughout the hotel. We thought the selection at breakfast, (which was complimentary with our rate), was ample enough, and the servers could not wait to assist and keep the strong Portuguese coffee flowing, (a benchmark for me). We enjoyed the quieter location of Estoril as we walked each evening along the beach boardwalk into the town of Cascais for dinner. When I hear a hotel described as "classic", I tend to run the other way, but in this case I am glad that we ran into the Palacio Estoril.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulNLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On day 1 our A/C didn't work it took a total of 3 trips to the front reception desk and a number of phone call to get them to even look at the problem. Eventually they had to move us as the A/C was broken in our room.
On day 2 we rushed down to breakfast and on returning noticed some of our clothes were gone, the hotel took responsibility for this, saying their housekeeping took the clothes. It's now been 6 days later and we travelled back 300 km disturbed our tour to get the clothes back and still we have no clothes no response from the hotel. I found the duty manager arrogant,condescending and unwilling to do anything. I am very upset with my experience as it has ruined my holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mariaannful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

One of the old gems - traditional 5 star with lots of style and old elevators - charming service with good food and and EXCELLENT bar - take some cocktails there, its really worth it. For the rest are the rooms as expected - the Junior Suite has a little living room - good and big enough to stay some days - everything is working fine, dont expect the latest tastes and designs and brandnew indoor entertainment but do expect a good classical hotel with a good service for a VERY attractive price.
Situation of the hotel is very good, polite staff and ok breakfast, the only point disappointing is the pool area which does not get a cleanup in the morning, nobody knows why... the chairs are just sometimes really dirty, cant say it different, pool service with food and drinks are ok again, why do have ashtrees to be there for 2 days and not getting replaced? why are they not taking a stretch housse to put on your chairs etc ?
some good questions.. would be EASY to adapt to international levels with just changing a few small things... !! just a little cleaning in the morning and putting away all the cups/glasses etc from the night and it would be tiptop !

for the rest - good and because of the price/quality really a place to go again....
top are the bartenders who can play with their cocktail skills - maybe because a few seem to be there for a very long time and i had the impression that some is working there since 40 years and more - charming !

Almost forgot : the Banyan Tree Spa service is a MUST do to - you get a 20 percent discount and the Service is outstanding !

Room Tip: must visit BAR for a cocktail must visit Banyan Tree Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range: £126 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing