We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but fell short of expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but fell short of expectations”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed a week at this hotel and had a mixed experience. The location of the hotel in Estoril is very good - it's just a few minutes walk to the beach and the train station. Lisbon is approx 30 minutes away by train and trains operate roughly every 12 minutes.

We booked our stay directly with the hotel by e-mail in February and requested a non-smoking room, as neither of us are smokers. On arrival we were given a room on the 5th floor, which is a smoking floor. I said that I had specifically asked for a non-smoking room and had received confirmation of this by e-mail from the hotel, but reception staff said that the room on the 5th floor was nicer than a non- smoking room, had a better view and we should try it. We were given the option to change if we wished. The room was a big disappointment - it didn't smell of smoke initially but smelt musty and the decoration was tired and drab. The room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. The view consisted of building rooftops and a small glimpse of the sea. It wasn't what you'd expect from a high class hotel. The following morning the smell of cigarette smoke from the bedroom next door came through to our room so we immediately asked to change rooms. This was done without a problem and we were given a lovely room on the 1st floor. It was of a much better standard than the 5th floor room - bigger with a huge bathroom, the decor was in excellent condition and it didn't have the musty smell of the 5th floor room. It left us wondering why the hotel assigned us a 5th floor room and encouraged us to take it in the first place.

One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was for the Banyan Tree spa and wellness centre, so we were very disappointed to find out that there was a problem with the facilities and the only thing available was spa treatments. We were looking forward to using the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath so it was a major disappointment to find that none of these were available (estimated reopen date is late June, after our stay). The facilities had been closed for a few weeks and as I had booked directly with the hotel in February, I complained that they should have informed us in advance that the facilities wouldn't be available. We had free cancellation for our stay and had we been informed, we would have cancelled and looked elsewhere in Estoril or Lisbon for a hotel with spa facilities. As compensation, the hotel gave us a complimentary dinner in the restaurant which we very much enjoyed, however would have preferred to have had the full range of spa facilities available to us.

Breakfast was great, with a huge selection of food and drink available and excellent waiting staff. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day. The hotel staff were all very courteous and greeted us upon entry/exit of the hotel every time. Other than the 5th floor room, the rest of the hotel is very grand and in excellent condition.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, don't accept a room on the 5th floor (smoking floor). The rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tartan-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    183
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
150
453
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What can you not like about this Grand Dame
a new pool since i was last here superb service from not only the front desk but right through this Hotel
some staff have been here for 40 years but still love and cherish this great institution
Breakfast is amazing and so is the Banyan tree spa but a little pricey
the only downside is going back to normal when travelling home

Room Tip: Poolside Duplex studio suite are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel providing friendly, courteous service in grand surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff - we were acknowledged & greeted with a smile by every member of staff we encountered. The hotel was very clean & the lounges/dining room impressively grand yet very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for a few days in May in this wonderfull place. Very tourist oriented, close to a very famous casino and with sea view, 30 minutes away from Lisbon and in a quiet area, you cannot make a mistake with this hotel. The rooms are clean, the bathroom spacious. The breakfast buffet is solid, you can also order an omelette, espresso and the staff is very kind.
The concierge can get you anything. But! You should be aware. When asking for a taxi to Lisbon, demand a public taxi because he'll call you a guy who will charge you double. Something like a hotel tour guide. The car doesn't have a taxi tag. You will get a drive that looks like a tour but without stops. The gentleman explains everything in excellent english and is very nice, but I think it's a rip-off, because they need to tell you that in advance. We also payed double for the airport drive, just because they gave us a hotel cab.
But the hotel stay itself was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MalaSirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel's motto says it all! This is a really welcoming hotel with superbly professional and attentive staff in a grand setting. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by Mr. Afonso on the front door (who has been working for the hotel for 51 years!) you know that this is a place that you will want to return to. the history of the hotel comes at you from all sides (fascinating stories of it being a base for allied spies, including Graham Green and ian Fleming in WW2). The hotel is immaculate, the service second to none, the gin and tonics in the Spy Bar second only to the Randolph in Oxford. Lovely huge pool at the back and, although we were here slightly off season in June, joy of joys - no shortage of sun beds!!! Easy to get to - 30 minutes taxi ride from Lisbon Airport and also a great location for walking along the seafront to Cascais. Above all,it's always a pleasure to come to a hotel where the staff have clearly been working here for many years, taking a clear pride in what they do.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room. Looks across the pool to the Casino Eatoril and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is undoubtedly a superb hotel, harmonious, with lovely nooks and affable. The rooms are very spacious, balanced with everything we need to feel good. The breakfast room is lovely, overlooking the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio54C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

There is a reason that this this hotel has 5 stars and that would be because they deserve them! A fabulous old place, this beauty is impeccably well maintained, every want and need has been thought of, service was promote and endless as well as friendly and helpful. Food and beverage all of superb quality! And a great jumping off place fro a variety of day trips! Yepper, back here in a red hot heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPC1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estoril
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Rua Particular, Estoril, Cascais 2769-504, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#2 Spa Hotel in Estoril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing