We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel in Fatima.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Simply the nicest n staff friendly hotel in Fatima. The breakfast is very nice. The restaurant offers a gourmet selection variety. The kids absolutely love the Spa Pool. The chimeney area is fantastic to relax.The hotel beats many in Lisboa with the same 4star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SicaH, Gerente de relações com clientes at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear customer, We greatly appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. The team feels very honored by your words that motivate them to continue to work to satisfy their customers. Always at your disposal. We are examining the possibility of extending the opening hours of the spa Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel seems out of place from its surroundings - a bit of an oasis in an sea of old hotels. Service and rooms were excellent. Only comments are in respect to the spa/gym. The gym equipment is quite limited. A bigger issue was when it was open - only spa hours (9am to 9pm, as I recall) - so I had to hit the gym in the evening before dinner, rather than in the morning before we headed out being tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SicaH, Gerente de relações com clientes at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear customer, We greatly appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. The team feels very honored by your words that motivate them to continue to work to satisfy their customers. Always at your disposal. We are examining the possibility of extending the opening hours of the spa Thank you. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here for one night during a Portugal trip. The hotel is located a bit outside but the main place and pilgrimage site of Fátima can be reached within walking distance (10 min). Several parking places are provided. The hotel itself is modern and well equipped with spacious rooms. Bathroom was also huge and quite clean. Breakfast with fresh fruits was served in the restaurant. Very nice: Free wifi was offered. Value for money is pretty fair!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knabberbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our introduction to Portugal, and we couldn't be more satisfied. When we arrived after our transAtlantic flight, our room wasn't ready yet, and since we were drooping with no sleep and didn't wish to go to the religious sites yet, the staff insisted we go to the lovely garden and have a beverage. When we did get into the room, we found it large and comfortable. The spa was opulent in the pool, hot-tub, sauna and steambath. The breakfast was quite good and the sites of Fatima are an easy and pleasant ten minute stroll away. The price, at 80 Euro per night is, we think, superb for what you are getting.

Room Tip: Go into the new section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Sir, We thank you for your comment. It is very important to keep the team looking forward to improve service. Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Dom Goncalo, the hotel and rooms were very tastefully decorated and very clean. Also one of the most spacious hotel rooms I've ever had in Europe, though I suppose that is more likely to happen in a small town!
I thought the hotel was really great value, it was a pity I did not have the time to try out the spa, but we did have breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and thought both were good.
Service was also good, all the staff were courteous.
It was however probably one of the hotels furthest away from the Sanctuary, but Fatima is such a small town, it is a short walk anywhere!
One disappointment was that I was not able to get wireless in the room, which is quite unacceptable for a 4* hotel in this age!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashBeestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Sir, We thank you for your comment. It is of most importance to us to keep us on improving standards. As so, we would like to inform that although we already have free wireless web access in the lobby, meeting rooms and classic rooms, we are now upgrading the web access in the design rooms from cable to wireless. Soon all hotel will offer free wireless web access to the clients. Next time you visit us we hope you find the time to profit also our offer of a daily two hours free pass to the Spa with indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, turkish bath and jacuzzi. Thanks again. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've always noticed this hotel but opted never to stay there. This year i made reservation there to try it. Honestly i was expecting more. The room is large, ok that's true. The breakfast is also proper. But i was expecting more from the space and service. I do not have any reason to complain but i will prefer to stay at previous hotel. They are chepear better located.

Room Tip: located not to hotel front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkthotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Sir,

We thank you a lot for your assessment. Are comments like yours that make us continue to strive to improve service and get the maximum satisfaction of our customers. We do not know if you had the opportunity to experience the Spa. The Dom Gonçalo Hotel & Spa is the only Hotel in Fatima offering such facility. All guests may enjoy a two hour daily free pass to this space that has a heated pool, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, Scottish shower, sauna and fitness room. Our restaurant is also one of the most recognized in the area of Fatima, because of the excellence of making authentic Portuguese cuisine based on local ingredients. Moreover the hotel also offers free internet access, free parking and garage, free internet point, bicycle rental and a large landscaped garden. Hopefully in the next opportunity we can exceed your expectations and can lead you to conclude that the hotel can offer you good value for money. Again, many thanks for your assessment. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

we spent 3 days here on a trip to fatima, on arrival we were greeted by the most friendly smiling receptionist, first impressions are important and this was perfect, the room was very modern and clean,bathroom spotless, i had a couple of swims in the spa all very clean and relaxing,breakfast was plentiful and catered for all, including the traditional English.car park was very big,free wired internet in the room where the receptionist gave me a cable to use and free wifi in reception area.We cannot find any faults with the hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaddersbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

We thank you for your review. It is very rewarding for the team to know that the gusests enjoyed their saty at Dom Gonçalo Hotel & Spa.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.9 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 41 in Fatima
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.7 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#11 of 41 in Fatima
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Jacinta Marto 100, Fatima 2495-450, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fatima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
Price Range: £46 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Portugal, close to three World Heritage Monuments and 10 min walk from the Sanctuary of Fatima, you'll find this boutique hotel the perfect stay for relaxation, great food or a romantic or family escape. Excellent accessibility: 2 minutes from the main highway Lisbon-Porto. Personal touch in every detail: freshly cut flowers, beautiful gardens, extensive buffet breakfast and room service, cosy fireplace corner, library, Wellness Spa with inviting facilities including heated pool and fitness room free for guests. There is also a wide range of health and beauty treatments by appointment. Beautiful rooms with free wi-fi access, pillows menu, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The hotel is children's friendly offering kids menu, kids room, playground area in the garden, free cribs and free extra beds for children up to 11 years old. Free Wireless Internet in all public areas and in rooms, free internet point, top reviewed restaurant and bicycles service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Goncalo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing