We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Hotel Fatima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fatima
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Went on guided, pilgrimage tour to Fatima and wound up at Hotel de Fatima for a couple of days with our group. Quiet, clean hotel and directly across from the Sanctuary. Decor is dated but was pleased that the guest room doors use electronic key cards. The bed in my room on 2nd floor needed new mattress; pillows too soft, fortunately, there were spare ones in closet. Curtains needed vacuuming or laundering (but nearly all of the hotels we stayed in seemed to have dusty draperies; maid's carts do not have vacuum cleaners). No in-room safe. Bathroom was very clean. Food was plain; lots of restaurants/cafes around area but no one opens before 9 or 10 am so, you're stuck with the dull coffee at hotel breakfast buffet until that time. Staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank titabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

At 160 euros a night in Portugal this hotel should deliver much better accommodations. Having said that it's clean, well maintained, excellent (but expensive for the region) restaurant. Friendly staff, nice lobby, etc. it's just that they really take advantage of their premium location and charge very well for that! Fatima is a small city and this hotel should not cost that much but it capitalizes on its proximity to the Fatima shrine. Just know you will pay for that!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT_FATIMA, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Mr. Flavio, We appreciate your review however please note that the rate paid was 150,00 Eur (not 160) and refers to a junior suite with 4 beds for 4 persons, and not a standard room for 2 persons. Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here with family for a week on a bed and breakfast basis. Couldn't fault it. Rooms are average but very clean. Breakfast is very good. One morning we were leaving on an excursion very early and the breakfast room was opened for us. Reception staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Location is excellent so close to the sanctuary square. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Fatima.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Isabell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

You can't get any closer to the shrine and churches in Fatima. The service and food were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAJONES2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Literally a few steps away from the Sanctuary. They have newly renovated rooms and those are spacious enough but the old rooms (which does not look old or smell old at all) could be a bit smaller for 3 people.

Inquire because they have the best rooms if it's available. They tend to be fully booked most of the time.

Breakfast is so-so, could be better but lunch and dinner are superb!

Room Tip: Book early and request for a larger room and the newly renovated ones. If it's peak season, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are improving our breakfast everyday tahnks to our clients help. We hope to have you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed there in September as part of a Trafalgar Tour. it's the closest hotel to the shrine - just across the road in fact. The rooms are adequate and the meals are passable. All in all it doesn't make the four star rating. It's purpose is to accommodate those wishing to visit the shrine which seems to be the onluy 'attraction in town. A bit like Lourdes but I should add this hotel is way above the vast majority of hotels found there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Located in the best place in fatima. Just a few steps from the shride. Large lobby small rooms. Average breakfast. Excelent hospitality of the staff.
If you are not christian, you must take in concideration that above your head in bed , there is a big cruz with the statue of jesus. i believe for cristians that's a devine feeling. For jews and muslims, less...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 41 in Fatima
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.7 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fatima

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II 241 | Cova da Iria, Fatima 2495-451, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fátima, is directly accross from the Sanctuary of Fátima. The hotel has all the standard amenities of a four-star hotel, including a free Wi-Fi internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Fatima Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing