We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but have no desire to return to Fatima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but have no desire to return to Fatima”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Rode here from Spain over the course of 2 days. Straightforward to find the hotel once we were in Fatima, the destination of the Euro Vespa Scooter Rally 2010. The receptionist suggested that we may like to park our scooter in their underground car-park, which involved a very steep incline over a rough chalky unmade driveway (not the easiest of things to ride on two small wheels). Strangely enough, every other hotel car-park down our street seemed to have proper concrete driveways and much less of an incline.

Hotel very clean but, with it being a religious shrine town, I would really not have expected anything else.

Our room was small although it suited our purposes as simply somewhere to crash for the night, and one of the doors on the wardrobe got stuck but it was still accessible so no harm done.

Breakfast was the usual continental style, which was sufficient, and the restaurant served three choices of evening meal although we did not sample it, having found an excellent kebab restaurant a short walk away.

There was an outdoor bar area, unfortunately next to the children's play area although, to be fair, there were not many children staying there. The barmen were friendly and soon memorised our order, so started preparing our drinks the moment we walked through the door. It was very peaceful at night, sitting under the stars listening to the Mass which could be heard from across the Shrine Square (quite bizarre really).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    105
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
121
55
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The hotel is new, very well located for those who want to go to pray and visit the sanctuary.
The rooms are new, clean with large bathrooms.
It is possible to park the car on the street on the side of the hotel and it seems to be OK.
I dont know if this would be possible when it is time of peregrination to the sanctuary.
The breakfast and dinner could be better. They could offer more options in the breakfast and we didnt like the dinner. They arent in the same level of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I wrote a review last year praising this hotel. This year they have betterred themselves even more. There have been a few subtle changes in the decor and ambience. The restaurant offers a splendid dining experience as well as a comprehensive menu to suit all tastes. The location can't be beaten. Most visitors to Fatima come as pilgrims to the shrine, this hotel is literally metres away from the Shrine and Basillica.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirie, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

The Estrela de Fatima Hotel is a very good hotel, placed at the very centre of the town. It is very confortable and the people are very nice. At night there's the possibility of taking some very good wines in the hotel: I suggest you the White Porto!

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
Thank FabChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Very nice, clean and quiet hotel. Employees very kind, I liked to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I love this hotel. It has it all courteous staff, excellent location and great food (as far as Portuguese food goes).

The hotel is located opposite the main square and it is a 2min to the basilica. The hotel offers free car parking, due to limited places it is best to call ahead to book.

They offer a set menu for lunch and dinner. It is worth taking up rather than beating the streets of Fatima looking for a place to eat.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaurav_malik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almada - Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Great location, best relation price/quality. Very clean and highly recomendable. Poor social spaces.

Helpful?
Thank FSaragoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.0 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.6 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#10 of 39 in Fatima
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrela de Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrela de Fatima

Property: Hotel Estrela de Fatima
Address: Rua Conego Manuel Nunes Formigao 40 | Apartado 260, Fatima 2495-999, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
#6 Family Hotel in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estrela de Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a long tradition in Fatima, as it was first built during the 50’s just a step from the Sanctuary doors. In 2008 it was completely rebuilt and refurbished. The new design of the public areas, inspired by the region of Fatima, allows the guests to feel a new kind of tranquility. It’s the nearest hotel to the Sanctuary of Fátima - you just have to cross the street and you will be inside the Sanctuary area. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV (Satellite), mini-bar, safe deposit box, direct phone and wifi internet. Bathrooms are equipped with background music, hair dryer, balance, bathrobes. You will also find one bar, and one beautiful terrace where most guests enjoy the evening after a day discovering the region. The restaurant offers Portuguese cuisine. Guests may access internet at the Business Corner, and are kindly invited to use the hotel’s library. Guests may park the cars in hotel’s garage, as they should walk to the sanctuary. Hotel Estrela de Fátima is part of FATIMA HOTELS, a chain of independent hotels that represent the biggest hotel offer in Fatima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estrela de Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela De Fatima Hotel
Estrela De Fatima fátima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing