We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location to the Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A walking distance to the Fatima Sanctuary. Excellent location. A modern and relatively new hotel. Room and bathroom are spacious and very clean. Air Conditioning in the room as well as free WIFI. Large dinning room, in my case meals were included. Breakfast buffet style, but it was so busy that food goes fast and I had to wait for replenishment. The waiters were ok, not really friendly, in the rude side.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FancyNancy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos o seu gentil comentário.
Melhores cumprimentos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Only good things, location and the room was clean, other than that, not much.....

Limited selection at dinner, waiters were not the most friendly type, maybe culture has something to do with it, hard to understand them at times, the dining area however has a very cheerfull ambiance. Breakfeast was not too bad here, you'll not go away hungry here.

Front desk staff, one young staff member was very helpfull and really tried hard to please us, while the older staff member...well...let's just say maybe he needs some senseativity training in customer relations.....

However, what really pissed me off royally, was when we were tring to check out of the hotel at 6:00am. "NO ONE WAS AT THE FRONT DESK" !!!!!!!!!! It took our transfer driver 10min. to finally locate the front desk clerk, "WHO WAS SLEEPING IN THE BAR AREA"!!!! We tried to call the front desk thinking the call would be forwarded, but to no avail. First time in my 40years traveling did i experience this.....and this at a 4-star hotel??? TRY 2 STAR, AT BEST...

It's too bad, because i think this hotel has some great potentials with the proper staff, it's a stones throw from the Sanctuary.......

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve-DogerBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We regret that your stay at the hotel santa maria has not gone well. We hope to have another opportunity to show our good service. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from a trip to Portugal three days ago. Among our experiences during our travel we had the misfortune of staying at this "4" star Fatima Hotel. Let me begin first by saying the two really good things about the Hotel Santa Maria was the location and it was clean. Other then that it was a bad dream.

The manager at the front desk was a sour, rude man who should not be working with the public! The easiest of questions (may we have tissues in our room)? , caused him to answer with a dismissive snort. He was inapproachable and not at all accomadating. Breakfast at this hotel was ok, but the help was slip shod helping anyone with clean cups, hot water, replenshing the food containers and overall they were not available. Dinner was a joke. Three times during one meal, with my fork in mid-air, my plate was removed. The food itself was not prepared correctly and was smothered in some kind of pasty sauce. Not once did we have fish in Portugal!

I would take the extra walk to the shrine and stay somewhere where they appreciate your business. This hotel clearly did not care!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeR0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We regret that your stay at the hotel santa maria has not gone well. We hope to have another opportunity to show our good service. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is a budget hotel which offers a great deal--nice rooms, comfortable beds, big bathroom, friendly service, adequate breakfast included, free wifi, free underground parking and only 2 minutes from the Sanctuary. For the money we paid, this hotel is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and kind words.
Waiting for your next visit!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We are used to go to this hotel and at this time, we stayed in a wonderful suite ( suite 345 )
The service in this hotel is something extraordinary.
Let us tell you: I am working all the time and I need a good wi-fi connection. But, in my suite it was not so good !
What they did ? Borrowed me an other router to put in my room ! It is wonderful ! I have never seen something like this before ! My notebook almost flied through the windows !
The frontdesk team is very good ! In the restaurant is Patricia, that is also wonderful ! Thanks, Santa Maria !
Besides, Fatima is a fantastic place ! You, my catholic friend, need to go there !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cierco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

The staff at Hotel Santa Maria appreciate your review.
We wait for your next visit!
Best regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our first time to this hotel inspite of visiting Fatima every year.Good hotel and its on a quieter side of the Basilica.The rooms were very spacious ,clean and comfortable for a pilgrimage.B'fast was ok but nothing to rave about.The dinner at the hotel which was not included in our price was dissappointing.But overall it was good value for money.will stay there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakumanuelpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

The staff at Hotel Santa Maria appreciate your review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great hotel next to the Basilica. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. The rooms were clean, modern and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

The staff at Hotel Santa Maria appreciate your review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.6 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 41 in Fatima
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#11 of 41 in Fatima
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Address: Rua de Santo Antonio, Fatima 2495-430, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is located in the heart of Fátima, close to the Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Fatima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing