We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was very close to the sanctuary so it was convenient when walking back from late night processions. Breakfast was included and it was good. Free wifi and air conditioning. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agatha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
Hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travelled on the bus from Lisbon to Fatima. Although the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the bus terminal, I found it a bit tricky finding my way to the hotel having looked unsuccessfully online for a local map showing both the hotel address and the bus station. However I asked a shopkeeper for directions and she was most obliging. After finding the hotel it was a pleasure from there on. The lady at front desk gave me a different room so I could check in early. The hotel room was quiet and spacious with a large bathroom - all newly fitted out to good specifications. Other reviews I read described the hotel as sterile but I disagree, the room was uncluttered, calm and understated but this did not mean it was lacking at all with the requirements of a 4 star hotel, plus beautiful meaningful artwork and a simple bedside book giving details of the apparitions. The hotel itself is cleverly designed to make maximum use of natual light from above which made the interior feel open and serene. The Basilica is very close - only a few minutes walk away. The hotel dinning room was large and I compliment the way they place the tour groups together in a lower section. I travelled solo and in the past in hotels in places like Lourdes it can be overwhelming dining in a noisy dining room next to tour groups. The food was adequate and very reasonably priced (eg: 2 euro for a bowl of soup) although I only ate soup for dinner and the set breakfast so cannot comment on the rest of the menu. Overall I found the hotel calm and serene while still provinding all the comfort of a 4 star hotel. A special mention and thanks to the kind barman America Graca who made great hot chocolate after a cold evening candlelight procession.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1234567890zyxwvutsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is very close to the Sanctuary. I made an error with my booking and came a day late but staff at reception very helpful. Room and bathroom spacious very clean. I asked for a quiet room and away from lifts and this was honoured. Would recommend this hotel very highly and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your review.
Hope to see you soon!
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is operated by the Marto family members. It has been rehab'd and is very comfortable. It is very close to the Sanctuary and offers indoor parking.
The restaurant was excellent- usually we try eating out, but the availability of a good restaurant leaves something to be desired; so- we decided to eat in. A great choice !
Good rates, good rooms, good location and good food. That is a great starting point and what more can I say ?

Room Tip: We had no problem. Our room was in front, over entry. Would take the same again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

We apprecite your review!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I chose Santa Maria because of location. Having been there 20 years ago, I knew it was within walking distance to the Basilica & Chapel. The renovations make this hotel a 4-star experience. The staff was very friendly & pleasant, the rooms were clean & well done, and the lobby was handsome. The hotel breakfast buffet included freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, and plenty of choices inclg scrambled eggs, croissants, and cakes. I remembered the hotel restaurant as being extremely good at dinner also so we visited this time and found it to be the same: two cloth table coverings at each table, good dishes and silverware; attentive waiters; an elegant dining experience. Directly across the street from the hotel is a small place where you can have a pastry or sandwich inexpensively for lunch. I recommend Santa Maria Hotel for its friendly attendants, good rooms, location,and restaurant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for choosing Santa Maria Hotel when you visit Fátima.
We hope to be able to serve you always with our highest standards.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were so impressed by the excellent 5-star customer service given to us by the restaurant staff, the front desk guy, lobby attendant, and the hotel manager of Hotel Santa Maria. In this sleepy and holy town of Fatima, we were treated so well, we thought we were billeted in a 5-star resort.
Aside from the 5-star customer service , the facilities of this hotel is simply great. Clean rooms with modern furnishings, wide spacious lobby, and large dining area that serves daily delicious continental breakfast. You can also order ala carte lunch or dinner from the same restaurant/bar.
We had a concern with regard to our room, and the hotel manager immediately solved the problem. We had questions about how to go about visiting key tourist spots within Fatima, and the front desk guy immediately helped us by giving us tips on where to go. Thank you to the friendly and sincere accommodation given to us by the hotel staff.
We would highly recommend Hotel Santa Maria for their excellent customer service and clean modern facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review.
Hope to see soon again!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The location was only a short walk from the sanctuary so the location was excellent. The common areas including the bar were large and inviting. The weather was cool and rainy so the wood burning fire place added an inviting cozy smell there. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was fairly standard. The place was fresh, new and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for the review.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.6 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 41 in Fatima
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#11 of 41 in Fatima
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Address: Rua de Santo Antonio, Fatima 2495-430, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is located in the heart of Fátima, close to the Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Fatima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing