We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again,same great rating !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Again,same great rating !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Reservation by phone was a snap. On arrival my GPS did not know that the traffic flow had been changed from prior visit; however, Fatima is not a huge city and we easily rerouted. Into nderground parking next to elevator and a rapid checkin.
As before, rooms were spotless; room staff pleasant and helpful; dining room staff attentive in spite of several tour bus loads there and the food was very pleasing. We took our breakfast and dinner at the hotel and were pleased with our decision; there are some good local restaurants now but eating at the hotel is still a good choice for us.
As others have noted, the Sanctuary is very close. By wheelchair to the Sanctuary might be a bit difficult since the Hotel is below the street level but we did see others getting up OK. Once up, the rest is OK.
We have stayed here several times now and have been very pleased with excellent value.

Room Tip: Front rooms have been good and rooms to left as you face hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you again for your kind review!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    158
    35
    9
    1
See reviews for
157
112
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is very close to the Fatima Sanctuary. It is very new and well run. The breakfast was also good. Actually the bathroom was one of the best during our trip in Portugal (I did not flood the bathroom during my shower) :-))!!

Room Tip: It is about 12 minute walk (I timed it with luggage) from the bus station and not hilly. Take a righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bb-starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We thank you for your review.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was very close to the sanctuary so it was convenient when walking back from late night processions. Breakfast was included and it was good. Free wifi and air conditioning. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agatha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Hope to see you soon!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travelled on the bus from Lisbon to Fatima. Although the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the bus terminal, I found it a bit tricky finding my way to the hotel having looked unsuccessfully online for a local map showing both the hotel address and the bus station. However I asked a shopkeeper for directions and she was most obliging. After finding the hotel it was a pleasure from there on. The lady at front desk gave me a different room so I could check in early. The hotel room was quiet and spacious with a large bathroom - all newly fitted out to good specifications. Other reviews I read described the hotel as sterile but I disagree, the room was uncluttered, calm and understated but this did not mean it was lacking at all with the requirements of a 4 star hotel, plus beautiful meaningful artwork and a simple bedside book giving details of the apparitions. The hotel itself is cleverly designed to make maximum use of natual light from above which made the interior feel open and serene. The Basilica is very close - only a few minutes walk away. The hotel dinning room was large and I compliment the way they place the tour groups together in a lower section. I travelled solo and in the past in hotels in places like Lourdes it can be overwhelming dining in a noisy dining room next to tour groups. The food was adequate and very reasonably priced (eg: 2 euro for a bowl of soup) although I only ate soup for dinner and the set breakfast so cannot comment on the rest of the menu. Overall I found the hotel calm and serene while still provinding all the comfort of a 4 star hotel. A special mention and thanks to the kind barman America Graca who made great hot chocolate after a cold evening candlelight procession.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1234567890zyxwvutsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is very close to the Sanctuary. I made an error with my booking and came a day late but staff at reception very helpful. Room and bathroom spacious very clean. I asked for a quiet room and away from lifts and this was honoured. Would recommend this hotel very highly and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
Hope to see you soon!
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is operated by the Marto family members. It has been rehab'd and is very comfortable. It is very close to the Sanctuary and offers indoor parking.
The restaurant was excellent- usually we try eating out, but the availability of a good restaurant leaves something to be desired; so- we decided to eat in. A great choice !
Good rates, good rooms, good location and good food. That is a great starting point and what more can I say ?

Room Tip: We had no problem. Our room was in front, over entry. Would take the same again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We apprecite your review!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I chose Santa Maria because of location. Having been there 20 years ago, I knew it was within walking distance to the Basilica & Chapel. The renovations make this hotel a 4-star experience. The staff was very friendly & pleasant, the rooms were clean & well done, and the lobby was handsome. The hotel breakfast buffet included freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, and plenty of choices inclg scrambled eggs, croissants, and cakes. I remembered the hotel restaurant as being extremely good at dinner also so we visited this time and found it to be the same: two cloth table coverings at each table, good dishes and silverware; attentive waiters; an elegant dining experience. Directly across the street from the hotel is a small place where you can have a pastry or sandwich inexpensively for lunch. I recommend Santa Maria Hotel for its friendly attendants, good rooms, location,and restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Santa Maria Hotel when you visit Fátima.
We hope to be able to serve you always with our highest standards.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.6 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.6 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aleluia
Hotel Aleluia
#8 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Property: Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
Address: Rua de Santo Antonio, Fatima 2495-430, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fatima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is located in the heart of Fátima, close to the Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Fatima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing