We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Sao Jose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sao Jose Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel has many good features. Close to the shrine and the bus terminal. Very pleasant staff, always willing to help, nice big room and bathroom.
The food was not up to much, though. Breakfast was plain and boring, same every day and repetitive music playing.
The whole area outside is undergoing extensive building works, so it is very dusty and noisy.
However, good value for money.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
Finally the works on the street have finished!
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is very close to the sanctuary and easy to reach.

The rooms are a bit "oldish", but fully acceptable and confortable. The bathroom is really spacious.

The restaurant is good.

I think this accommodation offers a really good quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We appreciate your review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Within 5 minutes you'll be standing in front of the Sanctuary. The city of Fatima is queit when you're not visiting on the "holy" dates (12-13 of the months may untill october). Therefore there are not many restaurants open and you'll have to eat in the hotel. In case of Sao Jose it was not a problem, because it was good. Breakfast was not good,because there was limited choice. The room was very large with a nice bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for your review.
We hope to serve you a better breakfast on your next visit!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

not so big hotel but can accommodate all passenger of a big bus. The service is excellent that you are not afraid that your luggage will not be lost from the bus to your room.
The food is nice and clean and they keep on serving you on your table despite it is buffet.
People are very good.
Place is very safe.
It is just very near the church/compound

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your review.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Hotel Sao Jose has a very convenient location being situated at one of the main avenues in Fatima. It is just walking distance from the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Fatima. The Hotel has a peaceful ambiance very conducive for visiting pilgrims on their way to spiritual journey. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I'm highly recommending this hotel for pilgrim travelers intending to visit Portugal.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Hotel gift shop. They have wide array of religious and traditional souvenir item...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaMarieAzarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for your review.
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel is just steps away from the basillica. It is very clean,quiet,and the restaurant food was
good and reasonable. We also had no problem with parking. The staff was accommodating.We
thought the room more then ample size for 3 ladies,as well as the bath.
The only downfall was the lack of being able to get a drink in the evening and the lack of plugs
in the room. Had to plug computer and phones in the barthroom outlets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skygoddessFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your review.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 days on a pilgrimage to Fatima. The staff is nice, the food is good. Some members of our group in the adjacent room were a bit rowdy that night and we could hear their jubilation...not a party pooper but I had jet lag that time...it seems there's not much insulation between rooms...for a 3 star hotel, I would stay here again because the hotel staff are nice...besides, it takes less than 5 minute walk to the Basilica.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chubanopolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your review.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 41 in Fatima
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aleluia
Hotel Aleluia
#8 of 41 in Fatima
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Jose Hotel

Address: Avenida Dom Jose Alves Correia da Silva, Fatima 2495-402, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Fatima
Price Range: £36 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sao Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with balconies is situated within walking distance to the Shrine of Our Lady of Fatima; hotel staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sao Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing