We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Ranked #3 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Realy nice place in the hearth of night life in Lisboa :) perfect and helpful people in reception! Realy good price ! Colorfull rooms and big kitchens in every floor. I love that place I spend there 3 good nights and I know that I will come back there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewelina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    45
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
20
169
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my first ever experience in a hostel, and one that is yet to be beaten. Super nice staff, great facilities, awesome location. The value for money was fantastic as well - Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed in the Old Town Hostel for a couple of days during the week in January. Even though I arrived at 8 am to drop of my bag the receptionist (nice girl - sorry forgot the name) checked me in, stored my bag and offered me breakfast. I also got an upgrade from a 10 to an 8 bed dorm - pretty cool.
The location is close to two metro stops but from one you have to walk up 2 steep hills. If you like the nightlife you're at the right place. Only 5 mins walking to all the bars and clubs.
The rooms are huge (other hostels would have fit in 12-14 beds and not just 8) and very clean.
The breakfast is a feast - remember you're staying in a hostel. Good bread rolls, yam, cereal. It sounds basic but it tast delicious and is available til way after noon.

The only thing I didn't like so much was when I asked if I could change the bed in order not to sleep next to the door the receptionist told me nope because it was booked. In 2 out of the 3 nights no one slept in there. Shouldn't have been such a big deal.
Also there is no lock on the toilet and the shower curtains could be a bit bigger. If someone leaves the door open everyone on the groundfloor can see you butt naked.

Overall, next time I'm in Lisbon again, I gonna definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b20_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice accommodation and excellent service.

Lisbon Old Town Hostel is the best choice for who are looking for a cozy, typical, friendly, quiet and cheap accommodation in Lisbon. And João and his father, José, are very nice and friendly guys.

Is located right in the center, next Bairro Alto and all the Lisbon nigth life and restaurants.

Recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAEdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed during a dance festival in December 2013. The hostel is in great location, it has a very friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. And it's clean and tidy. I highly recommend. Don't hesitate, get booking!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JCMaloneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great hostel! I travelled alone and I have never felt it. The hostel staff was so warm and nice, always helping you. Besides, they organize some activities so that you can hang out with people and make new friends.

Quite centric location. Everything is maintained clean and pleasant. Good correlation between quality and price.

Highly recommended! I felt at home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariyana_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

me and my friends stayed there, super cheap and the best location! great staff! i recommend this place! the best thing....you dont have to pay the total when you do the reservation via internet. just pay for one and there your friends pay the rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyJailene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 446 in Lisbon
352 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 446 in Lisbon
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 446 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 446 in Lisbon
558 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 240 in Lisbon
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Property: Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Address: Rua do Ataide 26A, Lisbon 1200-035, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lisbon Old Town Hostel is a dream come true accommodation for the enthusiastic & experienced travellers, offering the best accommodation with a great location at a very affordable rate. The Hostel is nearby to all the conveniences, shops, restaurants, bars, tourist destinations & many more! Come and live a Lisbon story with us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lisbon Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Old Town Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing