We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensao Estacao Central
Ranked #191 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
“Very good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I agree with other reviews. Very neat, tiny rooms, comfortable and hugde beds, clean bath. Very helpful and nice staff. When i asked, they took my baby food into the frigde. For 50euro it was perfect for us. Fantastic location. There were only three weak points:
- noise from the street
- no air condition
- no elevator

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    90
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
67
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

As seen and disapointed by other reviews, it is true that you have to hold the shower head with your hand that there is no lift or parking and that the decoration has not been designed by norman foster, however i do think that we have to stop being greedy and want to get luxury for peanuts! The hotel is a very good value for price and location.

We took a three bedroom + 1 additional bed which is enough if you don't plan to stay too much at the hotel. We did not get any drug offered in front of the hotel.

The staff were very nice and helpfull with requests notvrelated to the accomodation ( advices, locations).

So if you plan to have waterjets and nespresso machines pull more money from your pocket or accept that you will have what you paid for!

I sleep in all kind of hotels and even though i spend nights in famous hotel rooms/suites it was great to have such a hotel while sharing a trip with old friends.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sifounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

For 50 euro a night, this place was perfect for us. Jump off the ultra cheap airport bus at Rossi, walk 5 metres, turn to your right and walk 10m and there you go. Or if you come back from Sintra on the train, Rossi station is only across the road.

Spoke with about 4 different staff members and they were great, lovely & friendly (and most of them spoke great English). The pensao is small & budget. Kind of like going to an old aunt/grandmothers place many years ago. It won't win any style awards but I'd have no qualms returning. Actually, I did return when I was departing from Lisbon a week later. Rooms were small, bed was comfortable, room was clean, tv worked, spare powerpoint to charge all our devices etc. There was decent sized wardrobe to hang clothes/stash bags etc. No remarkable views (neighbours courtyard was rather unexciting). Bathroom in one room was ultra small - I'm not large by any means, but sitting on the loo left little space between tub & wall. The other bathroom had just a bit more space. Yes, it is only a hand held shower.

This isn't the kind of hotel you take someone to for a romantic weekend. But if you like heading out for a few drinks, 5 minutes up the stairs & you've got loads of bars to choose from, was really busy on the Friday night we were there, loads of people drinking in the street and enjoying themselves. If you want to jump the tourist buses, they aren't too far away either. Yes, there are some slightly dubious characters that hang out nearby. But seriously, there isn't a railway station in the world that doesn't have shady characters trying to do deals. I may have only been on the streets of Lisboa for 5 minutes and had some one offer me hashish. But hey, that's Lisboa's reputation and the locals are sticking to it. I didn't feel threatened in this area of Lisboa - not at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We frequently stay at this pensao because of its central position. We have never found dirt in our room, and we have stayed in a number of different ones over the years. In fact, rooms are regularly cleaned and the staff are helpful. A number of improvements have been added over the years - the TVs, the fans and an additional security door on the upper floor. It is certainly true that if you get an inner-facing room you will see the washing hanging out and smell the cooking from the Celeiro nearby. It is equally true that if you get an outer-facing room, you may be woken by the sound of late-night revellers going home from the Bairro Alto, or the rubbish and water trucks at work in the small hours. The lounge near reception is certainly old-fashioned and stuffed with heavy, leather furniture of a kind you rarely see in Portugal today. The stairs are certainly onerous! There is no lift. But heck! Look on the bright side! What are you doing watching TV in a room in Lisbon, anyway? All you need is a safe, secure place to park yourself to sleep. Most of the time you'll be out, anyway. It's cheap, as other reviewers have stated. I personally think it's secure, and yes, you will see some dodgy sights nearby, but this is THE centre of Lisbon, like Piccadilly Circus in London. Some rooms have got the original Pombaline tiles, and management will always try to accommodate any request. Over the road are the bars in the newly renovated Praca by the Rossio station, the famous Nicola and Suica cafes are a stroll away for breakfast, and you're just a moment away from the fine shops of the Chiado.
We've been going here as a family for over fifteen years now on our regular visits to Lisbon. As we become older and a bit more affluent, we sometimes say that maybe we should scale up a bit, but we always come back to value and feel it's not worth it.
Overall, my only grumble is twofold:
1. There are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms, although you might be able to get Reception to store valuables for you. If management read this, perhaps they should think about that for the next improvement!
2. In common with most budget places in Lisbon, it's not very accessible if you have a disability.
In all other respects, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

You can have a bed here in perhaps the best location in downtown Lisbon for €40 per night if you can overlook the following: a smell of urine and offer of hardcore drugs just outside the front door, no elevator, dark corridors, small room, bed and bathroom, you must hold the shower head, old furnishings, choose either to have the TV plugged in or the fan plugged in but not both at the same time (no AC), hotel staff may hang sheets and towels on a very squeeky clothes line right outside your window (a window that views a dirty lightwell and broken windows). On a positive note, Rudy at the front desk was young, kind and helpful. In 2 minutes I learned he's a Sagittarius, Loves LA and Milan and his mom is Brazilian and dad Italian. Oh well, we managed to enjoy our stay here nontheless.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjcbills3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#136 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#216 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Residencial O Paradouro
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#175 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Estacao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Estacao Central

Property: Pensao Estacao Central
Address: Calcada do Carmo, 17 - 2o, 3o, Lisbon 1200-093, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Estacao Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensao Estacao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Estacao Central Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing